Biography & autobiography / Medical

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Awards

 

Category

Delete Medical

 

Language

English (296)

French (39)

German (35)

Spanish (18)

Italian (56)

 

Protection

All (296)

DRM Free (8)

DRM (288)

More options

Tell Me Everything You Don't Remember

by Christine Hyung-Oak Lee

A memoir of reinvention after a stroke at age thirty-three.

Christine Hyung-Oak Lee woke up with a headache on the morning of December 31, 2006. By that afternoon, she saw the world—quite literally—upside...


The Perpetual Now: A Story of Amnesia, Memory, and Love

by Michael D. Lemonick

In the aftermath of a shattering illness, Lonni Sue Johnson lives in a "perpetual now," where she has almost no memories of the past and a nearly complete inability to form new ones. The Perpetual Now is the...


The Cancer Whisperer: Finding Courage, Direction, and The Unlikely Gifts of Cancer

by Sophie Sabbage

The self-published sensation and UK bestseller that has helped thousands touched by cancer.

“I have cancer. Cancer does not have me.”

Sophie Sabbage was forty-eight years old, happily married, and mother...


n of 1: One man's Harvard-documented remission of incurable cancer using only natural methods

by Dawn Lemanne Md Mph, Glenn Sabin & Dean Ornish Md

Twenty-five years ago my doctors had no cure for my cancer. So I went on a quest to find my own treatment. This is my story...

In 1991, Glenn Sabin was a 28-year-old newlywed diagnosed with chronic lymphocytic...


KIDNEY FOR SALE: A struggle for survival

by Yasmin Ghurki

Kidney failure affects the lives of thousands of people around the world. Whilst dialysis provides a lifeline, it does not guarantee a healthy and long life. Transplantation is the better option.

But, there...


Scarred

by Kim McCusker

Brutally dragged 780 metres beneath a taxi, a young woman’s inspiring story of survival, courage, and the will to live. 13 September 2011. The story would shock thousands and be remembered by many for years...


Menus, Munitions and Keeping the Peace: The Home Front Diaries of Gabrielle West 1914 - 1917

by Avalon Weston

When Gabrielle West wrote diaries about her war to send to her much missed favorite brother in India she had no idea that a hundred years later they would be of interest to anyone. Soon after the outbreak of...


Human Heart, Cosmic Heart

by Thomas Cowan

Thomas Cowan was a 20-year-old Duke grad—bright, skeptical, and already disillusioned with industrial capitalism—when he joined the Peace Corps in the mid-1970s for a two-year tour in Swaziland. There, he...


Our Stroke of Luck: New Technology Enables Stroke Victims to Make a Full Recovery

A Chapter Of Life: A Midwife's African Adventure

by Mary Church Anderson

In 1964 Mary Church Anderson decided she wanted to see the world. As a qualified midwife she was given the chance to work in what was then Northern Rhodesia (now Zambia.)

She decided to take the opportunity...


A Tango with Cancer: My Perilous Dance with Healthcare & Healing

by Apryl Allen

“The fight against cancer isn’t necessarily limited to eradicating it from your body; too often it continues with the very system that’s supposed to heal us.”

      — Apryl Allen

Apryl Allen...


Hold On, Let Go: Facing ALS with courage and hope

by Nadine Sands & Michael Sands

This “stay positive in difficult times” story is about a man with ALS (also known as Lou Gehrig’s disease) and his wife who writes about their inspiring journey in her blog called ALS With Courage.

In...


Tested!: How we refused to let epilepsy define who we are

by Margaret Hope & Anoush Hope-Fischer

Once again, I congratulate my friends Margaret and Anoush for having the courage to tell their stories so eloquently, so movingly and so compellingly. I believe they should be read by every one of our physicians,...


The Late Bloomer: A Memoir of My Body

by Ken Baker

Soon to be a feature film, The Late Bloomer is the revealing, harrowing and often funny memoir of a celebrity journalist and former hotshot hockey player who discovers that he has been biochemically infused...


A Life Everlasting

by Sarah Gray

A donor mother’s powerful memoir of grief and rebirth that is also a fascinating medical science whodunit, taking us inside the world of organ, eye, tissue, and blood donation and cutting-edge scientific research....


A Plague on All Our Houses: Medical Intrigue, Hollywood, and the Discovery of AIDS

by MD Bruce J. Hillman

The medical detective story of Dr. Michael Gottlieb’s discovery of AIDS, his struggle with the medical establishment, and the temptations of Hollywood


Headcase: A True Story of Love, Life, Medical  Miracles & Battling Against the Odds

by John Walsh

John Walsh was living his dream life when his world came crashing down around him. Diagnosed with a rare and aggressive brain tumor at age 23, he has since battled several occurrences and now lives with inoperable...


Patient H.M.: A Story of Memory, Madness, and Family Secrets

by Luke Dittrich

“Oliver Sacks meets Stephen King”* in this propulsive, haunting journey into the life of the most studied human research subject of all time, the amnesic known as Patient H.M. For readers of The Immortal...


The Mystery of Isabella and the String of Beads: A Woman Doctor in WW1

by Kirkwood Katrina

It was the inscription that made the antique scalpels so tantalising: ‘Isabella Stenhouse’. A woman doctor? A woman doctor who was rumoured to have served in the First World War? Could Isabella have treated...


Meniere Man. Let's Get Better: A Memoir Of Meniere's Disease

by Man Meniere

Read a truly remarkable success story on how a Meniere sufferer has been able to live the symptom free life for over 15 years.

With his self-help regime he now has, no bad days, no brain fog, no vertigo, no...