Penguin / Biography & autobiography

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Publisher

Delete Penguin

 

Category

Delete Biography & autobiography

 

In category

Personal Memoirs (107)

Women (25)

Literary (20)

Presidents & Heads of State (11)

Political (11)

Historical (9)

Entertainment & Performing Arts (8)

Rich & Famous (7)

Composers & Musicians (7)

Religious (6)

Adventurers & Explorers (5)

Artists, Architects, Photographers (4)

Military (4)

Editors, Journalists, Publishers (4)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (242)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Protection

All (242)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (242)

More options

Cut Me Loose: Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood

by Leah Vincent

In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, an electrifying memoir about a young woman's promiscuous and self-destructive spiral after being cast out of her ultra-Orthodox Jewish family

Leah Vincent...


Life Among the Savages

by Shirley Jackson

In a hilariously charming domestic memoir, America’s celebrated master of terror turns to a different kind of fright: raising children

In her celebrated fiction, Shirley Jackson explored the darkness lurking...


Raising Demons

by Shirley Jackson

In the uproarious sequel to Life Among the Savages, the author of The Haunting of Hill House confronts the most vexing demons yet: her childrenIn the long out-of-print sequel to Life Among the Savages, Jackson’s...


Coming Out to Play

by Robbie Rogers & Eric Marcus

“Rogers made history.” —Sports Illustrated

Robbie Rogers knows better than most that keeping secrets can crush you. But for much of his life Robbie lived in paralyzing fear that sharing his big secret would...


Salt, Sweat, Tears: The Men Who Rowed the Oceans

by Adam Rackley

A riveting first-person account and history of rowers who have attempted to navigate across the Atlantic

More people have climbed Mount Everest than have rowed across the Atlantic. For more than seventy days,...


The Mockingbird Next Door: Life with Harper Lee

by Marja Mills

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee is one of the best loved novels of the twentieth century. But for the last fifty years, the novel’s celebrated author, Harper Lee, has said almost nothing on the record....


The Angel in My Pocket: A Story of Love, Loss, and Life After Death

by Sukey Forbes

A grieving mother draws on her storied heritage to find her daughter in the afterlife

 

When Sukey Forbes lost her six-year-old daughter, Charlotte, to a rare genetic disorder, her life felt as if it were shattered...


The Most Dangerous Book: The Battle for James Joyce's Ulysses

by Kevin Birmingham

Recipient of the 2015 PEN New England Award for Nonfiction“The arrival of a significant young nonfiction writer . . . A measured yet bravura performance.” —Dwight Garner, The New York Times James Joyce’s...


Drunk Mom: A Memoir

by Jowita Bydlowska

An intense, complex and disturbing story, bravely and beautifully told.  I read Drunk Mom with my jaw on the floor, which doesn’t happen to me that often." - Lena Dunham

 

Three years after giving up...


James Madison: A Life Reconsidered

by Lynne Cheney

A major new biography of the fourth president of the United States by New York Times bestselling author Lynne Cheney This majestic new biography of James Madison explores the astonishing story of a man of vaunted...


The Keillor Reader

by Garrison Keillor

Stories, essays, poems, and personal reminiscences from the sage of Lake Wobegon

 

When, at thirteen, he caught on as a sportswriter for the Anoka Herald, Garrison Keillor set out to become a professional writer,...


A Man Called Destruction: The Life and Music of Alex Chilton, From Box Tops to Big Star to Backdoor Man

by Holly George-Warren

The first biography of the artist who “essentially invented indie and alternative rock” (Spin)

A brilliant and influential songwriter, vocalist, and guitarist, the charismatic Alex Chilton was more than a...


The Bohemians: Mark Twain and the San Francisco Writers Who Reinvented American Literature

by Ben Tarnoff

An extraordinary portrait of a fast-changing America—and the Western writers who gave voice to its emerging identity

At once an intimate portrait of an unforgettable group of writers and a history of a cultural...


The Bosnia List: A Memoir of War, Exile, and Return

by Kenan Trebincevic & Susan Shapiro

A young survivor of the Bosnian War returns to his homeland to confront the people who betrayed his family

At age eleven, Kenan Trebincevic was a happy, karate-loving kid living with his family in the quiet Eastern...


Dancing Through It: My Journey in the Ballet

by Jenifer Ringer

“A glimpse into the fragile psyche of a dancer.” —The Washington Post

Jenifer Ringer, a principal dancer with the New York City Ballet, was thrust into the headlines after her weight was commented on by...


Eliot Ness: The Rise and Fall of an American Hero

by Douglas Perry

The story of Eliot Ness, the legendary lawman who led the Untouchables, took on Al Capone, and saved a city’s soul

As leader of an unprecedented crime-busting squad, twenty-eight-year-old Eliot Ness won fame...


Lincoln's Boys: John Hay, John Nicolay, and the War for Lincoln's Image

by Joshua Zeitz

An intimate look into Lincoln’s White House and the aftermath of his death, via the lives of his two closest aides

In this timely look into Abraham Lincoln’s White House, and the aftermath of his death, noted...


Pinkerton's Great Detective: The Amazing Life and Times of James McParland

by Beau Riffenburgh

The story of the legendary Pinkerton detective who took down the Molly Maguires and the Wild Bunch

The operatives of the Pinkerton’s National Detective Agency were renowned for their skills of subterfuge, infiltration,...


Mozart: A Life

by Paul Johnson

Eminent historian Paul Johnson dazzles with a rich, succinct portrait of Mozart and his music

As he’s done in Napoleon, Churchill, Jesus, and Darwin, acclaimed historian and author Paul Johnson here offers...


Philomena: A Mother, Her Son, and a Fifty-Year Search (Movie Tie-in)

by Martin Sixsmith & Judi Dench

New York Times Bestseller

The heartbreaking true story of an Irishwoman and the secret she kept for 50 years

When she became pregnant as a teenager in Ireland in 1952, Philomena Lee was sent to a convent to be...