Mystery & Detective

Awards

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Mystery & Detective

 

In category

Suspense (42)

Women Sleuths (23)

Hard-Boiled (13)

Historical (13)

Police Procedural (8)

Traditional British (1)

 

Origin

English (152)

Nordic (3)

Australian, pacific, oceanian and polynesian (2)

 

Language

English (194)

French (5)

German (0)

Spanish (15)

Italian (15)

 

Protection

All (194)

DRM Free (3)

DRM (191)

More options

The Long and Faraway Gone

Edgar Allan Poe Award Best Paperback Original 2016

by Lou Berney

With the compelling narrative tension and psychological complexity of the works of Laura Lippman, Dennis Lehane, Kate Atkinson, and Michael Connelly, Edgar Award-nominee Lou Berney’s The Long and Faraway Gone...


Let Me Die in His Footsteps

Edgar Allan Poe Award Best novel 2016

by Lori Roy

In the spellbinding and suspenseful Let Me Die in His Footsteps, Edgar Award winner for Best Novel, author Lori Roy wrests from a Southern town the secrets of two families touched by an evil that has passed...


Dry Bones in the Valley: A Novel

Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Mystery/Thriller 2014

by Tom Bouman

Winner of the 2015 Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Mystery/Thriller and Winner of the 2015 Edgar Award for Best First Novel.

When an elderly recluse discovers a corpse on his land, Officer Henry Farrell is...


This Dark Road to Mercy

Gold Dagger Award 2014

by Wiley Cash

The critically acclaimed author of the New York Times bestseller A Land More Kind Than Home—hailed as "a powerfully moving debut that reads as if Cormac McCarthy decided to rewrite Harper Lee's To Kill a Mockingbird...


The Wicked Girls: A Novel

Edgar Allan Poe Award Best Paperback Original 2014

by Alex Marwood

“The suspense keeps the pages flying, but what sets this one apart is the palpable sense of onrushing doom.” —Stephen King, “The Best Books I Read This Year,” Entertainment Weekly

Alex Marwood’s...


Red Sparrow: A Novel

Dominika Egorova & Nathaniel Nash #1

Edgar Allan Poe Award Best First Novel 2014

by Jason Matthews

In the tradition of John le Carré, the bestselling, impossible-to-put-down, espionage thriller that is “a primer in twenty-first century spying” (The New York Times Book Review), written with the insider...


Ordinary Grace: A Novel

Edgar Allan Poe Award Best novel 2014

by William Kent Krueger

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

WINNER OF THE 2014 EDGAR AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL

WINNER OF THE 2014 DILYS AWARD

A SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL BEST BOOK OF 2013

“That was it. That was all of it. A grace so ordinary there was...


Bad Country

Tony Hillerman Prize 2013

by C. B. McKenzie

Winner of the Tony Hillerman Prize, winner of the Spur Award for Best Western Contemporary Novel, a finalist for the Shamus Award for Best First P.I. Novel, and a finalist for the Edgar Award for Best First...


Death Al Dente

Food Lovers' Village Mysteries #1

Agatha Award for Best First Novel 2013

by Leslie Budewitz

FIRST IN THE NEW CULINARY MYSTERY SERIES!--WINNER OF THE AGATHA AWARD FOR BEST FIRST NOVEL

The town of Jewel Bay, Montana—known as a Food Lovers' Village—is obsessed with homegrown and homemade Montana fare....


A Question of Honor

Bess Crawford #5

Agatha Award for Best Historical Novel 2013

by Charles Todd

In the latest mystery from New York Times bestselling author Charles Todd, World War I nurse and amateur sleuth Bess Crawford investigates an old murder that occurred during her childhood in India, a search...


The Cuckoo's Calling

Cormoran Strike #1

Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Mystery/Thriller 2013

by Robert Galbraith

A brilliant debut mystery in a classic vein: Detective Cormoran Strike investigates a supermodel's suicide.

After losing his leg to a land mine in Afghanistan, Cormoran Strike is barely scraping by as a private...


Ghostman

Jack White #1

CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger 2013

by Roger Hobbs

Stunningly dark, hugely intelligent and thoroughly addictive, Ghostman announces the arrival of an exciting and highly distinctive novelist.

When a casino robbery in Atlantic City goes horribly awry, the man...


Don't Ever Get Old

Macavity Best First Mystery Novel 2013

by Daniel Friedman

When Buck Schatz, senior citizen and retired Memphis cop, learns that an old adversary may have escaped Germany with a fortune in stolen gold, Buck decides to hunt down the fugitive and claim the loot. But a...


Black Fridays: A Novel

Jason Stafford #1

Shamus Best First P.I. Novel 2013

by Michael Sears

One of Booklist's "Year's Best Crime Novels"

After two years in federal prison, Jason Stafford is no longer welcome on Wall Street. But due to his financial crime expertise, one firm wants him to quietly look...


Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Novel

Maggie Hope #1

Barry Best Paperback Original 2013

by Susan Elia Macneal

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge—and the greatness that rose to meet it.

London, 1940. Winston...


And She Was: A Novel of Suspense

Brenna Spector #1

Shamus Best P.I. Paperback Original 2013

by Alison Gaylin

“A deftly plotted, completely involving novel with one of the most memorable protagonists to come along in years.”

—Laura Lippman

“Label me a big fan.”

—Harlan Coben

Edgar® Award nominated author Alison...


Taken

Shamus Best P.I. Hardcover 2013

by Robert Crais

When Elvis Cole and Joe Pike are hired to find her missing girl, the investigation derails into a nightmare. Cole himself disappears and it’s left to Pike to burn through the deadly world of human traffickers...


Gods and Beasts: A Novel

Alex Morrow #3

Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2013

by Denise Mina

It's the week before Christmas when a lone robber bursts into a busy Glasgow post office carrying an AK-47. An elderly man suddenly hands his young grandson to a stranger and wordlessly helps the gunman fill...


Live by Night

Coughlin #2

Edgar Allan Poe Award Best novel 2013

by Dennis Lehane

From New York Times bestselling author Dennis Lehane comes this epic, unflinching tale of the making and unmaking of a gangster in the Prohibition Era of the Roaring Twenties—soon to be a Warner Bros. movie...


The Expats: A Novel

Edgar Allan Poe Award Best First Novel 2013

by Chris Pavone

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

EDGAR AWARD WINNER  *  ANTHONY AWARD WINNER

BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE ACCIDENT

Can we ever escape our secrets?

In the cobblestoned streets of Luxembourg, Kate Moore's days are filled...