Good books to read over tea on an autumn day (25 books)

Sort

As Listed

Most Popular

Publication Date

A-Z

Z-A

 

Related Lists

High School Re...

Banned Classics

Movies

Some books to read when the summer is over, the leaves become full of colors, and you get to warm up with a few more layers over a nice cup of tea watching the rain falls down through the window.

 

Frankenstein

by Mary Shelley

Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus, generally known as Frankenstein, is a novel written by the British author Mary Shelley. The title of the novel refers to a scientist, Victor Frankenstein, who learns...

The House of Silk: A Sherlock Holmes Novel

by Anthony Horowitz

For the first time in its one-hundred-and-twenty-five-year history, the Arthur Conan Doyle Estate has authorized a new Sherlock Holmes novel.

Once again, THE GAME'S AFOOT...

London, 1890. 221B Baker St. A fine...


Kept in the Dark: A Novel

by Penny Hancock

At the house next door, respectability can hide all manner of sins

Fans of  New York Times bestsellers Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins, and The Silent Wife by A.S.A. Harrison...


Winter of the World

The Century Trilogy #2

by Ken Follett

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Picking up where Fall of Giants, the first novel in the extraordinary Century Trilogy, left off, Winter of the World follows its five interrelated families—American, German,...


Whispers Under Ground

Rivers of London #3

by Ben Aaronovitch

A WHOLE NEW REASON TO MIND THE GAP

 

It begins with a dead body at the far end of Baker Street tube station, all that remains of American exchange student James Gallagher—and the victim’s wealthy, politically...


Something Red: A Novel

by Douglas Nicholas

From debut author Douglas Nicholas comes a haunting story of love, murder, and sorcery.

During the thirteenth century in northwest England, in one of the coldest winters in living memory, a formidable yet charming...


Incarnation

by Emma Cornwall

In the steampunk world of Victorian London, a beautiful vampire seeks out the author of Dracula–to set the record straight . . .

If one is to believe Bram Stoker’s legendary vampire tale, Lucy Weston is...


Joseph Anton: A Memoir

by Salman Rushdie

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY

San Francisco Chronicle • Newsweek/The Daily Beast • The Seattle Times • The Economist • Kansas City Star • BookPage

On February 14, 1989, Valentine’s Day,...


Low Pressure

by Sandra Brown

Bellamy Lyston was only 12 years old when her older sister Susan was killed on a stormy Memorial Day. Bellamy's fear of storms is a legacy of the tornado that destroyed the crime scene along with her memory...


Mystic City

Mystic City #1

by Theo Lawrence

For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels....


The White Forest: A Novel

by Adam McOmber

In this hauntingly original debut novel about a young woman whose peculiar abilities help her infiltrate a mysterious secret society, Adam McOmber uses fantastical twists and dark turns to create a fast-paced,...


Widow's Web

Elemental Assassin #7

by Jennifer Estep

The seventh book in the hugely popular Elemental Assassin series by New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Jennifer Estep—Gin Blanco is back and ready for action.

I used to murder people for money,...


Gone Girl: A Novel

by Gillian Flynn

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s...


Wards of Faerie: The Dark Legacy of Shannara

The Dark Legacy of Shannara #1

by Terry Brooks

Seven years after the conclusion of the High Druid of Shannara trilogy, New York Times bestselling author Terry Brooks at last revisits one of the most popular eras in the legendary epic fantasy series that...


The Lost Prince: A Novel

by Selden Edwards

The Lost Prince can stand independently of The Little Book … but why deprive yourself of the pleasures of reading both?” —Booklist

Recently returned from fin de siècle Vienna, where she tragically...


Hide Me Among the Graves

by Tim Powers

From Last Call to On Stranger Tides to Declare to Three Days to Never, any book by the inimitable Tim Powers is a wonder. With Hide Me Among the Graves, it’s possible that the uniquely ingenious Powers has...


The Zenith: A Novel

by Duong Thu Huong & Stephen B. Young

A major new novel from the most important Vietnamese author writing today

Duong Thu Huong has won acclaim for her exceptional lyricism and psychological acumen, as well as for her unflinching portraits of modern...


The Eternal Flame

Orthogonal #2

by Greg Egan

Greg Egan’s The Clockwork Rocket introduced readers to an exotic universe where the laws of physics are very different from our own, where the speed of light varies in ways Einstein would never allow, and...


Crackpot Palace

by Jeffrey Ford

“Jeffrey Ford is one of the few writers who uses wonder instead of ink in his pen….A rare and wonderful talent.”

—Jonathan Carroll, author of The Wooden Sea

Eclectic is certainly an adjective that can...


The Light Between Oceans: A Novel

by M.L. Stedman

The years-long New York Times bestseller and major motion picture from Spielberg’s Dreamworks is “irresistible…seductive…with a high concept plot that keeps you riveted from the first page” (O, The...


The Diviners

by Libba Bray

Do you believe there are ghosts and demons and Diviners among us?

Evie O'Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City--and she is pos-i-tute-ly...


The Sandcastle Girls: A Novel

by Chris Bohjalian

Over the course of his career, New York Times bestselling novelist Chris Bohjalian has taken readers on a spectacular array of journeys. Midwives brought us to an isolated Vermont farmhouse on an icy winter’s...


The Map of the Sky

Victorian Trilogy #2

by Félix J. Palma

The fate of the earth hangs in the balance as H.G. Wells’ The War of the Worlds is transformed from the work of one writer’s imagination into a terrifying reality for all mankind.

1898. New York socialite...


Devil's Wake: A Novel

by Steven Barnes & Tananarive Due

What happens when an unprecedented infection sweeps the world, leaving the earth on the brink of the Apocalypse?

But this infection goes far beyond disease. Beyond even the nightmare images of walking dead or...


The Tower Mill

by James Moloney

A gripping family drama that plays out against a turbulent and controversial political era, this book tells the tale of Susan Kinnane. She is the precocious daughter of conservative parents who spurns the attention...


Comments (0 comments)


No comment yet. Sign in to post a comment.