Editorial reviews

Recently Added

Sort

Recently Added

Publication Date

 

Range

All Time

This Month

This Week

 

Categories

All

Literary

Mystery & Detective

Thrillers

Fantasy

Science Fiction

Biography & autobiography

The Reason I Jump: The Inner Voice of a Thirteen-Year-Old Boy with Autism

In translating the book, Mitchell and Yoshida hoped to help those with autistic family members to better understand their loved one. They’ve actually gone a step further, opening up a fascinating, often misunderstood disorder to the casual reader.


Night Film: A Novel
For Books' Sake : Night Film (August 29, 2013)

This will be a book that divides opinion: some will love the inventiveness and the pace of the writing, and others will find it clunky and over-written. Unfortunately, I’m in the latter camp.


Gabriele D'Annunzio: Poet, Seducer, and Preacher of War

Due to the volume's design, some will not find it useful as a standard reference book (we must search for dates), but most readers will delight in touring the deep, tangled wood of a most astonishing life with a most engaging and learned guide.


The Reason I Jump: The Inner Voice of a Thirteen-Year-Old Boy with Autism

Anyone struggling to understand autism will be grateful for the book and translation.


Jack Cloudie
Kirkus Reviews : Jack Cloudie (August 28, 2013)

The bedrock elements of the warring worlds, especially their fantasy capabilities and limitations, are as hard to remember as the rules of Dungeons and Dragons, though fans of Hunt (The Secrets of the Fire Sea, 2012, etc.) will be thrilled by the piquant minor details.


Runaway Man
Kirkus Reviews : Runaway Man (August 28, 2013)

So what if Handler, best known for his Berger and Mitry series (The Blood-Red Indian Summer, 2011, etc.), isn't the keenest plotter in the genre? He definitely knows his way around adorable, cute and schmaltzy.


How the Light Gets In

Of the three intertwined plots, the Francoeur scheme is the deadliest, and the Ouellet saga will remind readers of the real-life Dionne family debacle of the 1940s. But it’s Three Pines, with its quirky tenants, resident duck and luminous insights into trust and friendship, that will hook readers and keep them hooked.


Night Film: A Novel
Kirkus Reviews : Night Film (August 28, 2013)

A touch too coyly postmodern at times, but a worthwhile entertainment all the same.


The Daughters of Mars

Fans of Downton Abbey and Gallipoli alike will find much to admire in Keneally's fast-moving, flawlessly written pages.


Troubled Daughters, Twisted Wives: Stories from the Trailblazers of Domestic Suspense

"Troubled Daughters" is otherwise brimming with still-relevant crime fiction by writers too-long ignored. Their elevation by Weinman for this groundbreaking anthology is not only a confirmation of the lasting power of domestic fiction to engage and entertain but to the legitimate place of these pioneering writers in the mystery canon.


Blind Justice
Kirkus Reviews : Blind Justice (August 28, 2013)

Paring back on her usual period detail, Perry produces her fleetest tale in years. If the courtroom sequences are never exactly surprising, they’re guaranteed to produce the deep satisfaction you feel after hearing a series of particularly rousing speeches.


Bones of the Lost

Reichs, never one to stint on complications, deals them out mostly seriatim instead of intermingling them, and it’ll be a canny reader who sees the thread that runs through all the cases and binds them together.


Claire of the Sea Light

Both lyrical and cleareyed, a rare and welcome combination.


In Falling Snow: A Novel

MacColl’s narrative is fortified by impeccable research and her innate ability to create a powerful bond between readers and characters. Well done.


A Question of Honor

What I found most interesting about the book was how the drudgery of trench warfare was contrasted with Bess’s research into past events.


The Lincoln Deception

But in between the lectures, Stewart weaves a fresh and interesting tale that carries Fraser and Cook across the nation in pursuit of the truth, a journey with its share of dangers and thrills.


Bitter River

Julia Keller proves once again through Bitter River why her writing skills earned her a Pulitzer Prize for feature writing in 2005.


Shaman

Robinson keeps stylization of the language to a minimum, without stooping too low, so that the story itself can break free of the page and linger in the mind — which worked for me.


The Color Master: Stories

To use her own language, she's become a color master, of excellent reputation and practice, whom we'll need to consult again and again. So in many ways — and this is great news for all of us, writer and readers alike — her experiment has just begun.


Night Film: A Novel

For McGrath as well as readers, the thrill of the chase in Night Film ultimately proves superior to its object.