Historical

Best Selling / Page 89

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

In category

XIXth century (275)

Modern (<1799) (261)

XXth century (<1945) (160)

Middle Age (154)

Ancient History (87)

1939-1945 (85)

1914-1918 (28)

Prehistory (5)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (4287)

French (539)

German (27)

Spanish (839)

Italian (817)

 

Protection

All (4287)

DRM Free (204)

DRM (4083)

More options

Bellman & Black: A Novel

by Diane Setterfield

From the instant #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Thirteenth Tale comes a “poetic and mysterious” (Booklist) ghost story that will haunt you to your very core.

Caught up in a moment of boyhood...


Heartbroke Bay

by Lynn D'urso

A powerful literary debut inspired by a true story.

In 1898, Alaska is an untamed wilderness with an unforgiving climate. At the tail end of a world-wide depression, thousands of destitute people are drawn...


The Boleyn Deceit: A Novel

The Boleyn Trilogy #2

by Laura Andersen

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn Deceit is the captivating new novel set in the imagined Tudor court of King Henry IX, son of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn,...


Dollface: A Novel of the Roaring Twenties

by Renee Rosen

America in the 1920s was a country alive with the wild fun of jazz, speakeasies, and a new kind of woman-the flapper.

Vera Abramowitz is determined to leave her gritty childhood behind and live a more exciting...


Elkhorn Tavern

by Douglas C. Jones

From Douglas C. Jones, an author the Los Angeles Times called "a superb storyteller and authentic chronicler of the American West," comes a classic Civil War novel, long out of print but considered one of the...


Little Joker Sings

by Peter Wells

A moving short story about a strong bond - both comradely and erotic - formed between soldiers during World War II.This is a story rarely told, of a certain kind of relationship often forged during wartime....


Cross the River to Home

by Kaye Kelly

An absorbing novel set in 1870s New Zealand about an impossible love between a half-Chinese woman and a young immigrant.Henry arrives in the South Island of New Zealand in search of his sister, who is now living...


The Mango's Kiss

by Albert Wendt

An epic novel stretching out from Samoa to Europe, America and New Zealand, from the turn of the nineteenth century, through the First World War, the Spanish Influenza Epidemic and beyond.Since the 1960s, Albert...


The Parihaka Woman

by Witi Ihimaera

A wonderfully surprising, inventive and deeply moving riff on fact and fiction, history and imagination from one of New Zealand's finest and most memorable storytellers. There has never been a New Zealand novel...


Winter in the Summer Garden

by Natasha Templeton

This vivid, moving and provocative novel presents a story of a whole society caught up in national turmoil. Told through the experiences of one family, the Shubins, and their city of Leningrad, their story of...


Landings

by Jenny Pattrick

Vivid and evocative, this is a moving novel of a unique time and place from one of New Zealand's favourite authors.The Whanganui River at the turn of the twentieth century is a busy thoroughfare, taking sightseers...


The Larnachs

by Owen Marshall

Based on a real love triangle, this fascinating novel is by one of New Zealand's most-loved respected authors.'Dougie's story and mine is not told in the history of William Larnach. It is our private journey,...


Heart of Coal

by Jenny Pattrick

A compelling sequel to the best-selling novel The Denniston Rose.Eighteen years have passed since the child Rose arrived on Denniston, riding up the terrifying Incline on a stormy night. She has now grown into...


The Denniston Rose

by Jenny Pattrick

A number one bestseller, this favourite New Zealand novel captures a real 19th century community.The bleak coal-mining settlement of Denniston, isolated high on a plateau above New Zealand's West Coast, is a...


The Trouble With Fire

by Fiona Kidman

A beautiful collection of stories by a pre-eminent writer, shortlisted for major awards.Fiona Kidman has a genius for peeling back the lives of ordinary people to reveal their hidden passions and complexities....


La Rochelle's Road

by Tanya Moir

This is a story of settling in a new land, of hardship, resilience and of love.In 1866, Daniel Peterson and his family give up their comfortable life in London for an unseen farm on Banks Peninsula. Daniel plans...


Magpie Hall

by Rachael King

A gripping and powerful novel from the author of best-selling The Sound of Butterflies."There were two rumours surrounding my great-great-grandfather Henry Summers: one, that his cabinet of curiosities drove...


Wild Latitudes

by Barbara Else

A clever and entertaining romp of a novel that is an alluring fusion of history, comedy and parody. After the unusual death of their papa, Adele Overend and her younger brother Godwin are dispatched from comfortable...


Somme Mud Young Readers' Edition

by Will Davies

Beautifully presented young readers' edition of the bestselling memoir of a young soldier on the First World War's Western Front.'It's the end of the 1916 winter and the conditions are almost unbelievable. We...


Penelope's Daughter

by Laurel Corona

The award-winning author of The Four Seasons retells The Odyssey from the point of view of Odysseus and Penelope's daughter.

With her father Odysseus gone for twenty years, Xanthe barricades herself in her...