NY Times Best Sellers - Non-Fiction (31 books)

Sort

As Listed

Most Popular

Publication Date

A-Z

Z-A

 

Related Lists

A selection of...

Fun with Science!

The New York T...

Every week, the New York Times publishes a list of best selling non-fiction books in the US. This list aggregates : Hardcover Non-Fiction and Non-Fiction Paperpack best sellers.

 

The Devil in the White City: A Saga of Magic and Murder at the Fair that Changed America

Edgar Allan Poe Award Best Fact Crime 2004

by Erik Larson

Erik Larson—author of #1 bestseller IN THE GARDEN OF BEASTS—intertwines the true tale of the 1893 World's Fair and the cunning serial killer who used the fair to lure his victims to their death. Combining...


Alexander Hamilton

by Ron Chernow

New York Times Bestseller, and the inspiration for the hit Broadway musical Hamilton!

Pulitzer Prize-winning author Ron Chernow presents a landmark biography of Alexander Hamilton, the Founding Father who...


Outliers: The Story of Success

by Malcolm Gladwell

There is a story that is usually told about extremely successful people, a story that focuses on intelligence and ambition. Gladwell argues that the true story of success is very different, and that if we want...


The Other Wes Moore: One Name, Two Fates

by Wes Moore

BONUS: This edition contains a new afterword and a The Other Wes Moore discussion guide.

The chilling truth is that his story could have been mine. The tragedy is that my story could have been his.

Two kids named...


The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Wellcome Book Prize 2010

by Rebecca Skloot

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor black tobacco farmer whose cells—taken without her knowledge in 1951—became one of the most important...


Killing Kennedy

by Bill O'Reilly & Martin Dugard

A riveting historical narrative of the shocking events surrounding the assassination of John F. Kennedy, and the follow-up to mega-bestselling author Bill O'Reilly's Killing Lincoln

More than a million readers...


The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We do in Life and Business

by Charles Duhigg

OVER 60 WEEKS ON THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER LIST

With a new Afterword by the author

 

In The Power of Habit, Pulitzer Prize–winning business reporter Charles Duhigg takes us to the thrilling edge of scientific...


The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

by DanielJames Brown

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany, the inspiration for the PBS documentary The Boys of '36, broadcast to coincide with the 2016 Summer Olympics and the...


Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption

by Bryan Stevenson

#1 New York Times Bestseller | Named one of the Best Books of the Year by The New York Times • The Washington Post • The Boston Globe • The Seattle Times • Esquire • Time

 

Winner of the Carnegie...


Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania

by Erik Larson

#1 New York Times Bestseller

From the bestselling author and master of narrative nonfiction comes the enthralling story of the sinking of the Lusitania

On May 1, 1915, with WWI entering its tenth month, a luxury...


Killing Reagan

by Bill O'Reilly & Martin Dugard

From the bestselling team of Bill O'Reilly and Martin Dugard comes Killing Reagan, a page-turning epic account of the career of President Ronald Reagan that tells the vivid story of his rise to power -- and...


The Wright Brothers

by David McCullough

The #1 New York Times bestseller from David McCullough, two-time winner of the Pulitzer Prize—the dramatic story-behind-the-story about the courageous brothers who taught the world how to fly—Wilbur and...


Modern Romance

by Aziz Ansari & Eric Klinenberg

Now a New York Times Bestseller

A hilarious, thoughtful, and in-depth exploration of the pleasures and perils of modern romance from one of this generation’s sharpest comedic voices

At some point, every one...


Between the World and Me: Notes on the First 150 Years in America

Kirkus Prize for Nonfiction 2015, National Book Award for Non-Fiction 2015

by Ta-Nehisi Coates

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER | NAACP IMAGE AWARD WINNER | PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST | NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST | NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY...


The Oregon Trail: A New American Journey

by Rinker Buck

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • #1 Indie Next Pick • Winner of the PEN New England Award

“Enchanting…A book filled with so much love…Long before Oregon, Rinker Buck has convinced us that the best way...


