Scribner / Social science

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

 

Publisher

Delete Scribner

 

Category

Delete Social science

 

In category

Sociology (49)

Political science (28)

Anthropology (5)

Criminology (5)

Discrimination & Race Relations (5)

Social Work (4)

Media Studies (3)

Human Geography (3)

Customs & Traditions (3)

Transportation (1)

Emigration & Immigration (1)

Regional Studies (1)

Agriculture and food (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (183)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Protection

All (183)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (183)

More options

On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss

by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross & David Kessler

Shortly before her death in 2004, Elisabeth Kübler-Ross and David Kessler, her collaborator, completed the manuscript for this, her final book. On Grief and Grieving is a fitting completion to her work. Thirty-six...


The Led Zeppelin Essays: Essays from Chuck Klosterman IV

by Chuck Klosterman

Originally collected in Chuck Klosterman IV and now available both as a stand-alone essay and in the ebook collection Chuck Klosterman on Rock, this essay is about Led Zeppelin.


Manchild in the Promised Land

by Claude Brown

With more than two million copies in print, Manchild in the Promised Land is one of the most remarkable autobiographies of our time—the definitive account of African-American youth in Harlem of the 1940s and...


T Is for True: An Essay from Eating the Dinosaur

by Chuck Klosterman

Originally collected in Eating the Dinosaur and now available both as a stand-alone essay and in the ebook collection Chuck Klosterman on Pop, this essay is about truth.


Chuck Klosterman on Media and Culture: A Collection of Previously Published Essays

by Chuck Klosterman

From Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs; Chuck Klosterman IV; and Eating the Dinosaur, these essays are now available in this ebook collection for fans of Klosterman’s writing on media and culture.


This Is Zodiac Speaking: An Essay from Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs

by Chuck Klosterman

Originally collected in Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs and now available both as a stand-alone essay and in the ebook collection Chuck Klosterman on Media and Culture, this essay is about serial killers.


Something Wicked This Way Comes: An Essay from Chuck Klosterman IV

by Chuck Klosterman

Originally collected in Chuck Klosterman IV and now available both as a stand-alone essay and in the ebook collection Chuck Klosterman on Media and Culture, this essay is about Disneyland.


Billy Sim: An Essay from Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs

by Chuck Klosterman

Originally collected in Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs and now available both as a stand-alone essay and in the ebook collection Chuck Klosterman on Living and Society, this essay is about The Sims.


Band on the Couch: An Essay from Chuck Klosterman IV

by Chuck Klosterman

Originally collected in Chuck Klosterman IV and now available both as a stand-alone essay and in the ebook collection Chuck Klosterman on Rock, this essay is about Metallica.


Kremlin Rising: Vladimir Putin's Russia and the End of Revolution

by Peter Baker & Susan Glasser

In the tradition of Hedrick Smith's The Russians, Robert G. Kaiser's Russia: The People and the Power, and David Remnick's Lenin's Tomb comes an eloquent and eye-opening chronicle of Vladimir Putin's Russia,...


Death in the Afternoon

by Ernest Hemingway

Still considered one of the best books ever written about bullfighting, Death in the Afternoon is an impassioned look at the sport by one of its true aficionados. It reflects Hemingway's conviction that bullfighting...


Certain Rock Bands You Probably Like: An Essay from Chuck Klosterman IV

by Chuck Klosterman

Originally collected in Chuck Klosterman IV and now available both as a stand-alone essay and in the ebook collection Chuck Klosterman on Pop, this essay is about underrated and overrated artists.


Eating the Dinosaur

by Chuck Klosterman

After a bestselling and acclaimed diversion into fiction, Chuck Klosterman, author of Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs, returns to the form in which he’s been spectacularly successful with a collection of essays...


The Duel: Pakistan on the Flight Path of American Power

by Tariq Ali

Pakistan is the sixth most populous country in the world. It is the only Islamic state to have nuclear weapons. Its border with Afghanistan extends over one thousand miles and is the likely hideout of Osama...


Popular Crime: Reflections on the Celebration of Violence

by Bill James

The man who revolutionized the way we think about baseball now examines our cultural obsession with murder—delivering a unique, engrossing, brilliant history of tabloid crime in America.

Celebrated writer...


The Sexual Paradox: Men, Women and the Real Gender Gap

by Susan Pinker

Susan Pinker, psychologist and award-winning columnist, has written a groundbreaking and controversial book that reveals why learning and behavioral gaps between boys and girls in the classroom are reversed...


Two Nations: Black and White, Separate, Hostile, Unequal

by Andrew Hacker

Why, despite continued efforts to increase understanding and expand opportunities, do black and white Americans still lead separate lives, continually marked by tension and hostility? In his much-lauded classic,...


Enough: Our Fight to Keep America Safe from Gun Violence

by Gabrielle Giffords & Mark Kelly

Former Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords and her husband, astronaut Mark Kelly, share their impassioned argument for responsible gun ownership.

After the 2011 Tucson shooting that nearly took her life, basic questions...


City Life

by Witold Rybczynski

In City Life, Witold Rybczynski looks at what we want from cities, how they have evolved, and what accounts for their unique identities. In this vivid description of everything from the early colonial settlements...


The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace: A Brilliant Young Man Who Left Newark for the Ivy League

by Jeff Hobbs

A heartfelt, and riveting biography of the short life of a talented young African-American man who escapes the slums of Newark for Yale University only to succumb to the dangers of the streets—and of one’s...