Non-Fiction

Awards / Page 3

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Non-Fiction

 

In category

Biography & autobiography (107)

History (92)

Social science (41)

Science and Technics (14)

Nature, recreation and sports (9)

Business & economics (8)

News and investigations (7)

Human Science (6)

Travel (5)

Literary collections (5)

Arts (4)

Juvenile (4)

Health & fitness (4)

Humor (3)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (279)

French (3)

German (0)

Spanish (11)

Italian (12)

 

Protection

All (279)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (279)

More options

Dazzled and Deceived: Mimicry and Camouflage

Warwick Prize for Writing 2011

by Peter Forbes

Nature has perfected the art of deception. Thousands of creatures all over the world - including butterflies, moths, fish, birds, insects and snakes - have honed and practised camouflage over hundreds of millions...


A Life in Pictures

Saltire Award for Scottish Book of the Year 2011

by Alasdair Gray

Alasdair Gray is Scotland's best known polymath. Born 1934 in Glasgow, he graduated in design and mural art from Glasgow School of Art in 1957. After decades of surviving by painting and writing TV and radio...


Thinking, Fast and Slow

Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Current Interest 2011

by Daniel Kahneman

Major New York Times bestsellerWinner of the National Academy of Sciences Best Book Award in 2012Selected by the New York Times Book Review as one of the best books of 2011A Globe and Mail Best Books of the...


Grand Pursuit: The Story of Economic Genius

Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Science and Technology 2011

by Sylvia Nasar

In a sweeping narrative, the author of the megabestseller A Beautiful Mind takes us on a journey through modern history with the men and women who changed the lives of every single person on the planet. It’s...


Clarence Darrow: Attorney for the Damned

Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Biography 2011

by John A. Farrell

Drawing on untapped archives and full of fresh revelations, here is the definitive biography of America’s legendary defense attorney and progressive hero.

Clarence Darrow is the lawyer every law school student...


The Hare with Amber Eyes

Ondaatje Prize 2011

by Edmund De Waal

The Ephrussis were a grand banking family, as rich and respected as the Rothschilds, who “burned like a comet” in nineteenth-century Paris and Vienna society. Yet by the end of World War II, almost the only...


Polar Imperative: A History of Arctic Sovereignty in North America

Lionel Gelber Prize 2011

by Shelagh D. D. Grant

Based on Shelagh Grant’s groundbreaking archival research and drawing on her reputation as a leading historian in the field, Polar Imperative is a compelling overview of the historical claims of sovereignty...


The Swerve: How the World Became Modern

Pulitzer Prize for General Non-Fiction 2012, National Book Award for Non-Fiction 2011

by Stephen Greenblatt

Winner of the 2012 Pulitzer Prize for Non-Fiction 

Winner of the 2011 National Book Award for Non-Fiction One of the world's most celebrated scholars, Stephen Greenblatt has crafted both an innovative work...


Books, Crooks and Counselors: How to Write Accurately About Criminal Law and Courtroom Procedure

Agatha Award for Best Non-Fiction 2011

by Leslie Budewitz

Addressing the misunderstood and misrepresented aspects of the law in today’s writing, this reliable guidebook demonstrates how to use legal concepts, terminology, and procedure to create fiction that is true...


The Fiery Trial: Abraham Lincoln and American Slavery

Pulitzer Prize for History 2011

by Eric Foner

“A masterwork [by] the preeminent historian of the Civil War era.”—Boston Globe Selected as a Notable Book of the Year by the New York Times Book Review, this landmark work gives us a definitive account...


Mao's Great Famine

Samuel Johnson Prize 2011

by Frank Dikötter

"Between 1958 and 1962, China descended into hell. Mao Zedong threw his country into a frenzy with the Great Leap Forward, an attempt to catch up to and overtake Britain in less than 15 years The experiment...


Now All Roads Lead to France

Costa Book Award for Biography 2011

by Matthew Hollis

Edward Thomas was perhaps the most beguiling and influential of First World War poets. Now All Roads Lead to France is an account of his final five years, centred on his extraordinary friendship with Robert...


The Memory Palace

National Book Critics Circle for Memoir/Autobiography 2011

by Mira Bartok

In the tradition of The Glass Castle, two sisters confront schizophrenia in this poignant literary memoir about family and mental illness. Through stunning prose and original art, The Memory Palace captures...


George F. Kennan: An American Life

Pulitzer Prize for Biography or Autobiography 2012, National Book Critics Circle for Biography 2011

by John Lewis Gaddis

Winner of the 2012 Pulitzer Prize in Biography

Widely and enthusiastically acclaimed, this is the authorized, definitive biography of one of the most fascinating but troubled figures of the twentieth century...


Liberty's Exiles: American Loyalists in the Revolutionary World

National Book Critics Circle for General Non-fiction 2011

by Maya Jasanoff

On November 25, 1783, the last British troops pulled out of New York City, bringing the American Revolution to an end. Patriots celebrated their departure and the confirmation of U.S. independence. But for tens...


The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer

Pulitzer Prize for General Non-Fiction 2011, Guardian First Book Award 2011

by Siddhartha Mukherjee

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE

The Emperor of All Maladies is a magnificent, profoundly humane “biography” of cancer—from its first documented appearances thousands of years ago through the epic battles in...


Washington: A Life

Pulitzer Prize for Biography or Autobiography 2011

by Ron Chernow

Winner of the 2011 Pulitzer Prize for Biography

Celebrated biographer Ron Chernow provides a richly nuanced portrait of the father of our nation and the first president of the United States. With a breadth and...


Direct Red: A Surgeon's View of Her Life-or-Death Profession

PEN/Ackerley Prize 2010

by Gabriel Weston

In the tradition of Atul Gawande and Sherwin B. Nuland comes an eloquent and piercing account of a young woman's surgical education.

Surgeons have long been known for their allergy to doubt, an unsurprising trait...


The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Wellcome Book Prize 2010

by Rebecca Skloot

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor black tobacco farmer whose cells—taken without her knowledge in 1951—became one of the most important...


The Boy in the Moon

RBC Taylor Prize 2010, Trillium Book Award 2010

by Ian Brown

A New York Times Top 10 Book of 2011

“[A]n intimate glimpse into the life of a family that cares around the clock for a disabled child, that gets so close to the love and despair, and the complex questions...