Bill O'Reilly's Legends and Lies: The Patriots

by David Fisher

The must-have companion to Bill O'Reilly's historical docudrama Legends and Lies: The Patriots, an exciting and eye-opening look at the Revolutionary War through the lives of its leaders

The American Revolution...


Shoe Dog: A Memoir by the Creator of Nike

by Phil Knight

In this candid and riveting memoir, for the first time ever, Nike founder and board chairman Phil Knight shares the inside story of the company’s early days as an intrepid start-up and its evolution into one...


How to Ruin Everything: Essays

by George Watsky

"Funny, subversive, and able to excavate such brutally honest sentences that you find yourself nodding your head in wonder and recognition."

—Lin-Manuel Miranda, composer and lyricist of In the Heights and...


Every Little Step

by Bobby Brown & Nick Chiles

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

In Every Little Step, Brown will for the first time tell the full story of his life and set the record straight, particularly about his relationship with Whitney Houston.

Bobby Brown...


Invisible Influence: The Hidden Forces that Shape Behavior

by Jonah Berger

The New York Times bestselling author of Contagious explores the subtle, secret influences that affect the decisions we make—from what we buy, to the careers we choose, to what we eat—in this fascinating...


The Gene

by Siddhartha Mukherjee

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning, bestselling author of The Emperor of All Maladies—a magnificent history of the gene and a response to the defining question of the future: What...


Grunt: The Curious Science of Humans at War

by Mary Roach

A New York Times Bestseller

"America's funniest science writer" (Washington Post) Mary Roach explores the science of keeping human beings intact, awake, sane, uninfected, and uninfested in the bizarre and extreme...


Valiant Ambition: George Washington, Benedict Arnold, and the Fate of the American Revolution

by Nathaniel Philbrick

"Valiant Ambition may be one of the greatest what-if books of the age—a volume that turns one of America’s best-known narratives on its head.”

—Boston Globe

"Clear and insightful, it consolidates his reputation...


Five Presidents: My Extraordinary Journey with Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, and Ford

by Clint Hill & Lisa McCubbin

A rare and fascinating portrait of the American presidency from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Mrs. Kennedy and Me and Five Days in November.

Secret Service agent Clint Hill brings history intimately...


But What If We're Wrong?: Thinking About the Present As If It Were the Past

by Chuck Klosterman

But What If We’re Wrong? visualizes the contemporary world as it will appear to those who'll perceive it as the distant past. Chuck Klosterman asks questions that are profound in their simplicity: How certain...


Red Platoon: A True Story of American Valor

by Clinton Romesha

"A vitally important story that needs to be understood by the public, and I cannot imagine an account that does it better justice that Romesha's." —Sebastian Junger, journalist and author of The Perfect...


Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance

by Angela Duckworth

In this instant New York Times bestseller, pioneering psychologist Angela Duckworth shows anyone striving to succeed—be it parents, students, educators, athletes, or business people—that the secret to outstanding...


When Breath Becomes Air

by Paul Kalanithi & Abraham Verghese

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic...


The Rainbow Comes and Goes

by Anderson Cooper & Gloria Vanderbilt

A touching and intimate correspondence between Anderson Cooper and his mother, Gloria Vanderbilt, offering timeless wisdom and a revealing glimpse into their lives

Though Anderson Cooper has always considered...


The Rise and Fall of Nations: Forces of Change in the Post-Crisis World

by Ruchir Sharma

New York Times Bestseller

"Quite simply the best guide to the global economy today."—Fareed Zakaria

Shaped by his twenty-five years traveling the world, and enlivened by encounters with villagers from Rio...


The Romanovs: 1613-1918

by Simon Sebag Montefiore

The Romanovs were the most successful dynasty of modern times, ruling a sixth of the world’s surface for three centuries. How did one family turn a war-ruined principality into the world’s greatest empire?...


Comments (0 comments)


No comment yet. Sign in to post a comment.