Fish out of water (19 books)

Sort

As Listed

Most Popular

Publication Date

A-Z

Z-A

 

Related Lists

Nom Nom Nom

Life is a trip...

Ever dreamed of dropping everything and moving somewhere completely different? Stoke your wanderlust fires or revel in the comfort of home with these books.

 

Slipping into Paradise: Why I Live in New Zealand

by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson

In the tradition of Under the Tuscan Sun and A Year in Provence, here is Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson’s ode to his personal paradise–his adopted home, New Zealand. After living in California, why did Masson...


Country Matters

by Michael Korda & Success Research Cor

With his inimitable sense of humor and storytelling talent, New York Times bestselling author Michael Korda brings us this charming, hilarious, self-deprecating memoir of a city couple's new life in the country....


A Year in Provence

by Peter Mayle

National Bestseller 

In this witty and warm-hearted account, Peter Mayle tells what it is like to realize a long-cherished dream and actually move into a 200-year-old stone farmhouse in the remote country of...


Schlepping Through the Alps: My Search for Austria's Jewish Past with Its Last Wandering Shepherd

by Sam Apple

Hans Breuer, Austria’s only wandering shepherd, is also a Yiddish folksinger. He walks the Alps, shepherd’s stick in hand, singing lullabies to his 625 sheep. Sometimes he even gives concerts in historically...


The Caliph's House

by Tahir Shah

In the tradition of A Year in Provence and Under the Tuscan Sun, acclaimed English travel writer Tahir Shah shares a highly entertaining account of making an exotic dream come true. By turns hilarious and harrowing,...


A Year on Ladybug Farm

by Donna Ball

Their husbands were gone, their families were grown, and the future stretched out before them like an unfulfilled promise...

Tired of always dreaming and never doing, Cici, Lindsay, and Bridget make a life-altering...


Under the Tuscan Sun

by Frances Mayes

A CLASSIC FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF UNDER MAGNOLIA

Frances Mayes—widely published poet, gourmet cook, and travel writer—opens the door to a wondrous new world when she buys and restores an abandoned...


The Sweet Life in Paris: Delicious Adventures in the World's Most Glorious - and Perplexing - City

by David Lebovitz

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF MY PARIS KITCHEN

Like so many others, David Lebovitz dreamed about living in Paris ever since he first visited the city in the 1980s. Finally, after a nearly two-decade career...


A Good Year

by Peter Mayle

The writer with a claim to being the world’s foremost literary escape artist is back, with an intoxicating novel about the business and pleasure of wine, set in his beloved Provence. Max Skinner has recently...


An Embarrassment of Mangoes: A Caribbean Interlude

by Ann Vanderhoof

Under the Tuscan Sun meets the wide-open sea . . . An Embarrassment of Mangoes is a delicious chronicle of leaving the type-A lifestyle behind -- and discovering the seductive secrets of life in the Caribbean....


Lunch in Paris: A Love Story, with Recipes

by Elizabeth Bard

In Paris for a weekend visit, Elizabeth Bard sat down to lunch with a handsome Frenchman--and never went home again.

Was it love at first sight? Or was it the way her knife slid effortlessly through her pavé...


Kinky Gazpacho: Life, Love & Spain

by Lori Tharps

Magazine writer and editor Lori Tharps was born and raised in the comfortable but mostly White suburbs of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, where she was often the only person of color in her school and neighborhood. At...


Taking Root in Provence

by Anne-Marie Simons & Pierre Grenier

They agreed on one thing before retiring-they would travel, sniff around at other countries and other lifestyles, and discover along the way which place came closest to "having it all." There they would drop...


Without Reservations: The Travels of an Independent Woman

by Alice Steinbach

Paris

Dear Alice,

Each morning I am awakened by the sound of a tinkling bell. A cheerful sound, it reminds me of the bells that shopkeepers attach to their doors at Christmastime. In this case, the bell marks...


Fifty Acres and a Poodle: A Story of Love, Livestock, and Finding Myself on a Farm

by Jeanne Marie Laskas

Jeanne Marie Laskas had dreams of life on a farm that she couldn't get out of her head. A dream of fleeing her otherwise happy urban life for fresh air and open space. A dream she would discover was about something...


Seven Seasons in Siena: My Quixotic Quest for Acceptance Among Tuscany's Proudest People

by Robert Rodi

Siena seems at first glance a typical Italian city: within its venerable medieval walls the citizens sport designer clothes, wield digital phones, and prize their dazzling local cuisine. But unlike neighboring...


Poor Man's Provence: Finding Myself in Cajun Louisiana

by Rheta Grimsley Johnson & Bailey White

For over a decade, syndicated columnist Rheta Grimsley Johnson has been spending several months a year in Southwest Louisiana, deep in the heart of Cajun Country. Unlike many other writers who have parachuted...


A Year in the Merde

by Stephen Clarke

An urban antidote to A Year in Provence, Stephen Clarke's book is a

laugh-out-loud account of a year in the life of an expat in Paris-for

Francophiles and Francophobes alike.


In Arabian Nights

by Tahir Shah

Tahir Shah’s The Caliph’s House, describing his first year in Casablanca, was hailed by critics and compared to such travel classics as A Year in Provence and Under the Tuscan Sun. Now Shah takes us deeper...


Comments (0 comments)


No comment yet. Sign in to post a comment.