Short Stories

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Origin

English (398)

Asian (15)

Hispanophone (13)

Nordic (9)

Middle eastern (6)

Slavic (5)

Australian, pacific, oceanian and polynesian (4)

Francophone (3)

Italian (3)

Germanophone (3)

Greek (2)

Lusophone (2)

African (2)

 

Language

English (4003)

French (709)

German (549)

Spanish (1051)

Italian (28)

 

Protection

All (4003)

DRM Free (272)

DRM (3725)

More options

Cold, Cold Heart

by Karin Slaughter

First comes love.

Then comes marriage.

Then comes revenge.

In this sensational short story from the bestselling author of The Kept Woman and Pretty Girls, fifty-two-year-old Pam has done her utmost as a loyal wife...


The Heart Is Deceitful Above All Things

by JT LeRoy & Jeff Feuerzeig

National Bestseller

With a new foreword by Jeff Feuerzeig

A timely reissue of the extraordinary stories by JT LeRoy/Laura Albert that won international acclaim, to be timed with the theatrical release of the documentary...


The Fantastic Fables of Ambrose Bierce - Thought Provoking and Humorous Fables from a Master of Modern Literature - With a Biography of the Author

by Ambrose Bierce

Ambrose Gwinnett Bierce was born in Meigs County, Ohio, United States in 1842. Bierce is critically best remembered for his fiction and many other writings are also generally regarded as some of the best war...


On Soldiers and Civilians - Short Stories of the American Civil War

by Ambrose Bierce

Ambrose Gwinnett Bierce was born in Meigs County, Ohio, United States in 1842. Bierce is critically best remembered for his fiction and many other writings are also generally regarded as some of the best war...


Body Contact

by Cathryn Fox

Body Contact is the second of a three-part erotic series from New York Times and USA best-selling author Cathryn Fox.

Asking pro football player Jack Rider to teach me everything he knows about sex might have...


The Greatest Short Stories of Leo Tolstoy

by Leo Tolstoy & GP Editors

Wonderfully wide-ranging and enjoyable, this outstanding collection features highly acclaimed short stories by Tolstoy who is regarded as one of the greatest writers in history.

Among Russian writers, Leo Tolstoy...


The Collected Stories

by Mavis Gallant

This generous collection of fifty-two stories, selected from across her prolific career by the author, includes a preface in which she discusses the sources of her art.

A widely admired master of the short story,...


Dinosaurs on Other Planets: Stories

by Danielle McLaughlin

For fans of Alice Munro, Anne Enright, and William Trevor comes a stunning debut collection from a deeply original writer and observer of love, betrayal, and turning points in ordinary peoples’ lives.

 

In...


When Watched: Stories

by Leopoldine Core

“A striking debut. . . . Core is a master raconteur. . . . Entrancing, subtle, and tragically poetic.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Full of dazzling insight and empathy.” —Refinery 29

A sly,...


Deep Roots

by Beth Cato

From the author of The Clockwork Dagger and The Clockwork Crown comes a compilation of short works set in the same world: The Deepest Poison, Final Flight, and the Nebula-nominated Wings of Sorrow and Bone.

THE...


Kate Chopin: The Complete Novels and Stories (Book House)

by Kate Chopin

This book contains the complete novels and stories of Kate Chopin in the chronological order of their original publication. NOVELS: At Fault The Awakening SHORT STORIES: Emancipation: A Life Fable Wiser Than...


After the Carnage

by Tara June Winch

Ten years after the much-acclaimed Swallow the Air, Tara June Winch returns with an extraordinary new collection of stories. A single mother resorts to extreme measures to protect her young son. A Namibian student...


We Come to Our Senses: Stories

by Odie Lindsey

For readers of Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk and Redeployment, a searing debut exploring the lives of veterans returning to their homes in the South. Lacerating and lyrical, We Come to Our Senses centers...


Lemons on Venus: A Collection of Short Stories

by Brad James Glenn

Lemons on Venus contains a number of stories by author Brad Glenn. From small towns to metropolitan cities, from laboratories to overgrown cemeteries, Brad Glenn weaves humanity into these stories of contemplation...


Rudyard Kipling: The Complete Children's Stories (Book House)

by Rudyard Kipling

This book contains the complete children's stories of Rudyard Kipling in the chronological order of their original publication. - The Jungle Book (a collection of 7 short stories) - The Second Jungle Book (a...


Rudyard Kipling: The Complete Novels and Stories (Book House)

by Rudyard Kipling

This book contains the complete novels and stories of Rudyard Kipling in the chronological order of their original publication. - Plain Tales from the Hills (a collection of 40 short stories) - Soldiers Three...


Whistling Past the Graveyard

by Jonathan Maberry

A lonely, nerdy paperboy encounters ancient evil on the shadowy back roads of his home town. A little girl spends her nights dreaming of monsters and teaching herself the art of murder. Sherlock Holmes journeys...


Charles Dickens: The Complete Christmas Books and Stories (Book House)

by Charles Dickens

This book contains all the Christmas books and stories written by Dickens. The Christmas Books: - A Christmas Carol - The Chimes - The Cricket on the Hearth - The Battle of Life - The Haunted Man and the Ghost's...


Aesop: The Complete Fables (Book House)

by Aesop

Here you will find the largest collection of Aesop’s fables available in English (the complete corpus of 358 fables). Aesop was probably a prisoner of war, sold into slavery in the early sixth century BCE,...


Stripped to the Bone: Portraits of Syrian Women

by Ghada Alatrash & David Salas

Set between war-torn Syria and the West, Stripped to the Bone explores issues of identity, love, strife, courage and resilience in seven fictional portraits of Syrian women. Author Ghada Alatrash was recently...