National Book Award for Young People's Literature

 

2018 selection

The Poet X

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2018, Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Young Adult Literature 2018

by Elizabeth Acevedo

National Book Award Winner!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina...


2017 selection

Far from the Tree

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2017

by Robin Benway

National Book Award Winner and New York Times Bestseller!

Perfect for fans of NBC's "This Is Us," Robin Benway’s beautiful interweaving story of three very different teenagers connected by blood explores the...


2015 selection

Challenger Deep

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2015

by Neal Shusterman & Brendan Shusterman

National Book Award and Golden Kite Award Winner

A captivating novel about mental illness that lingers long beyond the last page, Challenger Deep is a heartfelt tour de force by New York Times bestselling...


2011 selection

Inside Out and Back Again

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2011

by Thanhha Lai

Inside Out and Back Again is a #1 New York Times bestseller, a Newbery Honor Book, and a winner of the National Book Award!

Inspired by the author's childhood experience as a refugee—fleeing Vietnam after...


2000 selection

Homeless Bird

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2000

by Gloria Whelan

The National Book Award-winning novel about one remarkable young woman who dares to defy fate, perfect for readers who enjoyed A Long Walk to Water by Linda Sue Park or Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai....


1996 selection

Parrot in the Oven

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 1996

by Victor Martinez & Steve Scott

Perico, or parrot, was what Dad called me sometimes. It was from a Mexican saying about a parrot that complains how hot it is in the shade, while all along he's sitting inside an oven and doesn't know it.......