From Ireland (42 books)

Sort

As Listed

Most Popular

Publication Date

A-Z

Z-A

 

Related Lists

Great Books of...

High School Re...

Banned Classics

Books about Ireland, books set in Ireland, books of Irish history and folkore... and even a book or two in Irish language.

 

Dubliners

by James Joyce

Dubliners is a collection of 15 short stories by James Joyce, first published in 1914. The fifteen stories were meant to be a naturalistic depiction of the Irish middle class life in and around Dublin in the...

Looking for Jimmy: A Search for Irish America

by Peter Quinn

More information to be announced soon on this forthcoming title from Penguin USA


Time and the Gods

by Lord Dunsany

Time and the Gods is the second book by Irish fantasy writer Lord Dunsany, considered a major influence on the work of J. R. R. Tolkien, H. P. Lovecraft, Ursula LeGuin and others. The book was first published...

The Dead

by James Joyce

Too short to be a novel, too long to be a short story, the novella is generally unrecognized by academics and publishers. Nonetheless, it is a form beloved and practice by literature's greatest writers. In The...


The Lane

by Maura Rooney Hitzenbuhler

In the tradition of Maeve Binchy, The Lane paints a clear and poignant picture of Dublin in the Fifties? its people, their hardships and their humor. The Lane draws a sharp line under the restrictions on Irish...


Daughters of Ireland: The Rebellious Kingsborough Sisters and the Making of a Modern Nation

by Janet Todd

They were known as the Ascendancy, the dashing aristocratic elite that controlled Irish politics and society at the end of the eighteenth century—and at their pinnacle stood Caroline and Robert King, Lord...


Wars of the Irish Kings: A Thousand Years of Struggle, from the Age of Myth through the Reign of Queen Elizabeth I

by David W. Mccullough

For the first thousand years of its history, Ireland was shaped by its monasteries and its wars. The artistic flourishing of the monasteries has received a good deal of attention, but the violent and varied...


Gulliver's Travels

by Jonathan Swift

Gulliver's Travels (1726, amended 1735), officially Travels into Several Remote Nations of the World, in Four Parts. By Lemuel Gulliver, First a Surgeon, and then a Captain of several Ships, is a novel by Jonathan...

Don Rodriguez: Chronicles of Shadow Valley

by Lord Dunsany

A coming of age story set in the mythical "golden age" of Spain. The titular character is excluded from the inheritance of the family castle on the grounds that given his expertise with sword and mandolin he...

The Sword of Welleran and Other Stories

by Lord Dunsany

The Sword of Welleran and Other Stories is the third book by Irish fantasy writer Lord Dunsany, considered a major influence on the work of J. R. R. Tolkien, H. P. Lovecraft, Ursula LeGuin and others. It was...

Fifty-One Tales

by Lord Dunsany

Fifty-One Tales is a collection of fantasy short stories by Irish writer Lord Dunsany, considered a major influence on the work of J. R. R. Tolkien, H. P. Lovecraft, Ursula LeGuin and others. The first editions,...

The Story of Chicago May

by Nuala O'Faolain

More information to be announced soon on this forthcoming title from Penguin USA


The Gods of Pegana

by Lord Dunsany

The book is a series of short stories linked by Dunsany's invented pantheon of deities who dwell in Pegāna. It was followed by a further collection Time and the Gods and by some stories in The Sword of Welleran...

Ulysses

by James Joyce

Ulysses is a novel by James Joyce, first serialized in parts in the American journal The Little Review from March 1918 to December 1920, then published in its entirety by Sylvia Beach on February 2, 1922, in...

Tales of Three Hemispheres

by Lord Dunsany

Tales of Three Hemispheres is a collection of fantasy short stories by Lord Dunsany. The first edition was published in Boston by John W. Luce & Co. in November, 1919; the first British edition was published...

Tales of Wonder

by Lord Dunsany

The Last Book of Wonder, originally published as Tales of Wonder, is the tenth book and sixth original short story collection of Irish fantasy writer Lord Dunsany, considered a major influence on the work of...

Cigar Box Banjo: Notes on Music and Life

by Paul Quarrington & Roddy Doyle

In Paul Quarrington's favorite childhood recording, a boy fashions a banjo from a cigar box, pluckily sets off for a contest in the next town, and wins with a song that weaves in the sounds he hears along the...


A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man

by James Joyce

A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man is a semi-autobiographical novel by James Joyce, first serialized in The Egoist from 1914 to 1915 and published in book form in 1916. It depicts the formative years in...

The Book of Wonder

by Lord Dunsany

The Book of Wonder is the seventh book and fifth original short story collection of Irish fantasy writer Lord Dunsany, considered a major influence on the work of J. R. R. Tolkien, H. P. Lovecraft, Ursula LeGuin...

A Dreamer's Tales

by Lord Dunsany

A Dreamer's Tales is the fifth book by Irish fantasy writer Lord Dunsany, considered a major influence on the work of J. R. R. Tolkien, H. P. Lovecraft, Ursula LeGuin and others. It was first published in hardcover...

Best Love, Rosie

by Nuala O'Faolain

The final novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Are You Somebody? Like many a modern, well-travelled woman, Rosie has lived a fascinating life, full of adventure and the pleasure of many lovers...


