NY Times Best Sellers - Non-Fiction (27 books)

Sort

As Listed

Most Popular

Publication Date

A-Z

Z-A

 

Related Lists

Books in the wild

Kirkus Reviews...

The New York T...

Every week, the New York Times publishes a list of best selling non-fiction books in the US. This list aggregates : Hardcover Non-Fiction and Non-Fiction Paperpack best sellers.

 

When Breath Becomes Air

by Paul Kalanithi & Abraham Verghese

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic...


Valiant Ambition: George Washington, Benedict Arnold, and the Fate of the American Revolution

by Nathaniel Philbrick

From the New York Times bestselling author of In The Heart of the Sea and Mayflower comes a surprising account of the middle years of the American Revolution, and the tragic relationship between George Washington...


The Wright Brothers: Wright Brothers

by David McCullough

The #1 New York Times bestseller from David McCullough, two-time winner of the Pulitzer Prize—the dramatic story-behind-the-story about the courageous brothers who taught the world how to fly—Wilbur and...


The Sleep Revolution: Transforming Your Life, One Night at a Time

by Arianna Huffington

We are in the midst of a sleep deprivation crisis, writes Arianna Huffington, the co-founder and editor in chief of The Huffington Post. And this has profound consequences – on our health, our job performance,...


The Rainbow Comes and Goes

by Anderson Cooper & Gloria Vanderbilt

A touching and intimate correspondence between Anderson Cooper and his mother, Gloria Vanderbilt, offering timeless wisdom and a revealing glimpse into their lives

Though Anderson Cooper has always considered...


The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business

by Charles Duhigg

OVER 60 WEEKS ON THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER LIST

With a new Afterword by the author

 

In The Power of Habit, Pulitzer Prize–winning business reporter Charles Duhigg takes us to the thrilling edge of scientific...


The New Jim Crow

by Michelle Alexander & Cornel West

Once in a great while a book comes along that changes the way we see the world and helps to fuel a nationwide social movement. The New Jim Crow is such a book. Praised by Harvard Law professor Lani Guinier as...


The Devil in the White City: A Saga of Magic and Murder at the Fair that Changed America

Edgar Allan Poe Award Best Fact Crime 2004

by Erik Larson

Erik Larson—author of #1 bestseller IN THE GARDEN OF BEASTS—intertwines the true tale of the 1893 World's Fair and the cunning serial killer who used the fair to lure his victims to their death. Combining...


The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

by DanielJames Brown

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany, the inspiration for the PBS documentary The Boys of '36, broadcast to coincide with the 2016 Summer Olympics and the...


The Big Picture: On the Origins of Life, Meaning, and the Universe Itself

by Sean Carroll

“Weaving the threads of astronomy, physics, chemistry, biology, and philosophy into a seamless narrative tapestry, Sean Carroll enthralls us with what we’ve figured out in the universe and humbles us with...


Shoe Dog: A Memoir by the Creator of Nike

by Phil Knight

In this candid and riveting memoir, for the first time ever, Nike founder and board chairman Phil Knight shares the inside story of the company’s early days as an intrepid start-up and its evolution into one...


Seven Brief Lessons on Physics

by Carlo Rovelli

Instant New York Times Bestseller

“Short and resonant. . . . The essays in Seven Brief Lessons on Physics arrive like shots of espresso.”The New York Times

“A startling and illustrative distillation of...


Red Platoon: A True Story of American Valor

by Clinton Romesha

The only comprehensive, firsthand account of the fourteen hour firefight at the Battle of Keating by Medal of Honor recipient Clinton Romesha, for readers of Black Hawk Down by Mark Bowden and Lone Survivor...


Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking

by Susan Cain

The book that started the Quiet Revolution

At least one-third of the people we know are introverts. They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking; who innovate and create but dislike self-promotion; who...


Outliers: The Story of Success

by Malcolm Gladwell

There is a story that is usually told about extremely successful people, a story that focuses on intelligence and ambition. Gladwell argues that the true story of success is very different, and that if we want...


Old Age: A Beginner's Guide

by Michael Kinsley

Vanity Fair columnist Michael Kinsley escorts his fellow Boomers through the door marked "Exit."

The notorious baby boomers—the largest age cohort in history—are approaching the end and starting to plan their...


Lab Girl

by Hope Jahren

National Best Seller

Named One of TIME magazine’s "100 Most Influential People"

An illuminating debut memoir of a woman in science; a moving portrait of a longtime friendship; and a stunningly fresh look at...


Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption

by Bryan Stevenson

New York Times Bestseller | Named one of the Best Books of the Year by The New York Times • The Washington Post • The Boston Globe • The Seattle Times • Esquire • Time

 

Winner of the Carnegie Medal...


Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance

by Angela Duckworth

In this instant New York Times bestseller, pioneering psychologist Angela Duckworth shows anyone striving to succeed—be it parents, students, educators, athletes, or business people—that the secret to outstanding...


Five Presidents: My Extraordinary Journey with Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, and Ford

by Clint Hill & Lisa McCubbin

A rare and fascinating portrait of the American presidency from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Mrs. Kennedy and Me and Five Days in November.

Secret Service agent Clint Hill brings history intimately...


Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania

by Erik Larson

#1 New York Times Bestseller

From the bestselling author and master of narrative nonfiction comes the enthralling story of the sinking of the Lusitania

On May 1, 1915, with WWI entering its tenth month, a luxury...


Between the World and Me: Notes on the First 150 Years in America

Kirkus Prize for Nonfiction 2015, National Book Award for Non-Fiction 2015

by Ta-Nehisi Coates

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER | NAACP IMAGE AWARD WINNER | PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST | NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST | NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY...


Becoming Wise: An Inquiry into the Mystery and Art of Living

by Krista Tippett

“I’m a person who listens for a living.  I listen for wisdom, and beauty, and for voices not shouting to be heard.  This book chronicles some of what I’ve learned in what has become a conversation across...


Becoming Grandma: The Joys and Science of the New Grandparenting

by Lesley Stahl

From one of the country’s most recognizable journalists: How becoming a grandmother transforms a woman’s life.

 

After four decades as a reporter, Lesley Stahl’s most vivid and transformative experience...


Barbarian Days: A Surfing Life

by William Finnegan

**Winner of the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Autobiography**

A deeply rendered self-portrait of a lifelong surfer by the acclaimed New Yorker writer

Barbarian Days is William Finnegan’s memoir of an obsession, a...


Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are?

by Frans De Waal

A New York Times Bestseller

From world-renowned biologist and primatologist Frans de Waal, a groundbreaking work on animal intelligence destined to become a classic.

What separates your mind from an animal’s?...


Alexander Hamilton

by Ron Chernow

New York Times Bestseller, and the inspiration for the hit Broadway musical Hamilton!

Pulitzer Prize-winning author Ron Chernow presents a landmark biography of Alexander Hamilton, the Founding Father who...


Comments (0 comments)


No comment yet. Sign in to post a comment.