Editorial reviews

Recently Added

Sort

Recently Added

Publication Date

 

Range

All Time

This Month

This Week

 

Categories

All

Literary

Mystery & Detective

Thrillers

Fantasy

Science Fiction

Biography & autobiography

The Last Summer of the Camperdowns: A Novel

The Last Summer of the Camperdowns, with its vivid and notable Cape Cod setting, is a unique beach read, the kind that might keep you glancing over your shoulder to make sure no one is sneaking up behind your beach chair.


The Astronaut Wives Club: A True Story

Although the wives were (and still are) less well known, their stories are told quite frankly. They deserve a lot of respect and credit for the way they conducted themselves in the public eye during a very difficult, challenging and exciting time in their lives.


The Engagements

What could prove daunting for most writers --- covering a multitude of characters over such a broad scope in time --- [Sullivan] tackles effortlessly, and fully realized people and situations emerge. With so much grist for discussion, The Engagements is a natural for book clubs.


The Rithmatist

The Rithmatist has easily become one of my all-time favorite young adult fantasy books and is a wonderful addition to anyone’s summer reading list.


Shadow People

Swain does an excellent job of painting the evil characters. They are as despicable as any I have ever encountered.


You Are One of Them

[Holt's] writing is first-rate, and she has crafted an insightful, haunting and, at times, powerful debut.


The Hanging

Middling for the endless recent crop of Scandinavian procedurals apparently designed to inhibit tourism and make you glad you’re staying in the temperate zone.


Shadow People

A fine read for lovers of escapist fiction.


Reality Ends Here

The nods to familiar Hollywood and music-industry figures will quickly date this story, but reality-show lovers and haters alike will enjoy the behind-the-scenes perspective.


Bad Monkey
Kirkus Reviews : Bad Monkey (June 20, 2013)

Not as funny as Hiaasen’s best (Star Island, 2010, etc.), with a title character more vicious than amusing, but still the gold standard for South Florida criminal farce.


The Ides of April

The whodunit unfolds slowly, but Flavia demonstrates appealing wit and grit.


Stoker's Manuscript

An obvious choice for fans of Dracula and Frankenstein and for anyone whose reading tastes extend into the realm of superstition.


The Founding Conservatives: How a Group of Unsung Heroes Saved the American Revolution

Groundbreaking history not to be missed—a book to quote and to keep, as the material is rich enough to merit rereading.


The Faraway Nearby

A provocative, moving mélange of personal confession and intellectual inquiry—another sui generis work from one of our most stimulating essayists.


Creation: How Science Is Reinventing Life Itself
Kirkus Reviews : Creation (June 20, 2013)

While it is unlikely that scientists will synthesize a human in the near future, genuinely amazing biology is in the works, and Rutherford delivers a fascinating overview.


Until She Comes Home

A beautifully written, at times lyrical, study of a disintegrating community. Roy, author of the Edgar Award-winning mystery Bent Road (2011), tackles similar themes here with equally successful results.


Phoenix: A Black City Novel

Just as dreadful as the first book.


The Girl Who Loved Camellias: The Life and Legend of Marie Duplessis

Duplessis’ string of lovers was sufficiently fascinating to become the basis of books, plays and Verdi’s opera. As a chronicle of French life, Kavanagh’s book is great fun; as biography, it’s scattered.


Circle of Shadows: A Westerman/Crowther Mystery

Though some readers may find this adventure too long and convoluted, the combination of unusual historical nuggets, a taxing mystery and good writing will please many more.