Desmond Elliott Prize

The Desmond Elliott Prize is an annual award for the best debut novel written in English and published in the UK. The winning novel can be from any genre of fiction and must exhibit depth and breadth with a compelling narrative. The winner receives GB£10,000. The prize is named in honour of the "distinguished" late publisher and literary agent, Desmond Elliott.

 

2013 selection

The Marlowe Papers

Desmond Elliott Prize 2013

by Ros Barber

Winner of the 2013 Desmond Elliott Prize

Longlisted for the 2013 Women's Prize for Fiction

You’re the author of the greatest plays of all time.

But nobody knows.

And if it gets out, you’re dead. On May 30,...


2012 selection

The Land of Decoration

Desmond Elliott Prize 2012

by Grace McCleen

A mesmerizing debut about a young girl whose steadfast belief and imagination bring everything she once held dear into treacherous balanceIn Grace McCleen's harrowing, powerful debut, she introduces an unforgettable...


2010 selection

The Girl with Glass Feet

Desmond Elliott Prize 2010

by Ali Shaw

An inventive and richly visual novel about young lovers on a quest to find a cure for a magical ailment, perfect for readers of Alice Hoffman

Strange things are happening on the remote and snowbound archipelago...


2008 selection

Gifted: A Novel

Desmond Elliott Prize 2008

by Nikita Lalwani

Rumi Vasi is 10 years, 2 months, 13 days, 2 hours, 42 minutes, and 6 seconds old. She’s figured that the likelihood of her walking home from school with the boy she likes, John Kemble, is 0.2142, a probability...