Books about books (24 books)

Sort

As Listed

Most Popular

Publication Date

A-Z

Z-A

 

Related Lists

Utopia/Dystopia

Science Fictio...

Banned books

What kind of reader doesn't love to read a book about books?

 

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry: A Novel

by Gabrielle Zevin

A New York Times Bestseller, a #1 Indie Next Pick, and a #1 LibraryReads Selection

"This novel has humor, romance, a touch of suspense, but most of all love--love of books and bookish people and, really, all...


Why I Read

by Wendy Lesser

“Wendy Lesser’s extraordinary alertness, intelligence, and curiosity have made her one of America’s most significant cultural critics,” writes Stephen Greenblatt. In Why I Read, Lesser draws on a lifetime...


Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore

by Robin Sloan

A gleeful and exhilarating tale of global conspiracy, complex code-breaking, high-tech data visualization, young love, rollicking adventure, and the secret to eternal life—mostly set in a hole-in-the-wall...


The Book Thief

by Markus Zusak

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that will be in movie theaters on November 15, 2013, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.

It is 1939. Nazi Germany....


The Man Who Loved Books Too Much: The True Story of a Thief, a Detective, and a World of Literary Obsession

by Allison Hoover Bartlett

In the tradition of The Orchid Thief, a compelling narrative set within the strange and genteel world of rare-book collecting: the true story of an infamous book thief, his victims, and the man determined to...


When I Was a Child I Read Books

by Marilynne Robinson

Marilynne Robinson has built a sterling reputation as a writer of sharp, subtly moving prose, not only as a major American novelist, but also as a rigorous thinker and incisive essayist. In When I Was a Child...


If on a winter's night a traveler

by Italo Calvino

Italo Calvino imagines a novel capable of endless mutations in this intricately crafted story about writing and readers.

 

If on a Winter's Night a Traveler turns out to be not one novel but ten, each with...


Books: A Memoir

by Larry Mcmurtry

Now in paperback, Larry McMurtry’s fascinating and surprisingly intimate memoir of his lifelong passion of buying, selling, and collecting rare antiquarian books: “a necessary and marvelous gift” (San...


Phantoms on the Bookshelves

by Jacques Bonnet

The enthralling memoir on the art of living with books Phantoms on the Bookshelves considers how our personal libraries reveal our true natures: far more than merely crowded shelves, they are living labyrinths...


Leave Me Alone, I'm Reading: Finding and Losing Myself in Books

by Maureen Corrigan

“It’s not that I don’t like people,” writes Maureen Corrigan in her introduction to Leave Me Alone, I’m Reading. “It’s just that there always comes a moment when I’m in the company of others—even...


Reading Lolita in Tehran: A Memoir in Books

by Azar Nafisi

We all have dreams—things we fantasize about doing and generally never get around to. This is the story of Azar Nafisi’s dream and of the nightmare that made it come true.

For two years before she left Iran...


Labyrinth of Dreaming Books

by Walter Moers & John Brown

It has been more than two hundred years since Bookholm was destroyed by a devastating fire, as told in Moers's The City of Dreaming Books. Hildegunst von Mythenmetz, hailed as Zamonia’s greatest writer, is...


Ex Libris

by Anne Fadiman

Anne Fadiman is--by her own admission--the sort of person who learned about sex from her father's copy of Fanny Hill, whose husband buys her 19 pounds of dusty books for her birthday, and who once found herself...


The Eyre Affair: A Thursday Next Novel

Thursday Next #1

by Jasper Fforde

The first installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series of Thursday Next novels introduces literary detective Thursday Next and her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England

Fans...


Matilda

by Roald Dahl & Quentin Blake

"The Trunchbull" is no match for Matilda!

Matilda is a sweet, exceptional young girl, but her parents think she's just a nuisance. She expects school to be different but there she has to face Miss Trunchbull,...


Fahrenheit 451: A Novel

by Ray Bradbury

Ray Bradbury’s internationally acclaimed novel Fahrenheit 451 is a masterwork of twentieth-century literature set in a bleak, dystopian future.

Guy Montag is a fireman. In his world, where television rules...


The Uncommon Reader

by Alan Bennett

From the author of The History Boys and The Clothes They Stood Up In

 

 A deliciously funny novella that celebrates the pleasure of reading. When the Queen in pursuit of her wandering corgis stumbles upon a...


People of the Book: A Novel

by Geraldine Brooks

The "complex and moving"(The New Yorker) novel by Pulitzer Prize-winner Geraldine Brooks follows a rare manuscript through centuries of exile and war

Inspired by a true story, People of the Book is a novel of...


The Reader

by Bernhard Schlink

Hailed for its coiled eroticism and the moral claims it makes upon the reader, this mesmerizing novel is a story of love and secrets, horror and compassion, unfolding against the haunted landscape of postwar...


The Elegance of the Hedgehog

by Muriel Barbery & Alison Anderson

Renee is the concierge of a grand Parisian apartment building, home to members of the great and the good. Over the years she has maintained her carefully constructed persona as someone reliable but totally uncultivated,...


I Kill the Mockingbird

by Paul Acampora

When Lucy, Elena, and Michael receive their summer reading list, they are excited to see To Kill A Mockingbird included. But not everyone in their class shares the same enthusiasm. So they hatch a plot to...


The Rise & Fall of Great Powers

by Tom Rachman

For fans of Jennifer Egan, Dave Eggers, and Donna Tartt—the brilliant, intricately woven new novel by Tom Rachman, author of The Imperfectionists

NAMED ONE OF KIRKUS REVIEWS’ “NEW BOOKS DESTINED TO BECOME...


What We See When We Read

by Peter Mendelsund

A gorgeously unique, fully illustrated exploration into the phenomenology of reading—how we visualize images from reading works of literature, from one of our very best book jacket designers, himself a passionate...


Careless People: Murder, Mayhem, and the Invention of The Great Gatsby

by Sarah Churchwell

Kirkus (STARRED review)

"Churchwell... has written an excellent book... she's earned the right to play on [Fitzgerald's] court. Prodigious research and fierce affection illumine every remarkable page."

The...


Comments (0 comments)


No comment yet. Sign in to post a comment.