Annals of the Western Shore (3 books)


As Listed

Most Popular

Publication Date



The books in the trilogy share the same imaginary world; their plots are set among small city states and independent polities, in a fertile region on the western shore of a continental land mass, in an otherwise unspecified world. The culture is at a generally medieval level, with traditional crafts but no advanced technology. The three books share some characters; the protagonists in Gifts reappear… (more)



Annals of the Western Shore #1

by Ursula K. Le Guin

Scattered among poor, desolate farms, the clans of the Uplands possess gifts. Wondrous gifts: the ability--with a glance, a gesture, a word--to summon animals, bring forth fire, move the land. Fearsome gifts:...


Annals of the Western Shore #2

by Ursula K. Le Guin

Ansul was once a peaceful town filled with libraries, schools, and temples. But that was long ago, and the conquerors of this coastal city consider reading and writing to be acts punishable by death. And they...


Annals of the Western Shore #3

Nebula Award for Best Novel 2009

by Ursula K. Le Guin

A haunting and complex coming-of-age tale from master storyteller Ursula K. Le Guin, this is the third book in the Annals of the Western Shore Sequence, which began with Gifts and continued with Voices.

Comments (0 comments)

No comment yet. Sign in to post a comment.