August Derleth Award

The August Derleth Award is an annual award given out (since 1972) by members of the British Fantasy Society for best novel of the year. The award is named after American writer and editor August Derleth.


2015 selection

No One Gets Out Alive

August Derleth Award 2015

by Adam Nevill

When Stephanie moves to the notoriously cheap Perry Bar neighborhood of Birmingham, she's just happy to find an affordable room for rent that's large enough not to deserve her previous room's nickname, "the...

2013 selection

Last Days

August Derleth Award 2013

by Adam Nevill

Last Days (winner of the British Fantasy Award for Best Horror Novel of the Year) by Adam Nevill is a Blair Witch style novel in which a documentary film-maker undertakes the investigation of a dangerous cult--with...

2012 selection

The Ritual

August Derleth Award 2012

by Adam Nevill

Now a Netflix Original Movie!

When four old University friends set off into the Scandinavian wilderness of the Arctic Circle, they aim to briefly escape the problems of their lives and reconnect with one another....