Commonwealth Book Prize

Beginning in 2012 the award was renamed and restructured under the banner of Commonwealth Writers - a world of new fiction, composed of two prizes. The Commonwealth Book Prize is for the best first book, regional winners receive £2,500 and the overall winner receives £10,000


2013 selection

The Death of Bees

Commonwealth Book Prize 2013

by Lisa O'Donnell

Today is Christmas Eve.

Today is my birthday.

Today I am fifteen.

Today I buried my parents in the backyard.

Neither of them were beloved.

Marnie and her little sister, Nelly, are on their own now. Only they know...