Historical

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

In category

XIXth century (250)

Modern (<1799) (247)

Middle Age (155)

XXth century (<1945) (144)

1939-1945 (83)

Ancient History (68)

1914-1918 (27)

Prehistory (9)

Language

English (9024)

French (798)

German (2065)

Spanish (1548)

Italian (1092)

 

 

Protection

All (9024)

DRM Free (738)

DRM (8272)

More options

Theory of Shadows

by Paolo Maurensig & Anne Milano Appel

The strange circumstances surrounding the death of the world chess champion and alleged Nazi collaborator Alexander Alekhine, as investigated by a literary grand master

On the morning of March 24, 1946, the world...


Carnegie's Maid: A Novel

by Marie Benedict

From the author of The Other Einstein, the mesmerizing tale of what kind of woman could have inspired an American dynasty.

Clara Kelley is not who they think she is. She's not the experienced Irish maid who was...


Robin Hood's Dawn

by Olivia Longueville & J. C. Plummer

Don't miss this unique retelling of the Robin Hood legend!

England, 1154-1194

A kingdom under assault.

A conspiracy born of anarchy.

A hero standing against tyranny.

Falsely convicted of a shocking crime, Robin...


Robin Hood's Dawn

by Olivia Longueville & J. C. Plummer

England, 1154-1194

A kingdom under assault.

A conspiracy born of anarchy.

A hero standing against tyranny.

Falsely convicted of a shocking crime, Robin Fitzooth, the Earl of Huntingdon, finds refuge in Sherwood...


Edith Wharton: The Best Works

by Edith Wharton

This ebook compiles Edith Wharton's greatest writings, including novels, novellas and short stories such as "The Age of Innocence", "Ethan Frome", "Xingu", "Bunner Sisters" and "The House of Mirth". This edition...


Gold City

by M.T. Meyer

Gold City, Kansas, 1870

The War of Rebellion is over.  The great expansion to the west has begun.  It is frontier, not of just land, but of heart and spirit. Only the strongest survive. This is the saga of...


The Maze at Windermere: A Novel

by Gregory Blake Smith

“A dazzling high-wire act. I turned every page with a sense of wonder and excitement.” —RICHARD RUSSO

A richly layered novel of love, ambition, and duplicity, set against the storied seascape of Newport,...


The English Wife

by Lauren Willig

"Brings to life old world New York City and London with all the splendor of two of my favorite novels, The Age of Innocence and The Crimson Petal and the White. Mystery, murder, mistaken identity, romance--Lauren...


Dangerous Crossing

by Rachel Rhys

Servants and socialites sip cocktails side by side on their way to new lives in this “thrilling, seductive, and utterly absorbing” (Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author) historical suspense...


Peculiar Ground

by Lucy Hughes-Hallett

"Unlike anything I’ve read. With its broad scope and its intimacy and exactness, it cuts through the apparatus of life to the vivid moment. Haunting and huge, and funny and sensuous. It’s wonderful."—Tessa...


Fools and Mortals

by Bernard Cornwell

New York Times bestselling author Bernard Cornwell makes a dramatic departure with this enthralling, action-packed standalone novel that tells the story of the first production of A Midsummer Night's Dream—as...


Hap and Hazard and the End of the World

by Diane DeSanders

“Diane DeSanders writes the sort of prose that gives that telltale tingle down the spine, prose that paints vivid pictures in the mind and presents an entire, unique world: the Lone Star State, the state of...


Elizabeth's Hope

by Betty Bolte

Introducing the lives, loves, and dangerous times of the men and women in the A More Perfect Union historical romance series! This prequel novella takes place when Charles Town, South Carolina, is about to face...


A Tale of Two Cities

by Charles Dickens

A Tale of Two Cities (1859) is the second historical novel by Charles Dickens, set in London and Paris before and during the French Revolution. It depicts the plight of the French proletariat under the brutal...


From Beaton's to Beach Haven : A Cat Ghost BH G

by William W. Fortenbaugh

The present book focuses on a twenty-eight foot wooden

Catboot called Ghost. She belongs to a class of boats

unique to Bornegat Boy in New Jersey. The class

originated in 1922 and by 1924 was recognized as

a racing...


The Bohemian and the Abolitionist

by Ann Prehn

Greenwich Village, 1859: Artist Wendell Harte Parry is about the discover that freedom means more than "free love," and love is anything but free.

This juicy saga is spun from surprising and well-researched...


From Beaton's to Beach Haven

by William W. Fortenbaugh

The present book focuses on a twenty-eight foot wooden

Catboot called Ghost. She belongs to a class of boats

unique to Bornegat Boy in New Jersey. The class

originated in 1922 and by 1924 was recognized as

a racing...


The Athenian Women: A Novel

by Alessandro Barbero & Antony Shugaar

 The Athenian Women presents a powerful vision of class struggle, the subjugation of women under a patriarchal system, and the courage needed to change the course of history.

Athens, 411 BC. In the countryside,...


The Outcasts of Time

by Ian Mortimer

From the author described by the London Times as "the most remarkable historian of our time” comes a stunning, high-concept time-travel adventure that is perfect for fans of S. J. Parris and Kate Mosse. December...


Impossible Saints: A Novel

by Clarissa Harwood

Set in England in 1907, Impossible Saints is a novel that burns as brightly as the suffrage movement it depicts, with the emotional resonance of Tracy Chevalier and Jennifer Robson. Escaping the constraints...