NY Times Best Sellers - Non-Fiction (29 books)

Sort

As Listed

Most Popular

Publication Date

A-Z

Z-A

 

Related Lists

Essays!

The New York T...

Kirkus Reviews...

Every week, the New York Times publishes a list of best selling non-fiction books in the US. This list aggregates : Hardcover Non-Fiction and Non-Fiction Paperpack best sellers.

 

American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History

by Chris Kyle, Scott McEwen & Jim Defelice

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY CLINT EASTWOOD

He is the deadliest American sniper ever, called “the devil” by the enemies he hunted and “the legend” by his Navy SEAL brothers . . .

From...


The Hot Zone: A Terrifying True Story

by Richard Preston

The bestselling landmark account of the first emergence of the Ebola virus. A highly infectious, deadly virus from the central African rain forest suddenly appears in the suburbs of Washington, D.C. There is...


Waking Up: A Guide to Spirituality Without Religion

by Sam Harris

For the millions of Americans who want spirituality without religion, Sam Harris’s new book is a guide to meditation as a rational spiritual practice informed by neuroscience and psychology.

From multiple New...


Worthy Fights: A Memoir of Leadership in War and Peace

by Leon Panetta & Jim Newton

The inspiring and revelatory autobiography of the defense secretary and CIA director who led the intelligence war that killed Bin Laden, among many important roles in a legendary career

It could be said that...


Zealot: The Life and Times of Jesus of Nazareth

by Reza Aslan

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY

Good Housekeeping • Booklist • Publishers Weekly • Bookish

From the internationally bestselling author of No god but God comes a fascinating,...


This Is the Story of a Happy Marriage

by Ann Patchett

The New York Times bestselling author of State of Wonder, Run, and Bel Canto creates a resonant portrait of a life in this collection of writings on love, friendship, work, and art.

"The tricky thing about being...


World Order

by Henry Kissinger

Walter Isaacson, Time:

"Dazzling and instructive... [a] magisterial new book."

Henry Kissinger offers in World Order a deep meditation on the roots of international harmony and global disorder. Drawing on his...


How We Got to Now: Six Innovations That Made the Modern World

by Steven Johnson

From the New York Times�bestselling author of Where Good Ideas Come From and Everything Bad Is Good for You, a new look at the power and legacy of great ideas.

In this illustrated history, Steven Johnson explores...


The Smartest Kids in the World: And How They Got That Way

by Amanda Ripley

How do other countries create “smarter” kids? What is it like to be a child in the world’s new education superpowers? The Smartest Kids in the World “gets well beneath the glossy surfaces of these foreign...


Dancing with Myself

by Billy Idol

“I am hopelessly divided between the dark and the good, the rebel and the saint, the sex maniac and the monk, the poet and the priest, the demagogue and the populist. Pen to paper, I’ve put it all down,...


Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon's Journey into the Afterlife

by Eben, M.D. Alexander

A scientist’s case for the afterlife…

Thousands of people have had near-death experiences, but scientists have argued that they are impossible. Dr. Eben Alexander was one of those scientists. A highly trained...


The Heart of Everything That Is: The Untold Story of Red Cloud, An American Legend

by Bob Drury & Tom Clavin

An acclaimed New York Times bestseller, selected by Salon as a best book of the year, the astonishing untold story of the life and times of Sioux warrior Red Cloud: “a page-turner with remarkable immediacy…and...


Rebel Yell: The Violence, Passion, and Redemption of Stonewall Jackson

by S. C. Gwynne

From the author of the prizewinning New York Times bestseller Empire of the Summer Moon comes a thrilling account of how Civil War general Thomas “Stonewall” Jackson became a great and tragic American hero....


The Sense of Style: The Thinking Person's Guide to Writing in the 21st Century

by Steven Pinker

A short and entertaining book on the modern art of writing well by New York Times bestselling author Steven Pinker

Why is so much writing so bad, and how can we make it better? Is the English language being...


Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls

by David Sedaris

"Sedaris is a remarkably skilled storyteller and savvy essayist....And based, on this latest collection, he's getting only better." ---Los Angeles Times

A guy walks into a bar car and...

From here the story could...


Jesus on Trial: A Lawyer Affirms the Truth of the Gospel

by David Limbaugh

New York Times Bestseller!

In Jesus on Trial, New York Times bestselling author David Limbaugh applies his lifetime of legal experience to a unique new undertaking: making a case for the gospels as hard evidence...


Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking

by Susan Cain

The book that started the Quiet Revolution

At least one-third of the people we know are introverts. They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking; who innovate and create but dislike self-promotion; who...


Orange Is the New Black: My Year in a Women's Prison

by Piper Kerman

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES • #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

 

With a career, a boyfriend, and a loving family, Piper Kerman barely resembles the reckless young woman who delivered a suitcase of drug money...


Rocks: My Life in and Out of Aerosmith

by Joe Perry & David Ritz

“An insightful and harrowing roller coaster ride through the career of one of rock and roll’s greatest guitarists. Strap yourself in.” —Slash

“Rocking Joe Perry ‘rocks’ again!” —Jimmy Page

Before...


The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business

by Charles Duhigg

OVER 60 WEEKS ON THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER LIST

With a new Afterword by the author

 

In The Power of Habit, Pulitzer Prize–winning business reporter Charles Duhigg takes us to the thrilling edge of scientific...


What If?: Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions

by Randall Munroe

From the creator of the wildly popular webcomic xkcd, hilarious and informative answers to important questions you probably never thought to ask Millions of people visit xkcd.com each week to read Randall Munroe’s...


Outliers: The Story of Success

by Malcolm Gladwell

There is a story that is usually told about extremely successful people, a story that focuses on intelligence and ambition. Gladwell argues that the true story of success is very different, and that if we want...


Women in Clothes

by Sheila Heti, Heidi Julavits & Leanne Shapton

Women in Clothes is a book unlike any other. It is essentially a conversation among hundreds of women of all nationalities-famous, anonymous, religious, secular, married, single, young, old-on the subject of...


I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban

by Malala Yousafzai & Christina Lamb

When the Taliban took control of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, one girl spoke out. Malala Yousafzai refused to be silenced and fought for her right to an education.

On Tuesday, October 9, 2012, when she was fifteen,...


The Innovators: How a Group of Hackers, Geniuses, and Geeks Created the Digital Revolution

by Walter Isaacson

Following his blockbuster biography of Steve Jobs, The Innovators is Walter Isaacson’s revealing story of the people who created the computer and the Internet. It is destined to be the standard history of...


The Best American Essays 2014

by John Jeremiah Sullivan & Robert Atwan

Pulphead author John Jeremiah Sullivan, "among the best young non-fiction writers in English"  (The New York Times), picks the year's best essays selected from hundereds of magazines, journals, and websites....


Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

by Cheryl Strayed

#1 NATIONAL BESTSELLER

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE

At twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the wake of her mother’s death, her family scattered and her own marriage was soon destroyed....


The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

by DanielJames Brown

The #1 New York Times-bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding...


Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption

Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Biography 2010

by Laura Hillenbrand

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE • Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

In boyhood, Louis Zamperini was an...


Comments (0 comments)


No comment yet. Sign in to post a comment.