Editorial reviews

Publication Date

Sort

Recently Added

Publication Date

 

Range

All Time

This Month

This Week

 

Categories

All

Literary

Mystery & Detective

Thrillers

Fantasy

Science Fiction

Biography & autobiography

The Dominant Animal

This is a delightful, mischievous, and mysterious collection that’s perfect for fans of Lydia Davis and Mary Ruefle.


Tropic of Violence

Searing, lyrical, and ultimately devastating, Appanah’s latest novel might be her finest yet.


The Life and Medieval Times of Kit Sweetly

A rousing, funny, feminist workplace romp that also takes a frank look at modern poverty.


Telephone

This is a spellbinding, heartbreaking tale.


The Book of V.

“The Book of V.” is a meditation on female power and powerlessness, the stories told about women and the ones we tell about and to ourselves.


Cleanness

Greenwell’s book is a sort of wistful paean to the place where his protagonist lived in uneasy exile, or learned to grow up, or both.


Barn 8

Although the book is uneven, the things in Barn 8 that work are so aesthetically perfect and philosophically profound that it doesn’t matter much if the caper plot falls a little flat.


Starling Days

Complex and resonant.


Sharks in the Time of Saviors

Washburn has given us a meditation on the tragedies of living too long in the darkness.


Great State
Kirkus Reviews : Great State (March 20, 2020)

With useful maps and stories within stories, this is an ingenious look at an often misunderstood country.


Untold Night and Day

To read this novel of shrouded pilgrimages is also to arrive at a meaning that is “bewitching, and utterly private, a secret for me, a single ship, a single concealed place”.


Privilege
Kirkus Reviews : Privilege (March 13, 2020)

A timely and resonant novel.


No Bad Deed
Bookreporter : No Bad Deed (March 01, 2020)

If you enjoy books that keep you on edge, wondering how things will work out, then No Bad Deed is perfect for you. There are twists, followed by more twists, and plenty of excitement and mystery.


Fracture
Kirkus Reviews : Fracture (March 01, 2020)

A quiet study of a man struggling to find a serenity to quell his long-entrenched terror.


The Only Child
Bookreporter : The Only Child (February 22, 2020)

In addition to The Bad Seed, THE ONLY CHILD carries overt references to The Silence of the Lambs. It’s easy to imagine this suspenseful, multilayered novel being adapted into a pretty sinister film in its own right.


The Only Child

Good elevator pitch, not so great final result, though I can actually picture a fairly cool movie coming out of this if adapted properly. Netflix, take note.


Highfire

It’s a fun, rip-roaring read that draws you in and leaves you short of breath from both action and laughter. It’s hard not to be captivated.


In the Land of Men

If you’re a devotee of David Foster Wallace, you’ll devour this memoir with pleasure. If not, you may enjoy the cultural scavenger hunt and appreciate how much Adrienne Miller makes you stretch.


Hitting a Straight Lick with a Crooked Stick

On literary and ethnographic expeditions, Hurston packed a pistol along with her notepads. These stories share that same wild spirit – unnerving at times, they are always a thrill.


Perfect Little Children

Perfect Little Children is one of the most ingenious psychological thrillers I have ever read, and the ending is completely satisfying.