Editorial reviews

Recently Added

Sort

Recently Added

Publication Date

 

Range

All Time

This Month

This Week

 

Categories

All

Literary

Mystery & Detective

Thrillers

Fantasy

Science Fiction

Biography & autobiography

The Hanging

Middling for the endless recent crop of Scandinavian procedurals apparently designed to inhibit tourism and make you glad you’re staying in the temperate zone.


Shadow People

A fine read for lovers of escapist fiction.


Reality Ends Here

The nods to familiar Hollywood and music-industry figures will quickly date this story, but reality-show lovers and haters alike will enjoy the behind-the-scenes perspective.


Bad Monkey
Kirkus Reviews : Bad Monkey (June 20, 2013)

Not as funny as Hiaasen’s best (Star Island, 2010, etc.), with a title character more vicious than amusing, but still the gold standard for South Florida criminal farce.


The Ides of April

The whodunit unfolds slowly, but Flavia demonstrates appealing wit and grit.


Stoker's Manuscript

An obvious choice for fans of Dracula and Frankenstein and for anyone whose reading tastes extend into the realm of superstition.


The Founding Conservatives: How a Group of Unsung Heroes Saved the American Revolution

Groundbreaking history not to be missed—a book to quote and to keep, as the material is rich enough to merit rereading.


The Faraway Nearby

A provocative, moving mélange of personal confession and intellectual inquiry—another sui generis work from one of our most stimulating essayists.


Creation: How Science Is Reinventing Life Itself
Kirkus Reviews : Creation (June 20, 2013)

While it is unlikely that scientists will synthesize a human in the near future, genuinely amazing biology is in the works, and Rutherford delivers a fascinating overview.


Until She Comes Home

A beautifully written, at times lyrical, study of a disintegrating community. Roy, author of the Edgar Award-winning mystery Bent Road (2011), tackles similar themes here with equally successful results.


Phoenix: A Black City Novel

Just as dreadful as the first book.


The Girl Who Loved Camellias: The Life and Legend of Marie Duplessis

Duplessis’ string of lovers was sufficiently fascinating to become the basis of books, plays and Verdi’s opera. As a chronicle of French life, Kavanagh’s book is great fun; as biography, it’s scattered.


Circle of Shadows: A Westerman/Crowther Mystery

Though some readers may find this adventure too long and convoluted, the combination of unusual historical nuggets, a taxing mystery and good writing will please many more.


The Deserters: A Hidden History of World War II

A well-written, fast-moving treatment of an issue still relevant today.


Death of a Dyer

Kuhns’ follow-up to Will’s debut (A Simple Murder, 2012) offers a sensitive look into matters of the heart woven into a nifty puzzle.


Mo' Meta Blues: The World According to Questlove

Fanatics and newcomers to the music will both find plenty of revelation here.


Electrico W

Delicate handling of deep themes—loss, missed connections, meaninglessness—gives the novel an emotional charge greater than its low-key particulars and pacing.


Sea Change
Kirkus Reviews : Sea Change (June 20, 2013)

A weird, operatic coming-of-age fantasy streaked with sexuality, pain and heroism; perhaps the awkward arrival of a new voice.


Her Last Breath

The fifth in the series (Breaking Silence, 2011, etc.) continues to provide details on the Amish way of life along with a fast-paced mystery that will leave readers stunned.


Rogue Touch

The author delivers a romantic, action-packed plot that is imaginative and emotionally textured.