Mystery & Detective

Awards / Page 2

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Mystery & Detective

 

In category

Suspense (40)

Women Sleuths (22)

Hard-Boiled (14)

Historical (12)

Police Procedural (9)

Traditional British (1)

 

Origin

English (153)

Australian, pacific, oceanian and polynesian (2)

Nordic (2)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (196)

French (6)

German (0)

Spanish (17)

Italian (7)

 

Protection

All (196)

DRM Free (2)

DRM (194)

More options

A Bad Night's Sleep

Joe Kozmarski #3

Shamus Best P.I. Hardcover 2012

by Michael Wiley

Winner of the Shamus Award for Best Novel

Working late-night surveillance at a luxury condominium development, Chicago private investigator Joe Kozmarski encounters a burglary crew. Two of the crew members show...


Fun and Games

Charlie Hardie #1

Shamus Best P.I. Paperback Original 2012

by Duane Swierczynski

The first of three explosive pulp thrillers arriving back-to-back from cult crime fiction sensation and Marvel Comics scribe Duane Swierczynski.

Charlie Hardie, an ex-cop still reeling from the revenge killing...


Death of the Mantis: A Detective Kubu Mystery

Detective Kubu #3

Barry Best Paperback Original 2012

by Michael Stanley

In the southern Kalahari area of Botswana—an arid landscape of legends that speak of lost cities, hidden wealth, and ancient gods—a fractious ranger named Monzo is found dying from a severe head wound in...


The Informant: An Otto Penzler Book

The Butcher's Boy #3

Barry Best Thriller 2012

by Thomas Perry

The Butcher's Boy is back! Thomas Perry's vengeful assassin has returned to play a deadly psychological game with Elizabeth Waring, the only Justice Department official who ever believed he existed. Can these...


Claire DeWitt and the City of the Dead

Claire DeWitt #1

Macavity Best Mystery Novel 2012

by Sara Gran

In the first of a new mystery series featuring quirky private investigator Claire DeWitt, Claire investigates the disappearance of a top prosecutor in post-Katrina New Orleans.


The End of the Wasp Season: A Novel

Alex Morrow #2

Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2012

by Denise Mina

When a notorious millionaire banker hangs himself, his death attracts no sympathy. But the legacy of a lifetime of selfishness is widespread, and the carnage most acute among those he ought to be protecting:...


Naughty In Nice

Her Royal Spyness Mysteries #5

Agatha Award for Best Historical Novel 2011

by Rhys Bowen

Royalty has its privileges, even when you’re thirty-fourth in line to the throne, as Lady Georgiana Rannoch discovers on the glamorous—and dangerous—French Riviera…

Why should my clueless brother, Binky,...


Long Time Coming: A Novel

Edgar Allan Poe Award Best Paperback Original 2011

by Robert Goddard

A classic thriller with Goddard's trademark plot twists.

In Antwerp in 1939, a Jewish diamond trader flees Nazi Europe, leaving his priceless collection of Picasso paintings and diamonds with a friend who takes...


City of Saints

Tony Hillerman Prize 2011

by Andrew Hunt

To the outside observer, Salt Lake City might seem to be the squeaky-clean “City of Saints”—its nickname since Mormon pioneers first arrived. Its wide roads, huge Mormon temple topped by a horn-blowing...


Rogue Island

Liam Mulligan #1

Edgar Allan Poe Award Best First Novel 2011, Macavity Best First Mystery Novel 2011

by Bruce DeSilva

2011 Edgar Award Winner for Best First Novel

Liam Mulligan is as old school as a newspaper man gets. His beat is Providence, Rhode Island, and he knows every street and alley. He knows the priests and prostitutes,...


Snakes Can't Run

Asian American Literary Award 2011

by Ed Lin

An epic of New York Chinatown noir in the vein of George Pelecanos and Richard Price, this is the riveting sequel to the highly acclaimed This Is a Bust It’s a hot summer in New York’s Chinatown in 1976...


No Mercy: A Mystery

Mercy Gunderson #1

Shamus Best P.I. Hardcover 2011

by Lori Armstrong

From award-winning author Lori Armstrong comes a gripping tale of brutal murder, as former army sniper Mercy Gunderson learns anew when she returns to the family ranch that, for the weak, the western plains...


In Search of Mercy

Shamus Best First P.I. Novel 2011

by Michael Ayoob

Winner of the Shamus Award for Best First Novel

Dexter Bolzjak is an ex–hockey goalie who was abducted and tortured by perverted sports fans eight years ago. Now he’s muddling along in a Pittsburgh warehouse...


The Poacher's Son

Mike Bowditch #1

Barry Best First Novel 2011

by Paul Doiron

Set in the wilds of Maine, this is an explosive tale of an estranged son thrust into the hunt for a murderous fugitive---his own father.

Game warden Mike Bowditch returns home one evening to find an alarming...


The Woodcutter

Barry Best British Novel 2011

by Reginald Hill

Wolf Hadda’s life has been a fairy tale. From his humble origins as a Cumbrian woodcutter’s son, he has risen to become a hugely successful entrepreneur, happily married to the woman of his dreams.

A knock...


The Lock Artist

Edgar Allan Poe Award Best novel 2011, Barry Best Novel 2011, CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger 2011

by Steve Hamilton

"I was the Miracle Boy, once upon a time. Later on, the Milford Mute. The Golden Boy. The Young Ghost. The Kid. The Boxman. The Lock Artist. That was all me.But you can call me Mike."  Marked by tragedy, traumatized...


Learning to Swim: A Novel

Agatha Award for Best First Novel 2011

by Sara J Henry

Winner of the Anthony Award for Best First Novel, the Agatha Award for Best First Novel, and the Mary Higgins Clark Award

   When she sees what looks like a child tumbling from a ferry into frigid Lake Champlain,...


Three-Day Town

Deborah Knott #17

Agatha Award for Best Novel 2011

by Margaret Maron

Three-Day Town is the winner of the Agatha award for best novel.

After a year of marriage, Judge Deborah Knott and Sheriff's Deputy Dwight Bryant are off to New York City for a long-delayed honeymoon. January...


The Killer Is Dying

Hammett Prize 2011

by James Sallis

A hired killer on his final job, a burned-out detective whose wife is dying slowly and in agony, a young boy abandoned by his parents and living alone by his wits. Three people, solitary and sundered from society....


Truth

Miles Franklin Award 2010

by Peter Temple

Inspector Stephen Villani, head of homicide in Melbourne, Australia, has a full agenda: a murdered woman in a penthouse apartment, three men butchered in a sadistic rampage, a tattoofaced drug dealer corrupting...