Nathaniel Hawthorne (103 books)


icon Add a book


Most Popular

Publication Date











Nathaniel Hawthorne was born on July 4, 1804, in Salem, Massachusetts, where his birthplace is now a museum. William Hathorne, who emigrated from England in 1630, was the first of Hawthorne's ancestors to arrive in the colonies. After arriving, William persecuted Quakers. William's son John Hathorne was one of the judges who oversaw the Salem Witch Trials. (One theory is that having learned about… (more)


A Bell's Biography

A Book of Autographs

A Rill from the Town Pump

A Select Party

An Old Woman's Tale

Biographical Stories

Browne's Folly

Buds and Bird Voices

Chippings with a Chisel

Christmas Banquet

Circe's Palace


by Nathaniel Hawthorne

-El anciano campeón -El entierro de Róger Malvin -El experimento del doctor Héidegger -El joven Goodman Brown -El May-Pole de Merry Mount -Feathertop -Leyendas de la Casa Provincial I. La mascarada de Howe...

David Swan

Der scharlachrote Buchstabe

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

Die Handlung des Romans spielt in einer strenggläubigen Siedlung in Neuengland zu Zeiten des amerikanischen Puritanismus, also gegen Ende des 17. Jahrhunderts. Hawthorne erzählt die Geschichte der Ehebrecherin...

Dr Buillivant

Dr. Heidegger's Experiment

Drowne's Wooden Image

Earth's Holocaust

Edward Fane's Rosebud

Egotism; or, The Bosom Serpent

Endicott and the Red Cross

Ethan Brand

Fancy's Show-box


Feathertop: A Moralized Legend

Fire Worship

Footprints on the Seashore

Graves and Goblins

John Inglefield's Thanksgiving

La lettera scarlatta

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

"La lettera scarlatta", pubblicato nel 1850, è un classico della letteratura statunitense scritto da Nathaniel Hawthorne. Ambientato nel New England puritano nel XVII secolo, il romanzo racconta la storia di...

La Lettre écarlate

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

À Boston, dans la Nouvelle-Angleterre puritaine du XVIIe siècle, Hester Prynne, jeune épouse d'un vieux savant anglais dont on est maintenant sans nouvelles, a commis le péché d'adultère et refuse de révéler...

Legends of the Province House

Little Annie's Ramble

Little Daffydowndilly

Main Street

Monsieur du Miroir

Mr. Higginbotham's Catastrophe

Mrs. Bullfrog

My Kinsman, Major Molineux

My Visit To Niagara

Old News

Old Ticonderoga

P's Correspondence

Passages from a Relinquished Work

Peter Goldthwaite's Treasure

Rappaccini's Daughter

Roger Malvin's Burial

Septimius Felton

Sights from a Steeple

Sketches From Memory


Sunday at Home

Sylph Etherege

The Ambitious Guest

The Ancestral Footstep

The Antique Ring

The Artist of the Beautiful

The Birth-Mark

The Blithedale Romance

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

The principal setting is a communal farm called Blithedale (i.e., "Happy Valley"), a would-be modern Arcadia along the lines of the anti-capitalist ideals of Charles Fourier, yet is nonetheless destroyed by...

The Canterbury Pilgrims

The Celestial Railroad

The Devil in Manuscript

The Dragon's Teeth

The Gentle Boy

The Golden Fleece

The Gorgon's Head

The Gray Champion

The Great Carbuncle

The Great Stone Face

The Hall of Fantasy

The Haunted Mind

The Hollow of the Three Hills

The House of the Seven Gables

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

In a sleepy little New England village stands a dark, weather-beaten, many-gabled house. This brooding mansion is haunted by a centuries-old curse that casts the shadow of ancestral sin upon the last four members...

The Intelligence Office

The Journal of a Solitary Man

The Lily's Quest

The Man of Adamant

The Marble Faun

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

The Marble Faun is Hawthorne's most unusual romance, and possibly one of the strangest major works of American fiction. Writing on the eve of the American Civil War, Hawthorne set his story in a fantastical...

The May-Pole of Merry Mount

The Minister's Black Veil

The Minotaur

The Miraculous Pitcher

The New Adam and Eve

The Old Apple Dealer

The Old Manse

The Paradise for Children

The Pomegranate Seeds

The Procession of Life

The Prophetic Pictures

The Pygmies

The Scarlet Letter

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

The Scarlet Letter, published in 1850, is an American novel written by Nathaniel Hawthorne and is generally considered to be his magnum opus. Set in 17th-century Puritan Boston, it tells the story of Hester...

The Seven Vagabonds

The Shaker Bridal

The Sister-years

The Snow-Image

The Threefold Destiny

The Toll-gatherer's Day

The Village Uncle

The Vision of the Fountain

The Wedding Knell

The White Old Maid


Young Goodman Brown