Historical / English literature / British literature

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete British literature

 

In category

Middle Age (45)

XIXth century (29)

Modern (<1799) (27)

XXth century (<1945) (13)

Ancient History (12)

1914-1918 (5)

1939-1945 (4)

Prehistory (1)

 

Language

English (310)

French (8)

German (1)

Spanish (37)

Italian (158)

 

Protection

All (310)

DRM Free (2)

DRM (308)

More options

Warriors of the Storm

The Saxon Stories #9

by Bernard Cornwell

The ninth installment of Bernard Cornwell’s bestselling series chronicling the epic saga of the making of England, “like Game of Thrones, but real” (The Observer, London)—the basis for The Last Kingdom...


The Religion

by Tim Willocks

This is what we dream of: to be so swept away, so poleaxed by a book that the breath is sucked right out of us. Brace yourselves.

May 1565. Suleiman the Magnificent, emperor of the Ottomans, has declared a jihad...


Orphan Train

by Christina Baker Kline

The #1 New York Times Bestseller

Christina Baker Kline’s Orphan Train is an unforgettable story of friendship and second chances that highlights a little-known but historically significant movement in America’s...


The Pillars of the Earth

The Pillars of the Earth #1

by Ken Follett

If you liked the Century Trilogy, you’ll love the “extraordinary...monumental masterpiece” (Booklist) that changed the course of Ken Follett’s already phenomenal career.

“Follett risks all and comes...


Winter of the World

The Century Trilogy #2

by Ken Follett

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Picking up where Fall of Giants, the first novel in the extraordinary Century Trilogy, left off, Winter of the World follows its five interrelated families—American, German,...


Fall of Giants

The Century Trilogy #1

by Ken Follett

Ken Follett’s magnificent new historical epic begins, as five interrelated families move through the momentous dramas of the First World War, the Russian Revolution, and the struggle for women’s suffrage....


World Without End

The Pillars of the Earth #2

by Ken Follett

In 1989 Ken Follett astonished the literary world with The Pillars of the Earth, a sweeping epic novel set in twelfth-century England centered on the building of a cathedral and many of the hundreds of lives...


Death of Kings

The Saxon Stories #6

by Bernard Cornwell

The sixth installment of Bernard Cornwell’s bestselling series chronicling the epic saga of the making of England, “like Game of Thrones, but real” (The Observer, London)—the basis for The Last Kingdom...


The Last Kingdom

The Saxon Stories #1

by Bernard Cornwell

The first installment of Bernard Cornwell’s bestselling series chronicling the epic saga of the making of England, “like Game of Thrones, but real” (The Observer, London)—the basis for The Last Kingdom...


The Empty Throne

The Saxon Stories #8

by Bernard Cornwell

The eighth installment of Bernard Cornwell’s bestselling series chronicling the epic saga of the making of England, “like Game of Thrones, but real” (The Observer, London)—the basis for The Last Kingdom...


The Red Queen: A Novel

The Cousins' War #2

by Philippa Gregory

The inspiration for the critically acclaimed Starz miniseries The White Queen, #1 New York Times bestselling author Philippa Gregory brings to life Margaret Beaufort, heiress to the red rose of Lancaster, who...


The Angry Tide

Poldark #7

by Winston Graham

The Angry Tide is the seventh novel in Winston Graham's sweeping series of Cornwall, Poldark.

Cornwall, towards the end of the 18th century. Ross Poldark sits for the borough of Truro as Member of Parliament...


Paris: The Novel

by Edward Rutherfurd

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From Edward Rutherfurd, the grand master of the historical novel, comes a dazzling epic about the magnificent city of Paris. Moving back and forth in time, the story unfolds through...


The Fever Tree

by Jennifer McVeigh

“There is nothing more exciting than a new writer with a genuine voice. I loved it.” —Julian Fellowes, creator of Downton Abbey

Frances Irvine, left destitute in the wake of her father’s sudden death,...


Only Time Will Tell

The Clifton Chronicles #1

by Jeffrey Archer

From the internationally bestselling author of Kane and Abel and A Prisoner of Birth comes Only Time Will Tell, the first in an ambitious new series that tells the story of one family across generations, across...


Edge of Eternity

The Century Trilogy #3

by Ken Follett

Ken Follett’s Century Trilogy follows the fortunes of five intertwined families—American, German, Russian, English, and Welsh—as they make their way through the twentieth century. It has been called “potent,...


The King's Curse

The Cousins' War #6

by Philippa Gregory

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author behind the acclaimed Starz series The White Queen comes the story of lady-in-waiting Margaret Pole and her unique view of King Henry VIII’s stratospheric rise...


The Miniaturist

by Jessie Burton

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah...


Sharpe's Sword

The Sharpe Stories #14

by Bernard Cornwell

The greatest threat to Wellington's Salamanca Campaign is not Napoleon's Army but France's deadliest assassin.  He's already failed to kill Captain Richard Sharpe once.  Now, he's getting a second chance.


The Black Moon

Poldark #5

by Winston Graham

The Black Moon is the fifth novel in Winston Graham's sweeping series of Cornwall, Poldark.

Cornwall 1794. The birth of a son to Elizabeth and George Warleggan serves only to accentuate the rift between the Poldark...