David Herbert Lawrence (53 books)


icon Add a book


Most Popular

Publication Date











David Herbert Lawrence (11 September 1885 - 2 March 1930) was an important and controversial English writer of the 20th century, whose prolific and diverse output included novels, short stories, poems, plays, essays, travel books, paintings, translations, literary criticism and personal letters. His collected works represent an extended reflection upon the dehumanizing effects of modernity and… (more)


The Trespasser

Sons and Lovers

by David Herbert Lawrence

The third published novel of D. H. Lawrence, taken by many to be his earliest masterpiece, tells the story of Paul Morel, a young man and budding artist. Richard Aldington explains the semi-autobiographical...

Her Turn


The Prussian Officer

The White Stocking

The Thorn in the Flesh

Daughters of the Vicar

A Fragment of Stained Glass

The Shades of Spring

Second Best

The Shadow in the Rose Garden

Goose Fair

A Sick Collier

The Christening

Odour of Chrysanthemums

The Rainbow

by David Herbert Lawrence

The Rainbow is a 1915 novel by British author D. H. Lawrence. It follows three generations of the Brangwen family, particularly focusing on the sexual dynamics of, and relations between, the characters. Lawrence's...

England, My England

Twilight in Italy

Samson and Delilah

The Mortal Coil

'Tickets, Please!'

Women in Love

by David Herbert Lawrence

Women in Love is a novel by British author D. H. Lawrence published in 1920. It is a sequel to his earlier novel The Rainbow (1915), and follows the continuing loves and lives of the Brangwen sisters, Gudrun...

The Blind Man

You Touched Me

The Lost Girl

James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction 1920

by David Herbert Lawrence

Alvina Houghton, the daughter of a widowed Midlands draper, comes of age just as her father’s business is failing. In a desperate attempt to regain his fortune and secure his daughter’s proper upbringing,...

The Wintry Peacock

Fanny And Annie

Aaron's Rod

Fantasia of the Unconscious

by David Herbert Lawrence

I am not a proper archaeologist nor an anthropologist nor an ethnologist. I am no "scholar" of any sort. But I am very grateful to scholars for their sound work. I have found hints, suggestions for what I say...

Monkey Nuts

The Primrose Path

The Horse-Dealer's Daughter

The Fox

The Ladybird

The Captain's Doll


by David Herbert Lawrence

Kangaroo is an account of a visit to New South Wales by an English writer named Richard Lovat Somers, and his German wife Harriet, in the early 1920s. This appears to be semi-autobiographical, based on a three-month...

St Mawr

The Princess

The Plumed Serpent

Lady Chatterley's Lover

by David Herbert Lawrence

Lady Chatterley's Lover is a novel by D. H. Lawrence written in 1928. Printed privately in Florence in 1928, it was not printed in the United Kingdom until 1960 (other than in an underground edition issued by...

Rawdon's Roof

The Blue Moccassins


The Woman Who Rode Away And Other Stories

by David Herbert Lawrence

This is the first volume of Lawrence's collected short stories. It contains thirteen tales set in both England and America, including "The Rocking-Horse Winner", Lawrence's most popular short story.

Mother and Daughter

The Virgin and the Gipsy

Love Among the Haystacks

A Modern Lover

The Overtone

New Eve and Old Adam

The Old Adam

The Witch A La Mode