Biography & autobiography / Military

New Releases / Page 2

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Military

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (571)

French (13)

German (0)

Spanish (14)

Italian (46)

 

Protection

All (571)

DRM Free (33)

DRM (538)

More options

Commander Will Cushing: Daredevil Hero of the Civil War

by Jamie Malanowski

The lead writer of the New York Times’s award-winning “Disunion” series introduces William Barker Cushing, the Civil War’s most celebrated naval hero. October 1864. The confederate ironclad CSS Albemarle...


Taking Command

by David Richards

General Sir David Richards is one of the best known British generals of modern times. In 2013 he retired after over forty years of service in the British Army and a career that had seen him rise from junior...


The Invisible Front: Love and Loss in an Era of Endless War

by Yochi Dreazen

The unforgettable story of a military family that lost two sons—one to suicide and one in combat—and channeled their grief into fighting the armed forces’ suicide epidemic.

Major General Mark Graham was...


Rise: A Soldier, a Dream, and a Promise Kept

by Daniel Rodriguez & Joe Layden

The epic story of Daniel Rodriguez, a soldier who fought in one of the bloodiest battles in Afghanistan, and against all odds, lived to pursue his dream of playing Division 1 college football


The Rough Riders (Rediscovered Books): With linked Table of Contents

by Theodore Roosevelt

The Rough Riders was the name bestowed on the 1st United States Volunteer Cavalry. Roosevelt had resigned as Assistant Secretary of the Navy to fight in the war, and his forceful personality and notoriety among...


Rebel Yell: The Violence, Passion, and Redemption of Stonewall Jackson

by S. C. Gwynne

From the author of the prizewinning New York Times bestseller Empire of the Summer Moon comes a thrilling account of how Civil War general Thomas “Stonewall” Jackson became a great and tragic American hero....


Killing Patton

by Bill O'Reilly & Martin Dugard

Readers around the world have thrilled to Killing Lincoln, Killing Kennedy, and Killing Jesus--riveting works of nonfiction that journey into the heart of the most famous murders in history. Now from Bill O’Reilly,...


Ben's War with the U. S. Marines

by Peter H Green

Ben's War with the U. S. Marines is biographical account of the humorous but serious World War II misadventures of Pfc. Ben Green--a misplaced Chicago radio producer who battled the system in order to serve...


One Million Steps: A Marine Platoon at War

by Bing West

Battalion 3/5 suffered the highest number of casualties in the war in Afghanistan. This is the story of one platoon in that distinguished battalion.

 

Aware of U.S. plans to withdraw from the country, knowing...


My Life as a Foreign Country: A Memoir

by Brian Turner

A war memoir of unusual literary beauty and power from the acclaimed poet who wrote the poem “The Hurt Locker.” In 2003, Sergeant Brian Turner crossed the line of departure with a convoy of soldiers headed...


Eisenhower: A Life

by Paul Johnson

Acclaimed historian Paul Johnson's lively, succinct biography of Dwight D. Eisenhower explores how his legacy endures today

In the rousing style he's famous for, celebrated biographer Paul Johnson offers a fascinating...


Once a Hussar: A Memoir of Battle, Capture, and Escape in World War II

by Ray Ellis

Once a Hussar is a vivid account of the wartime experiences of Ray Ellis, a gunner who in later life recorded this well-written, candid, and perceptive memoir of the conflict he knew as a young man seventy years...


Level Zero Heroes

by Michael Golembesky & John R. Bruning

A New York Times Best seller!

In Level Zero Heroes, Michael Golembesky follows the members of U.S. Marine Special Operations Team 8222 on their assignment to the remote and isolated Taliban stronghold known as...


Sylvia Rafael: The Life and Death of a Mossad Spy

by Moti Kfir, Ram Oren & Shlomo (Ret.) Gazit

"There is a lack of quiet in Sylvia that craves for action.... She knows that she is special and that she possesses unusual and varied abilities." -- From the Mossad's psychological evaluation of Sylvia Rafael...


SAS Insider: An Elite SAS Fighter on Life in Australia's Toughest and Most Secretive Combat Unit

by Clint Palmer & Robert Macklin

The true story of Australia's SAS and the soldier who was there from the start.

Clint Palmer has spent much of his adult life in the SAS and has fought in this elite military unit as it developed from its fledgling...


Soldier Girls: The Battles of Three Women at Home and at War

by Helen Thorpe

From an award-winning, “meticulously observant” (The New Yorker), and “masterful” (Booklist) writer comes a groundbreaking account of three women deployed to Afghanistan and Iraq, and how their military...


The Burning of the World: A Memoir of 1914

by Bela Zombory-Moldovan & Peter Zombory-Moldovan

Publishing during the 100th Anniversary of the First World War

 

An NYRB Classics Original

 

The budding young Hungarian artist Béla Zombory-Moldován was on holiday when the First World War broke out in...


Thunder Below!: The USS *Barb* Revolutionizes Submarine Warfare in World War II

by Eugene B. Fluckey

A Main Selection of the Military Book Club. Winner of the Rear Admiral Samuel Eliot Morison Award for Naval Literature given by the Naval Order of the United States, New York Commandery


Sgt. Reckless: America's War Horse

by Robin Hutton

New York Times Bestseller!

From the racetrack to the battlefield—dauntless, fearless, and exemplar of Semper Fi—she was Reckless, "pride of the Marines."

A Mongolian mare who was bred to be a racehorse, Ah-Chim-Hai,...


Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

by H.D.S. Greenway

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David...