Classics

New Releases / Page 4

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Awards

 

Category

Delete Classics

 

In category

Modern (<1799) (92)

Ancient History (4)

XXth century (<1945) (3)

XIXth century (1)

Middle Age (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (3780)

French (1329)

German (272)

Spanish (1014)

Italian (1418)

 

Protection

All (3780)

DRM Free (216)

DRM (3553)

More options

The House by the Medlar Tree

by Giovanni Verga

Three generations of fishermen conduct an epic struggle against nature, fate, and society in this moving tale by acclaimed realist writer Giovanni Verga. Written in 1881 and set in the Sicilian village of Aci...


The Khaki Boys at the Front

by Gorden Bates

"I suppose we might as well be hiking along," announced Roger Barlow regretfully, as he consulted his watch. "We've lots of time yet, but we'd better be early than late back to camp. We are strangers in a strange...


The Heart of the Red Firs

by Ada Woodruff Anderson

The children were putting away their books. The afternoon sun, streaming through the uncurtained windows, made patches of heat on the hewn cedar flooring, and the new, unpainted desks sent forth pitch and the...


The Country of the Dwarfs

by Paul B. Du Chaillu

IN the month of July, 1863, if you had been in London, you might have seen in St. Catharine's Dock a schooner called the Mentor, a little vessel of less than one hundred tons' measurement, and if you had gone...


The Three Musketeers

by Alexandre Dumas, Thomas Flanagan & Marcelle Clements

"We read The Three Musketeers to experience a sense of romance and for the sheer excitement of the story," reflected Clifton Fadiman. "In these violent pages all is action, intrigue, suspense, surprise--an almost...


Rob Roy

by Walter Scott, Caroline McCraken-Flesher & A. N. Wilson

Outlaw Rob Roy MacGregor comes alive in this classic epic of the Scottish borderlands. The narrative follows the adventures of Frank Osbaldistone, a businessman’s son who falls out of favor with his father...


Black Widow

by Isadora Bryan

Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned… Someone is killing and mutilating young men in Amsterdam – the murders are brutal, sexual, and ritualized. For detective Joyce Pino, after a succession of failures,...


Light-Fingered Gentry

by David Graham Phillips

Toward noon on a stifling July day, a woman, a young woman, left the main walk through the deserted college grounds at Battle Field, and entered the path that makes a faint tracing down the middle of Pine Point....


The Third Circle

by Frank Norris

It used to be my duty, as sub editor of the old San Francisco Wave, to "put the paper to bed." We were printing a Seattle edition in those days of the Alaskan gold rush; and the last form had to be locked up...


Grettir the Outlaw:  A Story of Iceland

by S. Baring-gould

It is now just thirty years since I first began to read the "Saga of Grettir the Strong" in Icelandic. At that time I had only a Danish grammar of Icelandic and an Icelandic-Danish dictionary, and I did not...


Doctor Thorne

by Anthony Trollope

Doctor Thorne was considered by Trollope to be the best of his works – a profound examination of the relationship between money and love, as it shifts away from the city of Barchester to a more rural setting....


Barchester Towers

by Anthony Trollope

This 1857 sequel to The Warden wryly chronicles the struggle for control of the English diocese of Barchester. It opens with the Bishop of Barchester lying on his death bed; soon a battle begins over who will...


Emma: A Modern Retelling: A Modern Retelling

by Alexander Mccall Smith

The best-selling author of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series deftly escorts Jane Austen’s beloved, meddlesome heroine into the twenty-first century in this delightfully inventive retelling.

 

The...


Darkness and Dawn: The Complete Dystopian Science Fiction Masterwork

by George Allan England & Jess Nevins

A young engineer and his secretary awake in the ruins of a Manhattan skyscraper to discover that they've been asleep for 1,500 years. The city's architecture isn't all that's crumbled ― humanity has degenerated...


Northanger Abbey

by Jane Austen, A. J. Penn & Henry Thomas Austen

Catherine Morland is an imaginative, seventeen year-old who has a love of reading, particularly Gothic novels. Visiting Bath for the first time, she experiences adventure in fashionable Regency society, meeting...


Motor Matt's Promise: Or, The Wreck of the Hawk

by Stanley R. Matthews

"Py shiminy grickets!" "Well, strike me lucky!" "Can I pelieve vat I see mit my eyes, Tick, or haf I got der plind shtaggers?" "I'm guessing good and hard, Carl. It's main queer, and no mistake."


Notes from a Dead House

by Fyodor Dostoevsky, Richard Pevear & Larissa Volokhonsky

From the acclaimed translators Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky comes a new translation of the first great prison memoir: Fyodor Dostoevsky’s fictionalized account of his life-changing penal servitude...


About Levy

by Arthur Calder-Marshall

'Members of the jury, the case is now before you to decide on the evidence . . . There is no alternative plea of manslaughter or justifiable homicide; your verdict varies only between innocence and guilt . ....


My Mother's House

by Lily Tobias & Jasmine Donahaye

The first novel from the acclaimed author of EUNICE FLEET – a poignant story of belonging, nationhood and identity set in Wales, England and Palestine. Simon is a troubled young man…born in Wales, of Jewish...


Zeno's Conscience

by Italo Svevo, William Weaver & Elizabeth Hardwick

Long hailed as a seminal work of modernism in the tradition of Joyce and Kafka, and now available in a supple new English translation, Italo Svevo’s charming and splendidly idiosyncratic novel conducts readers...