Biography & autobiography / Editors, Journalists, Publishers

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete Editors, Journalists, Publishers

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (161)

French (5)

German (1)

Spanish (36)

Italian (48)

 

Protection

All (161)

DRM Free (5)

DRM (156)

More options

Outlaw Journalist: The Life and Times of Hunter S. Thompson

by William Mckeen

“Gets it all in: the boozing and drugging . . . but also the intelligence, the loyalty, the inherent decency.” —Jonathan Yardley, Washington Post Hunter S. Thompson detonated a two-ton bomb under the staid...


Pioneer Printer: Samuel Bangs in Mexico and Texas

by Lota M. Spell

Samuel Bangs, the first printer in the territory that is now Texas, once owed his life to his printing press. One of the few survivors of the Mina Expedition to Mexico in 1817, Bangs wrote to Servando de Mier,...


Am I Getting Paid for This?: Memoir of A Career Girl

by Betty Rollin

When Betty Rollin graduated from college in the late 1950s, she couldn’t find a husband and she didn’t want to be a secretary. So, in the days before women’s liberation, she started a career—or, as she...


Angry Optimist

by Lisa Rogak

A New York Times Bestseller Since his arrival at The Daily Show in 1999, Jon Stewart has become one of the major players in comedy as well as one of the most significant liberal voices in the media. In Angry...


Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

by H.D.S. Greenway

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David...


The Man from Essence: Creating a Magazine for Black Women

by Audrey Edwards, Edward Lewis & Camille Cosby

Essence magazine is the most popular, well respected, and largest circulated black women’s magazine in history. Largely unknown is the remarkable story of what it took to earn that distinction.

The Man from...


The Search for Anne Perry: The Hidden Life of a Bestselling Crime Writer

by Joanne Drayton

In 1994, director Peter Jackson released the movie Heavenly Creatures, based on a famous 1950s matricide committed in New Zealand by two teenage girls embroiled in an obsessive relationship. The movie launched...


Special Heart: A Journey of Faith, Hope, Courage and Love

by Bret Baier & Jim Mills

Fox News Channel anchor Bret Baier shares the New York Times bestselling story of his son Paul's ongoing battle with heart disease, and how it transformed his own life and family.

This deeply touching personal...


Big Russ & Me: Father & Son: Lessons of Life

by Tim Russert & Luke Russert

Over the last two decades, before his death in 2008 at the age of 58, Tim Russert had become one of the most trusted and admired figures in American television journalism. Throughout his career he spent time...


An Autobiography of Joseph Conrad

by Stephen Brennan

Heart of Darkness author Joseph Conrad (born Józef Teodor Konrad Korzeniowski in 1857) was a Polish writer who learned to read, write, and speak English after he was granted British nationality in 1886. Although...


Robert Estienne's Influence on Lexicography

by DeWitt T. Starnes

Towering above printers of his time and their successors for many years afterward was the figure of Robert Estienne, the great French lexicographer of the sixteenth century, whose contribution to knowledge and...


A Sliver of Light: Three Americans Imprisoned in Iran

by Shane Bauer, Sarah Shourd & Joshua Fattal

Three Americans captured by Iranian forces and held in captivity for years reveal, for the first time, the full story of their imprisonment and fight for freedom.


Merchant of Words: The Life of Robert St. John

by Terry Fred Horowitz

During World War II, Robert St. John of NBC, broadcast from London opposite CBS's Edward R. Murrow. Afterward, St. John would become a noted writer and commentator on world affairs, as well as a prominent and...


Fighting Words: Independent Journalists in Texas

by James McEnteer

Fighting Words profiles five journalists who published the truth as they saw it, no matter how their reporting angered politicians, social and religious leaders, or other journalists. The five journalists...


My Mistake

by Daniel Menaker

A wry, witty, often tender memoir by a former New Yorker and Random House editor who has great tales of a life in words.


When the News Went Live: Dallas 1963

by Bob Huffaker, Bill Mercer & George Phenix

The minutes, hours, and days after JFK was shot on November 22, 1963, provided no ready answers. For millions of Americans transfixed by the incomparable breaking news, television—for the first time—emerged...


The Rise of Abraham Cahan

by Seth Lipsky

Part of the Jewish Encounters series

The first general-interest biography of the legendary editor of the Jewish Daily Forward, the newspaper of Yiddish-speaking immigrants that inspired, educated, and entertained...


The Hot Seat: Love, War, and Cable News

by Piers Morgan

From ultimate media insider Piers Morgan, an adrenaline-fueled account of life at CNN, exclusive stories about his celebrity encounters, and details about his high-profile decision to take on the issue of gun...


Under the Wire: Marie Colvin's Last Assignment

by Paul Conroy

A riveting war journal from photographer Paul Conroy, who accompanied Marie Colvin during her ill-fated final assignment in Syria.


Seymour Hersh

by Robert Miraldi

Seymour Hersh has been the most important, famous, and controversial journalist in the United States for the last forty years. From his exposé of the My Lai massacre in 1969 to his revelations about torture...