Editorial reviews

Recently Added

Sort

Recently Added

Publication Date

 

Range

All Time

This Month

This Week

 

Categories

All

Literary

Mystery & Detective

Thrillers

Fantasy

Science Fiction

Biography & autobiography

The Center Holds: Obama and His Enemies

The president’s supporters and, really, all political junkies will love this. Republicans, not so much.


The Son

The novel has antecedents...but few equals in contemporary literature of this genre. Whether your tastes in entertainment run to Cormac McCarthy or 'Dallas,' it’s a fair bet you will find this a sumptuous feast.


Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald

Z is an accessible, entertaining read with a good period flavour. Rather than being ‘a novel of Zelda Fitzgerald’, though, it’s a novel about some of Zelda Fitzgerald.


Big Brother

There's plenty to chew on in Big Brother.


TransAtlantic: A Novel

The Irish are known as a people who have been forced, often by hunger and poverty, to leave their country. But McCann's novel makes it clear that the traffic across has gone both ways — and that people on both sides of the Atlantic owe a great deal to each other.


The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls: A Novel

The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls has all the hallmarks of a story meant to empower young women; this is where its greatest value may lie.


A Half Forgotten Song

Readers who enjoy authors like Kate Morton and Susanna Kearsley will love Webb.


The Round House

The Round House is an incredible novel.


The Cydonian Pyramid: (Klaatu Diskos #2)

All that said, this series is good Science Fiction and I can’t wait to see how it all ends.


The Last Summer of the Camperdowns: A Novel

More fine work from a writer with a rare gift for blending wit and rue.


Hitchhiking with Larry David: An Accidental Tourist's Summer of Self-Discovery in Martha's Vineyard

Pleasant enough beach reading for romantics and believers in fate but probably not for fans of Larry David.


You Are One of Them

This debut novel only looks deeply at one character, Sarah, and she is not enough to sustain interest.


Nine Years Under: Coming of Age in an Inner-City Funeral Home

An informative but occasionally too-dry behind-the-scenes look into the funeral industry and its reflection on contemporary society in inner-city Baltimore.


The Bookman's Tale: A Novel of Obsession

A cheerily old-fashioned entertainment.


River of Stars

He’s made a career out of subverting the expectations of high fantasy, and River Of Stars’ anti-war sentiment may be the most powerful subversion he’s ever done. The novel as a whole may not always succeed, but when it does, it’s astounding.


Mary and Lou and Rhoda and Ted: And all the Brilliant Minds Who Made The Mary Tyler Moore Show a Classic

Mary And Lou And Rhoda And Ted occasionally leaves the reader wanting more information, but in most cases, it proves an engaging, highly entertaining read of a show that set out to simply be very good and ended up rewriting TV history.


Sight Reading

The characters about which Kalotay writes are deeply flawed, but also talented and fascinating to read about. Whether or not readers have a background in and knowledge of classical music, they'll enjoy spending a brief time in this near-fanatical world --- and they'll be equally glad to leave it to return to their more normal and healthy everyday lives.


Good Kings Bad Kings: A Novel

Susan Nussbaum has provided a much needed look into the often neglected area of caregiving for disabled adolescents. Having worked in residential treatment facilities myself, I can attest to her observations and to the fact that more care needs to provided...


King of Weeds

COMPLEX 90 is a historical hard-boiled novel, but Collins ably infuses a contemporary sensibility into his seamless posthumous collaboration with the immortal Spillane.


The Barbed Crown

...a darned good recounting of a famous event tied to an entertaining and well-researched historical novel...