Biography & autobiography / Military

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Military

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (567)

French (8)

German (1)

Spanish (12)

Italian (43)

 

Protection

All (567)

DRM Free (33)

DRM (534)

More options

One Million Steps: A Marine Platoon at War

by Bing West

Battalion 3/5 suffered the highest number of casualties in the war in Afghanistan. This is the story of one platoon in that distinguished battalion.

 

Aware of U.S. plans to withdraw from the country, knowing...


Eisenhower: A Life

by Paul Johnson

Acclaimed historian Paul Johnson's lively, succinct biography of Dwight D. Eisenhower explores how his legacy endures today

In the rousing style he's famous for, celebrated biographer Paul Johnson offers a fascinating...


Once a Hussar: A Memoir of Battle, Capture, and Escape in World War II

by Ray Ellis

Once a Hussar is a vivid account of the wartime experiences of Ray Ellis, a gunner who in later life recorded this well-written, candid, and perceptive memoir of the conflict he knew as a young man seventy years...


Level Zero Heroes

by Michael Golembesky & John R. Bruning

In Level Zero Heroes, Michael Golembesky follows the members of U.S. Marine Special Operations Team 8222 on their assignment to the remote and isolated Taliban stronghold known as Bala Murghab as they conduct...


Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

by H.D.S. Greenway

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David...


SAS Insider: An Elite SAS Fighter on Life in Australia's Toughest and Most Secretive Combat Unit

by Clint Palmer & Robert Macklin

The true story of Australia's SAS and the soldier who was there from the start.

Clint Palmer has spent much of his adult life in the SAS and has fought in this elite military unit as it developed from its fledgling...


Soldier Girls: The Battles of Three Women at Home and at War

by Helen Thorpe

From an award-winning, “meticulously observant” (The New Yorker), and “masterful” (Booklist) writer comes a groundbreaking account of three women deployed to Afghanistan and Iraq, and how their military...


The Burning of the World: A Memoir of 1914

by Bela Zombory-Moldovan & Peter Zombory-Moldovan

Publishing during the 100th Anniversary of the First World War

 

An NYRB Classics Original

 

The budding young Hungarian artist Béla Zombory-Moldován was on holiday when the First World War broke out in...


Sgt. Reckless: America's War Horse

by Robin Hutton

From the racetrack to the battlefield—dauntless, fearless, and exemplar of Semper Fi—she was Reckless, "pride of the Marines."

A Mongolian mare who was bred to be a racehorse, Ah-Chim-Hai, or Flame-of-the-Morning,...


Let Me Go

by Helga Schneider

When Helga Schneider was four, her mother, Traudi, abandoned her to pursue her career. In 1998, Helga received a letter asking her to visit Traudi, now 90-years old, before she dies. Mother and daughter have...


Behind the Lines

by Russell Miller

This is the story of special operations in the second world war as it has never been told before-directly by those who took part.

Compiled from interviews, diaries, letters and contemporaneous first-person accounts-many...


Fierce Patriot: The Tangled Lives of William Tecumseh Sherman

by Robert L. O'Connell

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

William Tecumseh Sherman was more than just one of our greatest generals. Fierce Patriot is a bold, revisionist portrait of how this iconic and enigmatic figure exerted an outsize impact on...


Field Exercises: How Veterans Are Healing Themselves Through Farming and Outdoor Activities

by Stephanie Westlund

How connecting with nature is helping veterans reintegrate into civilian life and recover from PTSD.


The Real Custer: From Boy General to Tragic Hero

by James S Robbins

The Real Custer takes a good hard look at the life and storied military career of George Armstrong Custer—from cutting his teeth at Bull Run in the Civil War, to his famous and untimely death at Little Bighorn...


Within Arm's Length: A Secret Service Agent's Definitive Inside Account of Protecting the President

by Dan Emmett

A rare inside look at the Secret Service from an agent who provided protection worldwide for President George H. W. Bush, President William Clinton, and President George W. Bush

Dan Emmett was just eight years...


Trauma Red: The Making of a Surgeon in War and in America's Cities

by Peter Rhee & Gordon Dillow

The incredible life story of the trauma surgeon who helped save Congresswoman Gabby Giffords­—from his upbringing in South Korea and Africa to the gripping dramas he faces in a typical day as a medical genius....


Sagittarius Rising

by Cecil Lewis & Samuel Hynes

A memoir by a WWI fighter pilot, with the adventurous spirit of War Horse and the charm of The Little Prince

A singular, lyrical book, Sagittarius Rising is at once an exuberant memoir from the Lost Generation...


Friendly Fire

by Mike Friscolanti

The text below is an excerpt from Friendly Fire.

It is the early morning of April 18, 2002, following the mayhem of a bomb attack on a section of the Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry, outside Kandahar,...


Inside Marine One

by Ray L'Heureux & Lee Kelley

Col. Ray "Frenchy" L'Heureux always dreamed of bring a pilot. Growing up, he built airplane models and dreamed about soaring over the earth. When he was twelve, his mom treated him to a flying lesson...


No Man's War: Irreverent Confessions of an Infantry Wife

by Angela Ricketts

Raised as an Army brat, Angie Ricketts thought she knew what she was in for when she eloped with Darrin—then an infantry lieutenant—on the eve of his deployment to Somalia. Since that time, Darrin, now a colonel,...