NY Times Best Sellers - Non-Fiction (27 books)

Sort

As Listed

Most Popular

Publication Date

A-Z

Z-A

 

Related Lists

The New York T...

Kirkus Reviews...

Every week, the New York Times publishes a list of best selling non-fiction books in the US. This list aggregates : Hardcover Non-Fiction and Non-Fiction Paperpack best sellers.

 

Yes Please

by Amy Poehler

In a perfect world . . .

We'd get to hang out with Amy Poehler, watching dumb movies, listening to music, and swapping tales about our coworkers and difficult childhoods. Because in a perfect world, we'd all...


Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

by Cheryl Strayed

#1 NATIONAL BESTSELLER

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE

At twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the wake of her mother’s death, her family scattered and her own marriage was soon destroyed....


What If?: Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions

by Randall Munroe

From the creator of the wildly popular webcomic xkcd, hilarious and informative answers to important questions you probably never thought to ask Millions of people visit xkcd.com each week to read Randall Munroe’s...


Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption

Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Biography 2010

by Laura Hillenbrand

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE • Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

In boyhood, Louis Zamperini was an incorrigible...


The Sixth Extinction

Pulitzer Prize for General Non-Fiction 2015, Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Science and Technology 2014

by Elizabeth Kolbert

ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW'S 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR

A major book about the future of the world, blending intellectual and natural history and field reporting into a powerful account of the mass...


The Road to Character: The Humble Journey to an Excellent Life

by David Brooks

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“I wrote this book not sure I could follow the road to character, but I wanted at least to know what the road looks like and how other people have trodden it.”—David Brooks

...


The Residence

by Kate Andersen Brower

America's first families are among the most private public figures on earth. From the mystique of the glamorous Kennedys to the tumult that surrounded Bill and Hillary Clinton during the president's impeachment...


The Opposite of Loneliness Enhanced Edition: Essays and Stories

by Marina Keegan & Anne Fadiman

An affecting and hope-filled posthumous collection of essays and stories from the talented young Yale graduate whose title essay captured the world’s attention in 2012 and turned her into an icon for her generation....


The New Jim Crow

by Michelle Alexander & Cornel West

Once in a great while a book comes along that changes the way we see the world and helps to fuel a nationwide social movement. The New Jim Crow is such a book. Praised by Harvard Law professor Lani Guinier as...


The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer

Pulitzer Prize for General Non-Fiction 2011, Guardian First Book Award 2011

by Siddhartha Mukherjee

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, and now a documentary from Ken Burns on PBS, The Emperor of All Maladies is a magnificent, profoundly humane “biography” of cancer—from its first documented appearances thousands...


The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

by DanielJames Brown

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding...


Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking

by Susan Cain

The book that started the Quiet Revolution

At least one-third of the people we know are introverts. They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking; who innovate and create but dislike self-promotion; who...


Outliers: The Story of Success

by Malcolm Gladwell

There is a story that is usually told about extremely successful people, a story that focuses on intelligence and ambition. Gladwell argues that the true story of success is very different, and that if we want...


Natural Born Heroes: How a Daring Band of Misfits Mastered the Lost Secrets of Strength and Endurance

by Christopher Mcdougall

The best-selling author of Born to Run now travels to the Mediterranean, where he discovers that the secrets of ancient Greek heroes are still alive and well on the island of Crete, and ready to be unleashed in...


I Hate Myselfie: A Collection of Essays by Shane Dawson

by Shane Dawson

The book that more than 12 million of Shane Dawson's YouTube subscribers have been waiting for!

From his first vlog back in 2008 to his full-length film directorial debut Not Cool, Shane Dawson has been an open...


Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania

by Erik Larson

#1 New York Times Bestseller

From the bestselling author and master of narrative nonfiction comes the enthralling story of the sinking of the Lusitania

On May 1, 1915, with WWI entering its tenth month, a luxury...


David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants

by Malcolm Gladwell

Malcolm Gladwell, the #1 bestselling author of The Tipping Point, Blink, Outliers, and What the Dog Saw, offers his most provocative---and dazzling---book yet.

Three thousand years ago on a battlefield in ancient...


Capital Dames

by Cokie Roberts

Cokie Roberts, the author of three New York Times bestsellers, including Founding Mothers and Ladies of Liberty, turns her attention to the Civil War in a riveting exploration of the ways in which the conflict...


Bossypants (Enhanced Edition)

by Tina Fey

Before Liz Lemon, before "Weekend Update," before "Sarah Palin," Tina Fey was just a young girl with a dream: a recurring stress dream that she was being chased through a local airport by her middle-school...


Bill O'Reilly's Legends and Lies

by Bill O'Reilly & David Fisher

The must-have companion to Bill O'Reilly's historic series Legends and Lies: The Real West, a fascinating, eye-opening look at the truth behind the western legends we all think we know

How did Davy Crockett save...


Between You & Me: Confessions of a Comma Queen

by Mary Norris

The most irreverent and helpful book on language since the #1 New York Times bestseller Eats, Shoots & Leaves.

Mary Norris has spent more than three decades in The New Yorker's copy department, maintaining...


Ashley's War

by Gayle Tzemach Lemmon

In 2010 the U.S. Army Special Operations Command created Cultural Support Teams, a pilot program to put women on the battlefield alongside Army Rangers, Green Berets, Navy SEALs, and other special operations...


American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History

by Chris Kyle, Scott McEwen & Jim Defelice

NOW A BLOCKBUSTER MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY CLINT EASTWOOD—NOMINATED FOR SIX ACADEMY AWARDS, INCLUDING BEST PICTURE

He is the deadliest American sniper ever, called “the devil” by the enemies he hunted...


A Work in Progress: A Memoir

by Connor Franta

In this intimate memoir of life beyond the camera, Connor Franta shares the lessons he has learned on his journey from small-town boy to Internet sensation—so far. Here, Connor offers a look at his Midwestern...


A Fine Romance

by Candice Bergen

In the follow-up to Knock Wood—her bestselling “engaging, intelligent, and wittily self-deprecating autobiography” (The New York Times)—Candice Bergen shares the big events: her marriage to a famous...


A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life

by Brian Grazer & Charles Fishman

From Academy Award–winning producer Brian Grazer and acclaimed business journalist Charles Fishman comes a brilliantly entertaining peek into the weekly “curiosity conversations” that have inspired Grazer...


A Brief History of Time

by Stephen Hawking

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A landmark volume in science writing by one of the great minds of our time, Stephen Hawking’s book explores such profound questions as: How did the universe begin—and what made...


Comments (0 comments)


No comment yet. Sign in to post a comment.