The Midwife's Tale

The Midwife's Tale

for $ 9.99 , or download a preview

9.99 The Midwife's Tale http://covers.feedbooks.net/item/399441.jpg?t=1413255336 http://www.feedbooks.com/item/399441/the-midwife-s-tale?utm_medium=uwishlist&utm_source=amazon

In the tradition of Arianna Franklin and C. J. Sansom comes Samuel Thomas’s remarkable debut, The Midwife’s Tale

It is 1644, and Parliament’s armies have risen against the King and laid siege to the city of York. Even as the city suffers at the rebels’ hands, midwife Bridget Hodgson becomes embroiled in a different sort of rebellion. One of Bridget’s friends, Esther Cooper, has been convicted of murdering her husband and sentenced to be burnt alive. Convinced… (more)

Editorial reviews (2 reviews)


I finished the book feeling disappointed. Often the description of the action felt dry and distancing.

The author did an exceptional job in recreating 17th century York, no surprise due to the fact he is a history professor and knowledgeable.

Comments (0 comments)


No comment yet. Sign in to post a comment.

Book Details  


Publisher: St. Martin's Press (January 08, 2013)

Collection: Minotaur Books

Format: EPUB

Protection: DRM

Language: English


Look for similar items  


>
>
>
>
>