American Tapestry: The Story of the Black, White, and Multiracial Ancestors of Michelle Obama

American Tapestry: The Story of the Black, White, and Multiracial Ancestors of Michelle Obama

for $ 14.99 , or download a preview

14.99 American Tapestry: The Story of the Black, White, and Multiracial Ancestors of Michelle Obama http://covers.feedbooks.net/item/245044.jpg?t=1405959401 http://www.feedbooks.com/item/245044/american-tapestry-the-story-of-the-black-white-and-multiracial-ancestors-of-michelle-obama?utm_medium=uwishlist&utm_source=amazon

A remarkable history of First Lady Michelle Obama’s mixed ancestry, American Tapestry by Rachel L. Swarns is nothing less than a breathtaking and expansive portrait of America itself.

In this extraordinary feat of genealogical research—in the tradition of The Hemmingses of Monticello and Slaves in the Family—author Swarns, a respected Washington-based reporter for the New York Times, tells the fascinating and hitherto untold story of Ms. Obama’s black, white,… (more)

Editorial reviews (3 reviews)


In Mrs. Obama’s DNA is the best and the worst of America, a narrative and a heritage that we need to know and acknowledge. Swarns forces us to take a hard look at that heritage. For that alone, this book is a worthy and significant endeavor.

Swarns’s research is extensive and meticulous — one feels the hours that she spent poring over old documents and talking with genealogists and historians. Her passion for the story is clear and striking.

American Tapestry is not only the remarkable story of the first lady’s family, providing insight into some of the wonderful traits that have been passed down to her, but also a microcosm of this country’s story as well.

Comments (0 comments)


No comment yet. Sign in to post a comment.

Book Details  


Publisher: Amistad (June 19, 2012)

Format: EPUB

Page count: 400 pages

File size: 1.6 MB

Protection: DRM

Language: English


Lists (1 list)


The New York Times 100 Notable Books of 2012

The New York Times Book Review has published its list of 100 Notable Books of 2012, both fiction and non-fiction. Some titles such as graphic novels...


Look for similar items  


>
>