Literary / English literature

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Literary

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

Origin

American and canadian (2946)

British (686)

Irish (77)

 

Language

English (3808)

French (154)

German (3)

Spanish (995)

Italian (568)

 

Protection

All (3808)

DRM Free (34)

DRM (3774)

More options

A Friend of the Family

by Lauren Grodstein

Pete Dizinoff, a skilled and successful New Jersey internist, has a loving and devoted wife, a network of close friends, an impressive house, and, most of all, a son, Alec, now nineteen, on whom he has pinned...


The First Bad Man: A Novel

by Miranda July

The instant New York Times bestseller is “astonishing…In one novel, Miranda July tells us more about our universal need to be loved, and our ability to love and be loved, than most earthbound authors will...


Tassy Morgan's Bluff: A Novel

by Jim Stinson

A wonderfully funny and warm introduction to the quirky inhabitants of a small town located on the breathtakingly scenic northern tip of California.

San Andreas, California. It may be a quaint town, but its...


The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

by Christopher Scotton

"A marvelous debut...has everything a big, thick novel should have, and I hated to put it down." - John Grisham

"A page-turner." - New York Times Book Review

For readers of The Story of Edgar Sawtelle, this is...


Ten Thousand Saints: A Novel

by Eleanor Henderson

“Eleanor Henderson is in possession of an enormous talent which she has matched up with skill, ambition, and a fierce imagination.  The resulting novel, Ten Thousand Saints, is the best thing I’ve read...


State of Wonder

by Ann Patchett

“Expect miracleswhen you read Ann Patchett’s fiction.”—New YorkTimes Book Review

Award-winning, New York Times bestsellingauthor Ann Patchett returns with a provocative andassured novel of morality and...


If I Fall, If I Die: A Novel

by Michael Christie

A heartfelt and wondrous debut about family, fear, and skateboarding, that Karen Russell calls "A bruiser of a tale . . . a death-defying coming-of-age story."

Will has never been outside, at least not since...


The Marauders: A Novel

by Tom Cooper

When the BP oil spill devastates the Gulf coast, those who made a living by shrimping find themselves in dire straits. For the oddballs and lowlifes who inhabit the sleepy, working class bayou town of Jeannette, ...


The Girl from the Garden

by Parnaz Foroutan

An extraordinary new writer makes her literary debut with this suspenseful novel of desire, obsession, power and vulnerability, in which a crisis of inheritance leads to the downfall of a wealthy family of Persian...


Paulina & Fran

by Rachel B. Glaser

A story of friendship, art, sex, and curly hair: an audaciously witty debut tracing the pas de deux of lust and love between two young, uncertain, conflicted art students. 

At their New England art school, Paulina...


Undermajordomo Minor

by Patrick Dewitt

From the bestselling, Man Booker–short-listed author of The Sisters Brothers comes a brilliant and boisterous novel that reimagines the folk tale

A love story, an adventure story, a fable without a moral, and...


Uncle Janice: A Novel

by Matt Burgess

Twenty-four-year-old Janice Itwaru is an “uncle”—NYPD lingo for an undercover narcotics officer—and the heroine of the most exuberantand original cop novel in years.

A New York City cop who can last...


A Special Providence

by Richard Yates

Robert Prentice has spent all his life attempting to escape his mother's stifling presence. His mother, Alice, for her part, struggles with her own demons as she attempts to realize her dreams of prosperity...


The Gangster We Are All Looking For

by Thi Diem Thuy Le

This acclaimed novel reveals the life of a Vietnamese family in America through the knowing eyes of a child finding her place and voice in a new country.

In 1978 six refugees—a girl, her father, and four “uncles”—are...


Good Soldier

by Ford Madox Ford

At the fashionable German spa town Bad Nauheim, two wealthy, fin de siecle couples -- one British, the other American -- meet for their yearly assignation. As their story moves back and forth in time between...


Girl in Landscape: A Novel

by Jonathan Lethem

One the irrepressibly inventive Jonathan Lethem could weld science fiction and the Western into a mesmerizing novel of exploration and otherness, sexual awakening and loss. At the age of 13 Pella Marsh loses...


All That Follows: A Novel

by Jim Crace

The prodigiously talented Jim Crace has returned with a new novel that explores the complexities of love and violence with a scenario that juxtaposes humor and human aspiration. 

British jazzman Leonard Lessing...


My Secret History

by Paul Theroux

"Theroux's best novel in years."

CHICAGO TRIBUNE

MY SECRET HISTORY is Paul Theroux's tour de force. It is the story of Andre Parent, a writer, a world traveler, a lover of every kind of woman he chances to meet...


Moondogs: A Novel

by Alexander Yates

A singularly effervescent novel pivoting around the disappearance of an American businessman in the Philippines and the long-suffering son, jilted lover, slick police commissioner, misguided villain, and supernatural...


Live Girls

by Beth Nugent

Following her critically acclaimed collection of short stories, City of Boys, Beth Nugent brings her dark and eerie vision to a powerful first novel.

Live Girls is the story of Catherine, in her twenties, who...