Editorial reviews

Recently Added

Sort

Recently Added

Publication Date

 

Range

All Time

This Month

This Week

 

Categories

All

Literary

Mystery & Detective

Thrillers

Fantasy

Science Fiction

Biography & autobiography

Tropic of Violence

Searing, lyrical, and ultimately devastating, Appanah’s latest novel might be her finest yet.


The Other Bennet Sister

In The Other Bennet Sister, Hadlow builds an immersive and engaging new version of a familiar world; her approach feels at once true to the source material and to life.


Untold Night and Day

To read this novel of shrouded pilgrimages is also to arrive at a meaning that is “bewitching, and utterly private, a secret for me, a single ship, a single concealed place”.


The Dominant Animal

This is a delightful, mischievous, and mysterious collection that’s perfect for fans of Lydia Davis and Mary Ruefle.


Strange Hotel

Strange Hotel is a finely controlled, complex and emotionally absorbing novel that manages to burrow deep into the heart of something essential about the human experiences of love and loss.


Strange Hotel

Reading Strange Hotel is indeed a matter of strange immersion, and one that will often puzzle and sometimes frustrate the reader, but its portrait of sadness and alienation is, in the end, also strangely revivifying.


Sharks in the Time of Saviors

Washburn has given us a meditation on the tragedies of living too long in the darkness.


The Book of V.

“The Book of V.” is a meditation on female power and powerlessness, the stories told about women and the ones we tell about and to ourselves.


Fracture
Kirkus Reviews : Fracture (March 01, 2020)

A quiet study of a man struggling to find a serenity to quell his long-entrenched terror.


The Life and Medieval Times of Kit Sweetly

A rousing, funny, feminist workplace romp that also takes a frank look at modern poverty.


Sparrow
Kirkus Reviews : Sparrow (January 15, 2020)

A heartbreaking yet hopeful debut.


Like Flies from Afar

Though ultimately unsatisfying as a mystery, it works as an existential parable, with a protagonist whose character is destiny.


Telephone

This is a spellbinding, heartbreaking tale.


Cleanness

Greenwell’s book is a sort of wistful paean to the place where his protagonist lived in uneasy exile, or learned to grow up, or both.


Barn 8

Although the book is uneven, the things in Barn 8 that work are so aesthetically perfect and philosophically profound that it doesn’t matter much if the caper plot falls a little flat.


Starling Days

Complex and resonant.


Great State
Kirkus Reviews : Great State (March 20, 2020)

With useful maps and stories within stories, this is an ingenious look at an often misunderstood country.


Privilege
Kirkus Reviews : Privilege (March 13, 2020)

A timely and resonant novel.


No Bad Deed
Bookreporter : No Bad Deed (March 01, 2020)

If you enjoy books that keep you on edge, wondering how things will work out, then No Bad Deed is perfect for you. There are twists, followed by more twists, and plenty of excitement and mystery.


The Only Child
Bookreporter : The Only Child (February 22, 2020)

In addition to The Bad Seed, THE ONLY CHILD carries overt references to The Silence of the Lambs. It’s easy to imagine this suspenseful, multilayered novel being adapted into a pretty sinister film in its own right.