Biography & autobiography / Women

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (1401)

French (267)

German (10)

Spanish (179)

Italian (218)

 

Category

Delete Women

 

Audience

Adult (1401)

 

Protection

All (1401)

DRM Free (90)

DRM (1310)

More options

American Daughter

by Stephanie Thornton Plymale & Elissa Wald

"A STORY OF REDEMPTION AND FORGIVENESS"—NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW

For 50 years, Stephanie Plymale kept her past a fiercely guarded secret. No one outside her immediate family would have guessed that her childhood...


The Captivity of Mary Rowlandson

by Mary Rowlandson

Mary Rowlandson was a colonial American woman captured by Native Americans in 1676 and held for 11 weeks before being ransomed. In 1682, six years after her ordeal, The Sovereignty, and Goodness of God: Being...


On Love and Tyranny

by Ann Dr. Heberlein & Alice Menzies

In an utterly unique approach to biography, On Love and Tyranny traces the life and work of the iconic German Jewish intellectual Hannah Arendt, whose political philosophy and understandings of evil, totalitarianism,...


H. P. Blavatsky and The Theosophical Movement

by Charles J. Ryan

Helena Petrovna Blavatsky (1831-1891), Russian-born Occultist, was co-founder of The Theosophical Society in 1875 and without doubt, the most dynamic woman and the most baffling character of the Nineteenth Century....


Girl Gurl Grrrl

by Kenya Hunt

In the vein of Roxane Gay’s Bad Feminist and Issa Rae’s The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl, but wholly its own, a provocative, humorous, and, at times, heartbreaking collection of essays on what it...


Consent

Dancing in the Mosque

by Homeira Qaderi

An exquisite and inspiring memoir about one mother’s unimaginable choice in the face of oppression and abuse in Taliban-controlled Afghanistan.

In the days before Homeira Qaderi gave birth to her son, Siawash,...


The Plague and I

by Betty Macdonald

"Getting tuberculosis in the middle of your life is like starting downtown to do a lot of urgent errands and being hit by a bus. When you regain consciousness you remember nothing about the urgent errands. You...


Frontier Follies

by Ree Drummond

A down-to-earth, hilarious collection of stories and musings on marriage, motherhood, and country life from the #1 New York Times bestselling author and star of the Food Network show The Pioneer Woman, Ree...


A White Lie

by Madeeha Hafez Albatta, Ghada Ageel, Barbara Bill & Salman Abu Sitta

Palestinian refugees in Gaza have lived in camps for five generations, experiencing hardship and uncertainty. In the absence of official histories, oral narratives handed down from generation to generation bear...


The Taste of Longing

by Suzanne Evans

Half a world away from her home in Manitoulin Island, Ethel Mulvany is starving in Singapore?s infamous Changi Prison, along with hundreds of other women jailed there as POWs during the Second World War. They...


Falling Into Flight

by Kaija Pepper

Falling into Flight untangles a daughter's complicated relationship with immigrant parents -- her angry Russian mother and quiet Finnish father -- as she grapples with the mysteries of her own body and self...


Liminal Spaces: Migration and Women of the Guyanese Diaspora

by Grace Aneiza Ali

Liminal Spaces is an intimate exploration into the migration narratives of fifteen women of Guyanese heritage. It spans diverse inter-generational perspectives – from those who leave Guyana, and those who...


Paula

by Isabel Allende

Newly Reissued

New York Times Bestselling Author

“Beautiful and heartrending. . . . Memoir, autobiography, epicedium, perhaps even some fiction: they are all here, and they are all quite wonderful.”

Los...


I Am These Truths

by Sunny Hostin & Ms. Charisse Jones

The Emmy Award winning legal journalist and co-host of The View Sunny Hostin chronicles her journey from growing up in a South Bronx housing project to becoming an assistant U.S. attorney and journalist in...


Everything Beautiful in Its Time

by Jenna Bush Hager

Jenna Bush Hager, the former first daughter and granddaughter, #1 New York Times bestselling author, and coanchor of the Today show, shares moving, funny stories about her beloved grandparents and the wisdom...


Biografi Kehidupan Siti Aminah Binti Wahab Ibunda Nabi Muhammad SAW Versi Bahasa Inggris

by Jannah Firdaus Mediapro

Biografi Kehidupan Siti Aminah Binti Wahab Ibunda Nabi Muhammad SAW Utusan Allah SWT Tuhan Semesta Alam Yang Terakhir Dalam Bahasa Inggris Berdasarkan Al-Quran Serta Al-Hadist.

Allah SWT (God) Almighty created...


We Sagebrush Folks

by Annie Pike Greenwood

Narrative about an attempt to farm on land opened up by the new Minidoka Irrigation Project in the sagebrush desert of southern Idaho. The story of an American farm woman, her husband and family. Describes farm...


George Eliot: The Complete Works

by George Eliot

The complete works of George Eliot contains:

  • Scenes of Clerical Life. (1858)
  • Adam Bede. (1859)
  • The Lifted Veil. (1859)
  • The Mill on the Floss. (1860)
  • Silas Marner, the Weaver of Raveloe. (1861)
  • Romola. (1863)...


All of Me

by Dani Burlison

With women?s anger, empowerment, and the critical importance of intersectional feminism taking center stage in much of the dialogue happening in feminist spaces right now, an anthology like this has never been...