Editorial reviews

Mystery & Detective / Recently Added

Sort

Recently Added

Publication Date

 

Range

All Time

This Month

This Week

 

Categories

All

Literary

Mystery & Detective

Thrillers

Fantasy

Science Fiction

Biography & autobiography

Bosstown
Kirkus Reviews : Bosstown (August 08, 2017)

This entertaining-enough thriller is built on a social history of a flawed American city.


The Last Tudor

Tedium is inevitable as we watch these Tudor heirs wait.


The Good Daughter

It’s hard to think of any writer since Flannery O’Connor, referenced at several key moments here, who’s succeeded as consistently as Slaughter at using horrific violence to evoke pity and terror. Whether she’s extending her franchise or creating stand-alones like this, she really does make your hair stand on end.


Among the Dead

A procedural with a complex heroine and a torrid pace. This series kickoff is at once credible, moving, and suspenseful.


The Color of Fear

More seasonal goodwill (think of a rainbow-cast remake of It’s a Wonderful Life) than misdirection in a story that perfectly illustrates its heroine’s bromide: “When you think about it, all crimes are stupid.”


Beneath the Depths

A sturdy, starchy police procedural most likely to appeal to readers with a hearty appetite for police routine.


I Found You: A Novel

I found myself unable to stop reading it and remain impressed with how well Ms. Jewell is able to make us care about her characters.


The White Road

The White Road will make for a great book club selection given its many areas open for discussion left by Ms. Lotz. It also makes for a great summer read as it takes you to places you most likely will never experience all from the comfort of your home.


The Child

If you enjoyed The Widow you will definitely love The Child. Barton employs the same quick pace and careful attention to detail in her second outing.


Since We Fell

While I definitely think that first half gives the reader a chance to understand Rachel and her life leading up to that point, and it does make more sense by the time the book is finished, I'd argue that it could have been pared down at least a little a bit.


My Sister's Bones

My Sister's Bones is a hard one to put down!


Betrayal at Iga: A Hiro Hattori Novel

Betrayal at Iga is the fifth Hiro Hattori/shinobi mystery but can very easily be read as a stand alone or introduction to the series.


Bring Her Home

The book has twists galore, and more than a few of them are easily predicted. But in spite of that, Bring Her Home was still a perfect afternoon escape!


Blame

Summer isn’t over yet. Fans of Laura Lippman, Harlan Coben, and Paula Hawkins will enjoy reading Blame on the beach or poolside. The shortcomings of the book are easily outnumbered by its strengths and virtues. Moments of short-term, benign forgetfulness will never seem more innocent.


Dark Saturday

A welcome return to form after the heroine’s overwrought, undernourishing last adventure (Friday on My Mind, 2016), even if the continuing villains smack more than ever of a soap opera that just won’t end.


Tornado Weather

A cacophonous debut.


The Third Nero

The Roman sleuth’s fifth case rambles in its opening chapters, running mostly on the charm of its heroine, until the plot settles into a murder probe.


The Woman From Prague

“At least now there’s some momentum,” the hero reflects in a rare quiet moment after a beating leaves him aching and nursing a broken nose. Whatever you think of his here-today-gone-tomorrow fortunes, you have to admire that Zenlike attitude toward the work that isn’t even his chosen career.


Another Man's Ground

The second in Booth’s regional crime series (The Branson Beauty, 2016) is both an excellent police procedural and a surprisingly humorous look at politics and family feuds.


Domina
Kirkus Reviews : Domina (July 11, 2017)

This is a series of vignettes, not a novel, poorly strung together by a litany of fine clothing and even finer art and punctuated by uncomfortably sticky sexual encounters.