National Book Award

Established in 1950, the National Book Award is an American literary prize given to writers by writers and administered by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit organization.

 

for Fiction category winners

2012 selection

The Round House

National Book Award for Fiction 2012

by Louise Erdrich

The Round House won the National Book Award for fiction.

One of the most revered novelists of our time—a brilliant chronicler of Native-American life—Louise Erdrich returns to the territory of her bestselling,...


2004 selection

The News from Paraguay

National Book Award for Fiction 2004

by Lily Tuck

The year is l854. In Paris, Francisco Solano -- the future dictator of Paraguay -- begins his courtship of the young, beautiful Irish courtesan Ella Lynch with a poncho, a Paraguayan band, and ahorse named Mathilde....


1976 selection

J R

National Book Award for Fiction 1976

by William Gaddis & Rick Moody

A great masterpiece by William Gaddis, with a new introduction by Rick Moody.


1969 selection

Steps

National Book Award for Fiction 1969

by Jerzy Kosinski

Winner of the National Book Award for Fiction

From the esteemed author of the classics The Painted Bird and Being There comes this award-winning novel about one man's sexual and sensual experiences, the fabric...


1968 selection

The Eighth Day

National Book Award for Fiction 1968

by Thornton Wilder

Thornton Wilder’s renowned 1967 National Book Award–winning novel features a foreword by John Updike and an afterword by Tappan Wilder, who draws on such unique sources as Wilder’s unpublished letters,...


for Non-Fiction category winners

2019 selection

The Yellow House

National Book Award for Non-Fiction 2019

by Sarah M. Broom

In 1961, Sarah M. Broom’s mother Ivory Mae bought a shotgun house in the then-promising neighborhood of New Orleans East and built her world inside of it. It was the height of the Space Race and the neighborhood...


2018 selection

The New Negro

Pulitzer Prize for Biography or Autobiography 2019, National Book Award for Non-Fiction 2018

by Jeffrey C. Stewart

A tiny, fastidiously dressed man emerged from Black Philadelphia around the turn of the century to mentor a generation of young artists including Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, and Jacob Lawrence and call...


2010 selection

Just Kids

National Book Award for Non-Fiction 2010

by Patti Smith

WINNER OF THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD

It was the summer Coltrane died, the summer of love and riots, and the summer when a chance encounter in Brooklyn led two young people on a path of art, devotion, and initiation....


1984 selection

The Life of Andrew Jackson

National Book Award for Non-Fiction 1984

by Robert V. Remini

Robert V. Remini's prize-winning, three-volume biography Life of Andrew Jackson won the National Book Award on its completion in 1984 and is recognized as one of the greatest lives of a U.S. President. In this...


for Poetry category winners

2008 selection

Fire to Fire

National Book Award for Poetry 2008

by Mark Doty

Mark Doty's Fire to Fire collects the best of his seven books of poetry, along with a generous selection of new work. His signature style encompasses both the plainspoken and the artfully wrought, as one of...


2007 selection

Time and Materials

Pulitzer Prize for Poetry 2008, National Book Award for Poetry 2007

by Robert Hass

The poems in Robert Hass's new collection—his first to appear in a decade—are grounded in the beauty and energy of the physical world, and in the bafflement of the present moment in American culture. This...


for Young People's Literature category winners

2018 selection

The Poet X

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2018, Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Young Adult Literature 2018

by Elizabeth Acevedo

Winner of the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this...


2017 selection

Far from the Tree

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2017

by Robin Benway

National Book Award Winner, PEN America Award Winner, and New York Times Bestseller!

Perfect for fans of This Is Us, Robin Benway’s beautiful interweaving story of three very different teenagers connected by...


2015 selection

Challenger Deep

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2015

by Neal Shusterman & Brendan Shusterman

National Book Award and Golden Kite Award Winner

A captivating novel about mental illness that lingers long beyond the last page, Challenger Deep is a heartfelt tour de force by New York Times bestselling...


2011 selection

Inside Out and Back Again

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2011

by Thanhha Lai

Inside Out and Back Again is a #1 New York Times bestseller, a Newbery Honor Book, and a winner of the National Book Award!

Inspired by the author's childhood experience as a refugee—fleeing Vietnam after...


2000 selection

Homeless Bird

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 2000

by Gloria Whelan

The National Book Award-winning novel about one remarkable young woman who dares to defy fate, perfect for readers who enjoyed A Long Walk to Water by Linda Sue Park or Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai. ...


1996 selection

Parrot in the Oven

National Book Award for Young People's Literature 1996

by Victor Martinez & Steve Scott

Perico, or parrot, was what Dad called me sometimes. It was from a Mexican saying about a parrot that complains how hot it is in the shade, while all along he's sitting inside an oven and doesn't know it.......