Quentins

by Maeve Binchy

Is it possible to tell the story of a generation and a city through the history of a restaurant?

Ella Brady thinks so. She wants to film a documentary about Quentins that will capture the spirit of Dublin from...


Where Beauty Lies in Wait

by Peadar Ó Guilín

A Science Fiction story originally published in Black Gate magazine. It was well reviewed, although many men in particular found it "unsettling".

Free

Download


Hair

by Peadar Ó Guilín

A Weird Tale. Originally published in the late Feralfiction.

Free

Download


The Holy Land

by Maurice Riordan

At the heart of Maurice Riordan's third collection is a sequence of eighteen dramatic idylls set in rural Cork in the 1950s, in which the subdued microcosm of farm and smallholding - of boundary, townland and...


Paddy Whacked

by S. Furlong-Bolliger

Inspector Helmes and his trusty sidekick, Watkins, know they have their work cut out for them in solving the murder of Paddy O'Toole, the Grand Leprechaun. However, nothing can prepare them for the strange lineup...


Death of a Naturalist

by Seamus Heaney

Between my finger and my thumb The squat pen rests; snug as a gun. -- from 'Digging' With its lyrical and descriptive powers, Death of a Naturalist marked the auspicious debut of one of the century's finest...


Writ in Stone: A Burren Medieval Mystery 4

Burren Mysteries #4

by Cora Harrison

A Mystery of Medieval Ireland - Christmas, 1509. Mara, the investigating judge of the Burren, has accepted the offer of marriage made by King Turlough. But on the eve of the marriage festivities, a man kneeling...


Eye of the Law: A Burren Medieval Mystery 5

Burren Mysteries #5

by Cora Harrison

A Mystery of Medieval Ireland - 1510. A great feast is being held. Into a crowd listening to the story of Balor, the one-eyed god, come two strangers. The younger of the two, Iarla, bears a letter that claims...


Halfway Home: My Life 'til Now

by Ronan Tynan

Yes, I am a singer. But I am also a horseman, an athlete, and a doctor. I am a son, a brother, and a friend. I can sing as I do only because of the life that I've led. With each decade, I've found myself in...


To Ireland, I

by Paul Muldoon

The four pieces that make up this work are taken from Muldoon’s Oxford Clarendon Lectures of 1998. Together, they take the form of an A-Z, or abecedary of Irish literature, in which his imagination forges...


It's What He Would've Wanted

by Sean Hughes

Sean Hughes is an award-winning Irish comic turned bestselling writer whom the British Independent has compared to the likes of Irvine Welsh, James Kelman, and Will Self. Now, the popular comedian delivers It's...


Past Secrets

by Cathy Kelly

They all hide secrets that won't go away....

From the outside, the welcoming, garden-adorned houses of Summer Street are the picture of Irish charm. But on the inside, unexpected and heartbreaking secrets swirl....


All the Dead Voices

by Declan Hughes

Dublin PI Ed Loy is trying to escape his past—a task easier said than done—in this new novel from Shamus Award-winning author Declan Hughes

Shortly after moving from his childhood home on the outskirts of...


The Lonely Voice

by Frank O'Connor

Introduction by Russell Banks.

The legendary book about writing by the legendary writer is back!

Frank O’Connor was one of the twentieth century’s greatest short story writers, and one of Ireland’s greatest...


Midlife Irish: Discovering My Family and Myself

by Frank Gannon

If Bill Bryson set off for Ireland to discover his roots, then you'd have MIDLIFE IRISH--an illuminating, entertaining, and heartwarming look at one man's search for where--and who--he came from. Irish-American....


My Father's Footprints: A Memoir

by Colin McEnroe

Starting with the death of his father and chronicling backwards, the author examines their relationship in order to understand his dad, not just as a father, but as a man.


Myths and Folklore of Ireland

by Jeremiah Curtin

Myths and Folklore of Ireland is the first of many works published by the renowned American translator Jeremiah Curtin. The volume is comprised of twenty-three Irish myths, in which the the legends of Fin MacCumhail...


Pearl: A Novel

by Mary Gordon

On Christmas night of 1998, Maria Meyers learns that her twenty-year-old daughter, Pearl, has chained herself outside the American embassy in Dublin, where she intends to starve herself to death. Although Maria...


101 Things You Didn't Know About Irish History

by Ryan Hackney

Forget about shamrocks, leprechauns, and all that blarney, 101 Things You Didn't Know About Irish History dispels the myths and tells the true stories of the Irish. Inside, you'll learn about about:

  • Lives of...


Me Father Was A Hero And Me Mother Is A Saint Book

by Eamonn Sheridan

Synopsis: Me Father Was a Hero and Me Mother Is a Saint is the true story of a large working-class family from North Dublin. "It begins with the period of my father's service with 'E' company 1st Battalion Dublin...


The Emerald Diamond: How the Irish Transformed America's Favorite Pastime

by Charley Rosen

The history of the Irish in baseball is much richer than anyone realizes. From early discrimination to later domination, from Mike Kelly, a society star in the 1880s, to the managerial fame of Connie Mack (né...


Comments (0 comments)


No comment yet. Sign in to post a comment.