Fiction / Germanophone literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

 

Language

English (70)

French (67)

German (80)

Spanish (260)

Italian (406)

 

Category

Delete Fiction

 

Origin

Delete Germanophone literature

 

In category

Literary (47)

Mystery & Detective (10)

Thrillers (8)

Historical (3)

Science Fiction (1)

Short Stories (1)

Poetry (1)

 

Protection

All (70)

DRM Free (1)

DRM (69)

More options

The Silent Death

by Volker Kutscher

THE BASIS FOR THE INTERNATIONAL TV SENSATION BABYLON BERLIN

Volker Kutscher, author of the international bestseller Babylon Berlin, continues his Gereon Rath Mystery series with The Silent Death as a police inspector...


Displaced

by Stephan Abarbanell

Echoing the fiction of Joseph Kanon, Alan Furst, and Daniel Silva, this deeply intelligent debut literary thriller—set within a world still reeling from World War II—explores how the actions of a few can...


Fear

by Dirk Kurbjuweit

Fear shifts our moral codes. It makes us accessories to murder. A great achievement.” —Herman Koch, author of The Dinner

An acclaimed German writer makes his American debut with this gripping and sophisticated...


The Dance by the Canal

by Kerstin Hensel & Jen Calleja

A tragicomic satire from the heart of East Germany.

Gabriela grows up in the East German town of Leibnitz. Her father is a famous surgeon, her mother a respected society hostess. The girl, however, struggles...


Babylon Berlin

by Volker Kutscher & Niall Sellar

THE BASIS FOR THE INTERNATIONAL TV SENSATION BABYLON BERLIN

"Cabaret on cocaine...captures the dark glamour of a briefly exhilarating time between the wars." --NPR

Babylon Berlin is the first book in the international-bestselling...


To Die in Spring

by Ralf Rothmann

The lunacy of the final months of World War II, as experienced by a young German soldier

Distant, silent, often drunk, Walter Urban is a difficult man to have as a father. But his son—the narrator of this slim,...


The Moravian Night

by Peter Handke & Krishna Winston

An odyssey through the mind and memory of a washed-up writer, from one of Europe’s most provocative novelists

Mysteriously summoned to a houseboat on the Morava River, a few friends, associates, and collaborators...


Cabo de Gata

by Eugen Ruge

A witty, philosophical novel by the author of the internationally bestselling In Times of Fading Light

Sometimes a cat comes into your life when you least expect it.

An unnamed writer finds himself in Cabo de...


Murder on Brittany Shores

by Jean-Luc Bannalec

Ten miles off the coast of Brittany lie the fabled Glénan Islands. Boasting sparkling white sands and crystal-clear waters, they seem perfectly idyllic, until one day in May, three bodies wash up on shore....


Empress and the Cake

by Linda Stift & Jamie Bulloch

Madness lurks behind the pretty faã§ade of everyday life.

An elderly lady offers a young woman a piece of cake. She accepts. The lady resembles the Austrian Empress Elisabeth and lives with her servant in an...


A Whole Life

by Robert Seethaler & Charlotte Collins

An international bestseller

Andreas Egger knows every path and peak of his mountain valley, the source of his sustenance, his livelihood--his home.

Set in the mid-twentieth century and told with beauty and tenderness,...


The Fox Was Ever the Hunter

by Herta Müller & Philip Boehm

An early masterpiece from the winner of the Nobel Prize hailed as the laureate of life under totalitarianism

Romania-the last months of the Ceausescu regime. Adina is a young schoolteacher. Paul is a musician....


The Last Summer

by Ricarda Huch & Jamie Bulloch

A psychological thriller by the pioneering German writer Ricarda Huch. A novel of letters from the last century - but one with an astonishingly modern feel. Now for the first time in English..

Russia at the beginning...


I Am Your Judge

Bodenstein & Kirchhoff #7

by Nele Neuhaus & Steven T. Murray

Police Detective Pia Kirchhoff is about to leave on her long-delayed honeymoon when she receives a phone call from police headquarters: An elderly woman has been shot and killed while walking her dog. Neither...


On a Dark Night I Left My Silent House

by Peter Handke & Krishna Winston

A short, powerful new novel by one of the greatest writers in the German language

On a Dark Night I Left My Silent House is Peter Handke's evocative, moving, often fantastic, novel about one man's conflict with...


Imperium

by Christian Kracht & Daniel Bowles

An outrageous, fantastical, uncategorizable novel of obsession, adventure, and coconuts

In 1902, a radical vegetarian and nudist from Nuremberg named August Engelhardt set sail for what was then called the Bismarck...


Death in Brittany

by Jean-Luc Bannalec

"Roll over, Maigret. Commissaire Dupin has arrived."—M.C. Beaton

Commissaire Georges Dupin, a cantankerous, Parisian-born caffeine junkie recently relocated from the glamour of Paris to the remote (if picturesque)...


Zodiac Station

Zodiac Station #1

by Tom Harper

For fans of Dan Brown and Michael Crichton—an eerie, evocative thriller set in the unforgiving Arctic from the author of The Orpheus Descent.

Deep in the Arctic, the US Coast Guard icebreaker Terra Nova batters...


A Stranger in My Own Country

by Hans Fallada

“I lived the same life as everyone else, the life of ordinary people, the masses.” Sitting in a prison cell in the autumn of 1944, the German author Hans Fallada sums up his life under the National Socialist...


The Ice Queen

Bodenstein & Kirchhoff #3

by Nele Neuhaus

The body of 92-year-old Jossi Goldberg, Holocaust survivor and American citizen, is found shot to death execution style in his house near Frankfurt. A five-digit number is scrawled in blood at the murder scene....