David Herbert Lawrence (53 books)


icon Add a book


Most Popular

Publication Date











David Herbert Lawrence (11 September 1885 - 2 March 1930) was an important and controversial English writer of the 20th century, whose prolific and diverse output included novels, short stories, poems, plays, essays, travel books, paintings, translations, literary criticism and personal letters. His collected works represent an extended reflection upon the dehumanizing effects of modernity and… (more)


'Tickets, Please!'

A Fragment of Stained Glass

A Modern Lover

A Sick Collier

Aaron's Rod

Daughters of the Vicar

England, My England

Fanny And Annie

Fantasia of the Unconscious

by David Herbert Lawrence

I am not a proper archaeologist nor an anthropologist nor an ethnologist. I am no "scholar" of any sort. But I am very grateful to scholars for their sound work. I have found hints, suggestions for what I say...

Goose Fair

Her Turn


by David Herbert Lawrence

Kangaroo is an account of a visit to New South Wales by an English writer named Richard Lovat Somers, and his German wife Harriet, in the early 1920s. This appears to be semi-autobiographical, based on a three-month...

Lady Chatterley's Lover

by David Herbert Lawrence

Lady Chatterley's Lover is a novel by D. H. Lawrence written in 1928. Printed privately in Florence in 1928, it was not printed in the United Kingdom until 1960 (other than in an underground edition issued by...

Love Among the Haystacks

Monkey Nuts

Mother and Daughter

New Eve and Old Adam

Odour of Chrysanthemums

Rawdon's Roof

Samson and Delilah

Second Best

Sons and Lovers

by David Herbert Lawrence

The third published novel of D. H. Lawrence, taken by many to be his earliest masterpiece, tells the story of Paul Morel, a young man and budding artist. Richard Aldington explains the semi-autobiographical...

St Mawr


The Blind Man

The Blue Moccassins

The Captain's Doll

The Christening

The Fox

The Horse-Dealer's Daughter

The Ladybird

The Lost Girl

James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction 1920

by David Herbert Lawrence

Alvina Houghton, the daughter of a widowed Midlands draper, comes of age just as her father’s business is failing. In a desperate attempt to regain his fortune and secure his daughter’s proper upbringing,...

The Mortal Coil

The Old Adam

The Overtone

The Plumed Serpent

The Primrose Path

The Princess

The Prussian Officer

The Rainbow

by David Herbert Lawrence

The Rainbow is a 1915 novel by British author D. H. Lawrence. It follows three generations of the Brangwen family, particularly focusing on the sexual dynamics of, and relations between, the characters. Lawrence's...

The Shades of Spring

The Shadow in the Rose Garden

The Thorn in the Flesh

The Trespasser

The Virgin and the Gipsy

The White Stocking

The Wintry Peacock

The Witch A La Mode

The Woman Who Rode Away And Other Stories

by David Herbert Lawrence

This is the first volume of Lawrence's collected short stories. It contains thirteen tales set in both England and America, including "The Rocking-Horse Winner", Lawrence's most popular short story.


Twilight in Italy

Women in Love

by David Herbert Lawrence

Women in Love is a novel by British author D. H. Lawrence published in 1920. It is a sequel to his earlier novel The Rainbow (1915), and follows the continuing loves and lives of the Brangwen sisters, Gudrun...

You Touched Me