Biography & autobiography / Women

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Women

 

Language

English (1646)

French (125)

German (159)

Spanish (117)

Italian (254)

 

Protection

All (1646)

DRM Free (45)

DRM (1600)

More options

Off the Cliff: How the Making of Thelma & Louise Drove Hollywood to the Edge

by Becky Aikman

A lively and revealing behind-the-scenes look at the making of one of history's most controversial and influential movies, drawing on exclusive interviews with the cast and crew.

“You’ve always been crazy,”...


Katie Luther, First Lady of the Reformation

by Ruth A. Tucker

Katharina von Bora, wife of Martin Luther, was by any measure the First Lady of the Reformation. A strong woman with a mind of her own, she would remain unknown to us were it not for her larger than life husband....


My Glory Was I Had Such Friends

by Amy Silverstein

In this moving memoir about the power of friendship and the resilience of the human spirit, Amy Silverstein tells the story of the extraordinary group of women who supported her as she waited on the precipice...


The Genius of Jane Austen

by Paula Byrne

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this updated edition of Paula Byrne's debut book includes new material that explores the history of Austen stage adaptations, why her books work so well on screen, and what that...


Blue Money

by Janet Capron

New York City, 1971, a balmy August evening: Just seven blocks from her childhood home, a young woman walks into a Park Avenue apartment and into the troubled arms of her first trick.

So begins Blue Money—a...


Cartel Wives: A True Story of Deadly Decisions, Steadfast Love, and Bringing Down El Chapo

by Mia Flores & Olivia Flores

An astonishing, revelatory, and redemptive memoir from two women who escaped the international drug trade, with never-before-revealed details about El Chapo, the Sinaloa Cartel, and the dangerous world of illicit...


So Happiness to Meet You

by Karin Esterhammer

After job losses and the housing crash, the author and her family leave LA to start over in a most unlikely place: a 9-foot-wide back-alley house in one of Ho Chi Minh City's poorest districts, where neighbors...


He Never Came Home: Interviews, Stories, and Essays from Daughters on Life Without Their Fathers

by Regina R. Robertson & Joy-Ann Reid

He Never Came Home is a collection of 22 personal essays written by girls and women who have been separated from their fathers by way of divorce, abandonment, or death. The contributors to this collection come...


Daring to Drive: A Saudi Woman's Awakening

by Manal al-Sharif

A ferociously intimate memoir by a devout woman from a modest family in Saudi Arabia who became the unexpected leader of a courageous movement to support women’s right to drive.

Manal al-Sharif grew up in Mecca...


Operatic Divas and Naked Irishmen: An Innkeeper's Tale

by Nancy R. Hinchliff

At sixty four, divorced and retired, with no prior business experience and little start up money, the author impulsively moves to a new city where she knows only one person, buys a 125-year-old historic mansion,...


The Bright Hour

by Nina Riggs

* INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER *

“Stunning…heartrending…this year’s When Breath Becomes Air.” —Nora Krug, The Washington Post

“Beautiful and haunting.” —Matt McCarthy, MD, USA TODAY

“Deeply...


Twenty Years at Hull House

by Jane Addams

Hull-House is a settlement house in the United States that was co-founded in 1889 by Jane Addams and Ellen Gates Starr. Located in the Near West Side of Chicago, Illinois, Hull-House opened its doors to the...


Bird Woman (Sacajawea) the Guide of Lewis and Clark: Her Own Story Now First Given to the World

by James Willard Schultz

Bird Woman is historian James Schultz’s biography of Sacajawea culled from the first-hand accounts of various elderly Native Americans who personally knew her. Schultz weaves together the key events in Sacajawea’s...


Alabama Women: Their Lives and Times

by Susan Ashmore, Lisa Lindquist Dorr & Christopher D. Haveman

Another addition to the Southern Women series, Alabama Women celebrates women’s histories in the Yellowhammer State by highlighting the lives and contributions of women and enriching our understanding of the...


The General's Niece: The Little-Known de Gaulle Who Fought to Free Occupied France

by Paige Bowers

"My dear Uncle Charles," twenty-two-year-old Geneviève de Gaulle wrote on May 6, 1943. "Maybe you have already heard about the different events affecting the family." The general's brother Pierre had...


The Untold Journey

by Natalie Robins

Throughout her life, Diana Trilling (1905-1996) wrote about profound social changes with candor and wisdom, first for The Nation and later for Partisan Review, Harpers, and such popular magazines as Vogue and...


A Girl Walks into a Book: What the Brontës Taught Me about Life, Love, and Women's Work

by Miranda Pennington

How many times have you heard readers argue about which is better, Jane Eyre or Wuthering Heights? The works of Charlotte, Emily, and Anne continue to provoke passionate fandom over a century after their deaths....


Shared Tables

by Kaumudi Marathé

When Kaumudi Marathé moved to the US from India, she never thought she’d be a famous chef, food writer and unofficial spokesperson for Indian cuisine abroad. Shared Tables is her memoir of an unlikely career...


Finding Your Feet

by Corinne Hutton

Fighting for my life and losing my limbs wasn’t really in my plans for the future, strangely enough! So, when it happened, I had to find the will to live, the motivation to learn everything again and the strength...


Mad or Bad?: The Life and Exploits of Amy Bock, 1859-1943

by Jenny Coleman

Amy Bock's life has been the inspiration for plays, books, a TV program, music, poems, an exhibition and more, but Mad or Bad? is the first comprehensive biography. And while Amy gained notoriety as a daring,...