Biography & autobiography / Artists, Architects, Photographers

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Artists, Architects, Photographers

 

Language

English (455)

French (133)

German (90)

Spanish (124)

Italian (142)

 

Protection

All (455)

DRM Free (28)

DRM (426)

More options

Aleister Crowley in America: Art, Espionage, and Sex Magick in the New World

by Tobias Churton

An exploration of Crowley’s relationship with the United States

• Details Crowley’s travels, passions, literary and artistic endeavors, sex magick, and psychedelic experimentation

• Investigates Crowley’s...


Francisco Goya

by 50MINUTES.Com

Keen to learn but short on time? Find out everything you need to know about the life and work of Francisco Goya in just 50 minutes with this straightforward and engaging guide!

Francisco Goya is one of the most...


The Life of Charlotte Brontë

by Elizabeth Gaskell

Elizabeth Gaskell's biography of her close friend Charlotte Bronte; was published in 1857 to immediate popular acclaim, and remains the most significant study of the enigmatic author who gave Jane Eyre the subtitle...


American Witness: The Art and Life of Robert Frank

by RJ Smith

From the author of the acclaimed James Brown biography The One comes the first in-depth biography of renowned photographer and filmmaker Robert Frank, best known for his landmark book The Americans.

As well-known...


Helen Gee: Limelight, a Greenwich Village Photography Gallery and Coffeehouse in the Fifties

by Helen Gee & Denise Bethel

In the late 1950s, the Limelight gallery and coffeehouse was the intellectual hangout of Greenwich Village, drawing patrons and critics with the work of such figures as Minor White, Ansel Adams, Imogen Cunningham,...


Michael Graves: Design for Life

by Ian Volner

One of the most prominent and prolific designers and architects of the late twentieth century, Michael Graves is best known for his popular product designs, including the world-famous Alessi whistling-bird teakettle,...


Leonardo da Vinci

by Walter Isaacson

The #1 New York Times bestseller

“A powerful story of an exhilarating mind and life...a study in creativity: how to define it, how to achieve it.” —The New Yorker

“Vigorous, insightful.” —The Washington...


Cities of Gold

by Douglas Preston & Walter W Nelson

This new ebook edition includes for first time over 100 never-before-published photographs taken during the author's epic, thousand mile horseback journey across Arizona and New Mexico. It also includes rare...


The Shattered Lens: A War Photographer's True Story of Captivity and Survival in Syria

by Jonathan Alpeyrie & Stash Luczkiw

Discover a gripping and harrowing tale of war and torture from the man who lived it in this powerful memoir by the celebrated war journalist who not only documented over a dozen conflict zones worldwide but...


The Collector of Lives: Giorgio Vasari and the Invention of Art

by Ingrid Rowland & Noah Charney

In the tradition of The Swerve and How to Live, this vivid biography reveals how a Renaissance scholar reshaped the visual world.

Giorgio Vasari (1511–1574) was a man of many talents—a sculptor, painter,...


The Naked Truth About Harrison Marks

by Franklyn Wood & Gavin Whitaker

Pinup photographer George Harrison Marks appreciates woman like other men appreciate porcelain, paintings, cigarette cards or trading stamps.

He confesses, “I am Lucky, they are my work as well as my hobby…and...


A Place for All People

by Richard Rogers

Richard Rogers is one of the pre-eminent architects of his generation, whose approach to buildings is infused with his love of life, strong sense of social justice, and his playful aesthetic sense. From the...


A Generous Vision

by Cathy Curtis

The first biography of Elaine de Kooning, A Generous Vision portrays a woman whose intelligence, droll sense of humor, and generosity of spirit endeared her to friends and gave her a starring role in the close-knit...


The Way It Is

by James King

  • First-ever biography and critical survey of a major artist who disrupted the Canadian art establishment
  • Features gorgeous colour reproductions of many of Curnoe’s most vivid and important paintings, which...


Renoir: An Intimate Biography

by Barbara Ehrlich White

A major new biography of this enduringly popular artist by the world’s foremost scholar of his life and work

Expertly researched and beautifully written by the world’s leading authority on Auguste Renoir’s...


Sargent's Women: Four Lives Behind the Canvas

by Donna M. Lucey

"Sargent’s Women has a distinct elegance and potency—Lucey’s writing propels you forward, straight to the heart of the story, along the vibrant ties that linked this fascinating artist to the women he...


AMIEL’S JOURNAL - The Journal Intime of Henri-Frédéric Amiel

by Henri & Frédéric Amiel

Henri Frédéric Amiel was a Swiss moral philosopher, poet, and critic. Born in Geneva in 1821, he was descended from a Huguenot family driven to Switzerland by the revocation of the Edict of Nantes. After losing...


Gainsborough: A Portrait

by James Hamilton

** BBC Radio 4 Book of the Week **

'Compulsively readable - the pages seem to turn themselves' John Carey, Sunday Times

'Brings one of the very greatest [artists] vividly to life' Literary Review

Thomas Gainsborough...


INSIDE OUT

by Mark Holden

In this fresh, amusing, and inspirational autobiography, Mark Holden shines the light on the power of reinvention and provides an intriguing account of a variegated life as an award-winning rock musician, international...


After Andy: Adventures in Warhol Land

by Natasha Fraser-Cavassoni

After Andy is Natasha Fraser-Cavassoni’s insider's account of working in Andy Warhol’s studio and Interview magazine, and explores Warhol’s impact on the art world, pop culture, society, and fashion—and...