Biography & autobiography / Artists, Architects, Photographers

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Artists, Architects, Photographers

 

Language

English (457)

French (127)

German (85)

Spanish (122)

Italian (139)

 

Protection

All (457)

DRM Free (24)

DRM (432)

More options

Cities of Gold: A Journey Across the American Southwest  in Pursuit of Coronado

by Douglas Preston & Walter W Nelson

This new ebook edition includes for first time over 100 never-before-published photographs taken during the author's epic, thousand mile horseback journey across Arizona and New Mexico. It also includes rare...


Cities of Gold

by Douglas Preston & Walter W Nelson

This new ebook edition includes for first time over 100 never-before-published photographs taken during the author's epic, thousand mile horseback journey across Arizona and New Mexico. It also includes rare...


The Shattered Lens: A War Photographer's True Story of Captivity and Survival in Syria

by Jonathan Alpeyrie & Stash Luczkiw

Discover a gripping and harrowing tale of war and torture from the man who lived it in this powerful memoir by the celebrated war journalist who not only documented over a dozen conflict zones worldwide but...


The Collector of Lives: Giorgio Vasari and the Invention of Art

by Ingrid Rowland & Noah Charney

In the tradition of The Swerve and How to Live, this vivid biography reveals how a Renaissance scholar reshaped the visual world.

Giorgio Vasari (1511–1574) was a man of many talents—a sculptor, painter,...


The Naked Truth About Harrison Marks

by Franklyn Wood & Gavin Whitaker

Pinup photographer George Harrison Marks appreciates woman like other men appreciate porcelain, paintings, cigarette cards or trading stamps.

He confesses, “I am Lucky, they are my work as well as my hobby…and...


Feeling is the Thing that Happens in 1000th of a Second: A Season of Cricket Photographer Patrick Eagar

by Christian Ryan

'Exquisite' Gideon Haigh

'Magical, a head rush, a marvel' Rahul Bhattacharya

'Startlingly original' Matthew Engel

In 1975 Patrick Eagar took some photographs which were unlike any cricket photographs anyone had...


A Place for All People

by Richard Rogers

Richard Rogers is one of the pre-eminent architects of his generation, whose approach to buildings is infused with his love of life, strong sense of social justice, and his playful aesthetic sense. From the...


A Generous Vision

by Cathy Curtis

The first biography of Elaine de Kooning, A Generous Vision portrays a woman whose intelligence, droll sense of humor, and generosity of spirit endeared her to friends and gave her a starring role in the close-knit...


The Way It Is

by James King

  • First-ever biography and critical survey of a major artist who disrupted the Canadian art establishment
  • Features gorgeous colour reproductions of many of Curnoe’s most vivid and important paintings, which...


Sargent's Women: Four Lives Behind the Canvas

by Donna M. Lucey

"Sargent’s Women has a distinct elegance and potency—Lucey’s writing propels you forward, straight to the heart of the story, along the vibrant ties that linked this fascinating artist to the women he...


AMIEL’S JOURNAL - The Journal Intime of Henri-Frédéric Amiel

by Henri & Frédéric Amiel

Henri Frédéric Amiel was a Swiss moral philosopher, poet, and critic. Born in Geneva in 1821, he was descended from a Huguenot family driven to Switzerland by the revocation of the Edict of Nantes. After losing...


Gainsborough: A Portrait

by James Hamilton

** BBC Radio 4 Book of the Week **

'Compulsively readable - the pages seem to turn themselves' John Carey, Sunday Times

'Brings one of the very greatest [artists] vividly to life' Literary Review

Thomas Gainsborough...


Splendours and Miseries: The Roy Strong Diaries, 1967-87

by Roy Strong

'The Alan Clark diaries of cultural politics' Sunday Times

'At every word a reputation dies' A. N. Wilson

Roy Strong is best known as the flamboyant former director of two great cultural institutions - the National...


INSIDE OUT

by Mark Holden

In this fresh, amusing, and inspirational autobiography, Mark Holden shines the light on the power of reinvention and provides an intriguing account of a variegated life as an award-winning rock musician, international...


After Andy: Adventures in Warhol Land

by Natasha Fraser-Cavassoni

After Andy is Natasha Fraser-Cavassoni’s insider's account of working in Andy Warhol’s studio and Interview magazine, and explores Warhol’s impact on the art world, pop culture, society, and fashion—and...


Tex

by Tex Perkins

Singer. Songwriter. Swamp child. Soul man. Tex Perkins is a true rock'n'roll animal. In this loud, uncut, no-holds-barred, laugh-out-loud and take-no-prisoners memoir, the enigmatic king of the Australian music...


Von Ripper's Odyssey: War, Resistance, Art and Love

by Sian Mackay

The Austrian aristocrat Baron Rudolph von Ripper (1905–60) was acclaimed internationally as an artist, military hero and bon viveur before his astonishing legacy was unintentionally erased by history. Fortuitously,...


The Great Nadar: The Man Behind the Camera

by Adam Begley

A dazzling, stylish biography of a fabled Parisian photographer, adventurer, and pioneer.

A recent French biography begins, Who doesn't know Nadar? In France, that's a rhetorical question. Of all of the legendary...


Charles Pachter

by Leonard Wise, Margaret Atwood & Tom Smart

The life and times biography of one of Canada’s best-known living artists, the irascible, witty, and larger-than-life Charles Pachter.

Charles Pachter, the grandchild of poor Jewish immigrants from Eastern...


Unreasonable Behavior

by Don McCullin

From the construction of the Berlin Wall through every major conflict of his adult lifetime up to the Syrian Civil War, photographer Don McCullin has left a trail of iconic images. Revised and updated after...