NY Times Best Sellers - Non-Fiction (29 books)

Sort

As Listed

Most Popular

Publication Date

A-Z

Z-A

 

Related Lists

A selection of...

Fun with Science!

Kirkus Reviews...

Every week, the New York Times publishes a list of best selling non-fiction books in the US. This list aggregates : Hardcover Non-Fiction and Non-Fiction Paperpack best sellers.

 

Alexander Hamilton

by Ron Chernow

New York Times Bestseller, and the inspiration for the hit Broadway musical Hamilton!

Pulitzer Prize-winning author Ron Chernow presents a landmark biography of Alexander Hamilton, the Founding Father who...


Between the World and Me: Notes on the First 150 Years in America

Kirkus Prize for Nonfiction 2015, National Book Award for Non-Fiction 2015

by Ta-Nehisi Coates

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER | NAACP IMAGE AWARD WINNER | PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST | NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST | NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY...


Bill O'Reilly's Legends and Lies: The Patriots

by David Fisher

The must-have companion to Bill O'Reilly's historical docudrama Legends and Lies: The Patriots, an exciting and eye-opening look at the Revolutionary War through the lives of its leaders

The American Revolution...


Bobby Kennedy: The Making of a Liberal Icon

by Larry Tye

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the author of Satchel comes an in-depth, vibrant, and measured biography about the most complex and controversial member of the Kennedy family.

History remembers Robert F....


But What If We're Wrong?: Thinking About the Present As If It Were the Past

by Chuck Klosterman

But What If We’re Wrong? visualizes the contemporary world as it will appear to those who'll perceive it as the distant past. Chuck Klosterman asks questions that are profound in their simplicity: How certain...


Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania

by Erik Larson

#1 New York Times Bestseller

From the bestselling author and master of narrative nonfiction comes the enthralling story of the sinking of the Lusitania

On May 1, 1915, with WWI entering its tenth month, a luxury...


Freedom: My Book of Firsts

by Jaycee Dugard

In the follow-up to her #1 bestselling memoir, A Stolen Life, Jaycee Dugard tells the story of her first experiences after years in captivity: the joys that accompanied her newfound freedom and the challenges...


Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance

by Angela Duckworth

In this instant New York Times bestseller, pioneering psychologist Angela Duckworth shows anyone striving to succeed—be it parents, students, educators, athletes, or business people—that the secret to outstanding...


Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption

by Bryan Stevenson

#1 New York Times Bestseller | Named one of the Best Books of the Year by The New York Times • The Washington Post • The Boston Globe • The Seattle Times • Esquire • Time

 

Winner of the Carnegie...


Modern Romance

by Aziz Ansari & Eric Klinenberg

Now a New York Times Bestseller

A hilarious, thoughtful, and in-depth exploration of the pleasures and perils of modern romance from one of this generation’s sharpest comedic voices

At some point, every one...


Outliers: The Story of Success

by Malcolm Gladwell

There is a story that is usually told about extremely successful people, a story that focuses on intelligence and ambition. Gladwell argues that the true story of success is very different, and that if we want...


Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking

by Susan Cain

The book that started the Quiet Revolution

At least one-third of the people we know are introverts. They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking; who innovate and create but dislike self-promotion; who...


Real Food/Fake Food: Why You Don't Know What You're Eating and What You Can Do about It

by Larry Olmsted

“Olmsted makes you insanely hungry and steaming mad--a must-read for anyone who cares deeply about the safety of our food and the welfare of our planet.” —Steven Raichlen, author of the Barbecue! Bible...


Seinfeldia: How a Show About Nothing Changed Everything

by Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

“Her book, as if she were a marine biologist, is a deep dive...Perhaps the highest praise I can give Seinfeldia is that it made me want to buy a loaf of marbled rye and start watching again, from the beginning.”...


Shoe Dog: A Memoir by the Creator of Nike

by Phil Knight

In this candid and riveting memoir, for the first time ever, Nike founder and board chairman Phil Knight shares the inside story of the company’s early days as an intrepid start-up and its evolution into one...


The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

by DanielJames Brown

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany, the inspiration for the PBS documentary The Boys of '36, broadcast to coincide with the 2016 Summer Olympics and the...


The Devil in the White City: A Saga of Magic and Murder at the Fair that Changed America

Edgar Allan Poe Award Best Fact Crime 2004

by Erik Larson

Erik Larson—author of #1 bestseller IN THE GARDEN OF BEASTS—intertwines the true tale of the 1893 World's Fair and the cunning serial killer who used the fair to lure his victims to their death. Combining...


The Gene: An Intimate History

by Siddhartha Mukherjee

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning, bestselling author of The Emperor of All Maladies—a magnificent history of the gene and a response to the defining question of the future: What...


The Glass Castle: A Memoir

by Jeannette Walls

MORE THAN SEVEN YEARS ON THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER LIST

The first book by the beloved author of the new novel The Silver Star, the extraordinary, one-of-a-kind, “nothing short of spectacular” (Entertainment...


The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Wellcome Book Prize 2010

by Rebecca Skloot

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor black tobacco farmer whose cells—taken without her knowledge in 1951—became one of the most important...


The New Jim Crow

by Michelle Alexander & Cornel West

Once in a great while a book comes along that changes the way we see the world and helps to fuel a nationwide social movement. The New Jim Crow is such a book. Praised by Harvard Law professor Lani Guinier as...


The Oregon Trail: A New American Journey

by Rinker Buck

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • #1 Indie Next Pick • Winner of the PEN New England Award

“Enchanting…A book filled with so much love…Long before Oregon, Rinker Buck has convinced us that the best way...


The Other Wes Moore: One Name, Two Fates

by Wes Moore

BONUS: This edition contains a new afterword and a The Other Wes Moore discussion guide.

The chilling truth is that his story could have been mine. The tragedy is that my story could have been his.

Two kids named...


The Rainbow Comes and Goes

by Anderson Cooper & Gloria Vanderbilt

A touching and intimate correspondence between Anderson Cooper and his mother, Gloria Vanderbilt, offering timeless wisdom and a revealing glimpse into their lives

Though Anderson Cooper has always considered...


The View from the Cheap Seats

by Neil Gaiman

An enthralling collection of nonfiction essays on a myriad of topics—from art and artists to dreams, myths, and memories—observed in #1 New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman’s probing, amusing,...


The Wright Brothers: Wright Brothers

by David McCullough

The #1 New York Times bestseller from David McCullough, two-time winner of the Pulitzer Prize—the dramatic story-behind-the-story about the courageous brothers who taught the world how to fly—Wilbur and...


Wake Up America

by Eric Bolling

The Instant New York Times Bestseller!

America was built on nine distinct virtues which shaped the character of our nation and made it great. Grit, manliness, individualism, merit, profit and providence, dominion...


When Breath Becomes Air

by Paul Kalanithi & Abraham Verghese

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic...


White Trash: The 400-Year Untold History of Class in America

by Nancy Isenberg

“This estimable book rides into the summer doldrums like rural electrification. . . . It deals in the truths that matter.”—Dwight Garner, The New York Times

White Trash will change the way we think...


Comments (0 comments)


No comment yet. Sign in to post a comment.