National Book Award for Young People's Literature

 

2018 selection

The Poet X

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2018

by Elizabeth Acevedo

National Book Award Winner!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina...


2017 selection

Far from the Tree

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2017

by Robin Benway

National Book Award Winner and New York Times Bestseller!

Perfect for fans of NBC's "This Is Us," Robin Benway’s beautiful interweaving story of three very different teenagers connected by blood explores the...


2015 selection

Challenger Deep

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2015

by Neal Shusterman & Brendan Shusterman

National Book Award and Golden Kite Award Winner

A captivating novel about mental illness that lingers long beyond the last page, Challenger Deep is a heartfelt tour de force by New York Times bestselling...


2013 selection

The Thing About Luck

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2013

by Cynthia Kadohata & Julia Kuo

There is bad luck, good luck, and making your own luck—which is exactly what Summer must do to save her family in this winner of the National Book Award by Newbery Medalist Cynthia Kadohata.

Summer knows that...


2012 selection

Goblin Secrets

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2012

by William Alexander

In the National Book Award–winning Goblin Secrets, a boy joins a theatrical troupe of goblins to find his missing brother.

In the town of Zombay, there is a witch named Graba who has clockwork chicken legs...


2011 selection

Inside Out and Back Again

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2011

by Thanhha Lai

Inside Out and Back Again is a #1 New York Times bestseller, a Newbery Honor Book, and a winner of the National Book Award!

Inspired by the author's childhood experience as a refugee—fleeing Vietnam after...


2009 selection

Claudette Colvin

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2009

by Phillip Hoose

"When it comes to justice, there is no easy way to get it. You can't sugarcoat it. You have to take a stand and say, ‘This is not right.'" – Claudette Colvin

On March 2, 1955, an impassioned teenager, fed...


2004 selection

Godless

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2004

by Pete Hautman

"Why mess around with Catholicism when you can have your own customized religion?"

Fed up with his parents' boring old religion, agnostic-going-on-atheist Jason Bock invents a new god -- the town's water tower....


2003 selection

The Canning Season

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2003

by Polly Horvath

Love under trying circumstances

One night out of the blue, Ratchet Clark's ill-natured mother tells her that Ratchet will be leaving their Pensacola apartment momentarily to take the train up north. There she...


2002 selection

The House of the Scorpion

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2002

by Nancy Farmer

MATTEO ALACRáN WAS NOT BORN; HE WAS HARVESTED.

His DNA came from El Patrón, lord of a country called Opium -- a strip of poppy fields lying between the United States and what was once called Mexico. Matt's...


2000 selection

Homeless Bird

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2000

by Gloria Whelan

The National Book Award-winning novel about one remarkable young woman who dares to defy fate, perfect for readers who enjoyed A Long Walk to Water by Linda Sue Park or Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai....


1999 selection

When Zachary Beaver Came to Town

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 1999

by Kimberly Willis Holt

National Book Award Winner

The red words painted on the trailer caused quite a buzz around town and before an hour was up, half of Antler was standing in line with two dollars clutched in hand to see the fattest...


1996 selection

Parrot in the Oven

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 1996

by Victor Martinez & Steve Scott

Perico, or parrot, was what Dad called me sometimes. It was from a Mexican saying about a parrot that complains how hot it is in the shade, while all along he's sitting inside an oven and doesn't know it.......