Warwick Prize for Writing

The Warwick Prize for Writing is an international cross-disciplinary prize, worth £50,000, that is given biennially for an excellent and substantial piece of writing in the English language, in any genre or form, on a theme that changes with every award. It was launched and sponsored by the University of Warwick in July 2008. It is the only cross-disciplinary writing competition in existence,… (more)


2009 selection

The Shock Doctrine

Warwick Prize for Writing 2009

by Naomi Klein

The bestselling author of No Logo shows how the global "free market" has exploited crises and shock for three decades, from Chile to Iraq

In her groundbreaking reporting over the past few years, Naomi Klein introduced...