Miles Franklin Award

The Miles Franklin Literary Award is an annual literary prize awarded to "a novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases". The award was set up according to the will of Miles Franklin (1879–1954), who is best known for writing the Australian classic My Brilliant Career (published in 1901) and for bequeathing her estate to fund this award. As of 2013, the award is valued A$60,000.


2018 selection

The Life to Come

Miles Franklin Award 2018

by Michelle de Kretser

  • de Kretser is a master of immersive detail; she tells her story as much through a series of intimately recalled, gorgeously memorable images as she does her charming cast of characters
  • The Life to Come weaves...

  • 2012 selection

    All That I Am: A Novel

    Miles Franklin Award 2012

    by Anna Funder

    Award-winning author Anna Funder delivers an affecting and beautifully evocative debut novel about a group of young German exiles who risk their lives to awaken the world to the terrifying threat of Hitler and...

    2010 selection


    Broken Shore #2

    Miles Franklin Award 2010

    by Peter Temple

    Inspector Stephen Villani, head of homicide in Melbourne, Australia, has a full agenda: a murdered woman in a penthouse apartment, three men butchered in a sadistic rampage, a tattoofaced drug dealer corrupting...

    2009 selection


    Miles Franklin Award 2009

    by Tim Winton

    Now a Major Motion Picture, Starring Simon Baker, Elizabeth Debicki, and Richard Roxburgh

    Breath is a story of risk, of learning one's limits by challenging death. On the wild, lonely coast of Western Australia,...

    2004 selection

    The Great Fire

    Miles Franklin Award 2004, National Book Award for Fiction 2003

    by Shirley Hazzard

    A great writer's sweeping story of men and women struggling to reclaim their lives in the aftermath of world conflict

    The Great Fire is Shirley Hazzard's first novel since The Transit of Venus, which won the...

    1999 selection


    Commonwealth Best Book Prize 1999, Miles Franklin Award 1999

    by Murray Bail

    Winner of the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best Book

    A New York Times Book Review Notable Book of the Year

    On a property in New South Wales, a widower named Holland lives with his daughter, Ellen. Over the...

    1992 selection


    Miles Franklin Award 1992

    by Tim Winton

    From award-winning author Tim Winton comes an epic novel that regularly tops the list of best-loved novels in Australia.

    After two separate catastrophes, two very different families leave the country for the...