Classics

New Releases / Page 6

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Awards

 

Category

Delete Classics

 

In category

Modern (<1799) (92)

Ancient History (4)

XXth century (<1945) (3)

XIXth century (3)

Middle Age (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (3989)

French (1873)

German (312)

Spanish (1054)

Italian (1745)

 

Protection

All (3989)

DRM Free (253)

DRM (3725)

More options

Grettir the Outlaw:  A Story of Iceland

by S. Baring-gould

It is now just thirty years since I first began to read the "Saga of Grettir the Strong" in Icelandic. At that time I had only a Danish grammar of Icelandic and an Icelandic-Danish dictionary, and I did not...


Doctor Thorne

by Anthony Trollope

Doctor Thorne was considered by Trollope to be the best of his works – a profound examination of the relationship between money and love, as it shifts away from the city of Barchester to a more rural setting....


Herland and The Yellow Wallpaper

by Charlotte Perkins Gilman

WITH AN INTRODUCTION BY LINDY WEST

When three American men discover a community of women, living in perfect isolation in the Amazon, they decide there simply must be men somewhere. How could these women survive...


Barchester Towers

by Anthony Trollope

This 1857 sequel to The Warden wryly chronicles the struggle for control of the English diocese of Barchester. It opens with the Bishop of Barchester lying on his death bed; soon a battle begins over who will...


Emma: A Modern Retelling: A Modern Retelling

by Alexander Mccall Smith

The best-selling author of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series deftly escorts Jane Austen’s beloved, meddlesome heroine into the twenty-first century in this delightfully inventive retelling.

 

The...


Darkness and Dawn: The Complete Dystopian Science Fiction Masterwork

by George Allan England & Jess Nevins

A young engineer and his secretary awake in the ruins of a Manhattan skyscraper to discover that they've been asleep for 1,500 years. The city's architecture isn't all that's crumbled ― humanity has degenerated...


Northanger Abbey

by Jane Austen, A. J. Penn & Henry Thomas Austen

Catherine Morland is an imaginative, seventeen year-old who has a love of reading, particularly Gothic novels. Visiting Bath for the first time, she experiences adventure in fashionable Regency society, meeting...


Motor Matt's Promise: Or, The Wreck of the Hawk

by Stanley R. Matthews

"Py shiminy grickets!" "Well, strike me lucky!" "Can I pelieve vat I see mit my eyes, Tick, or haf I got der plind shtaggers?" "I'm guessing good and hard, Carl. It's main queer, and no mistake."


Notes from a Dead House

by Fyodor Dostoevsky, Richard Pevear & Larissa Volokhonsky

From the acclaimed translators Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky comes a new translation of the first great prison memoir: Fyodor Dostoevsky’s fictionalized account of his life-changing penal servitude...


About Levy

by Arthur Calder-Marshall

'Members of the jury, the case is now before you to decide on the evidence . . . There is no alternative plea of manslaughter or justifiable homicide; your verdict varies only between innocence and guilt . ....


My Mother's House

by Lily Tobias & Jasmine Donahaye

The first novel from the acclaimed author of EUNICE FLEET – a poignant story of belonging, nationhood and identity set in Wales, England and Palestine. Simon is a troubled young man…born in Wales, of Jewish...


Zeno's Conscience

by Italo Svevo, William Weaver & Elizabeth Hardwick

Long hailed as a seminal work of modernism in the tradition of Joyce and Kafka, and now available in a supple new English translation, Italo Svevo’s charming and splendidly idiosyncratic novel conducts readers...


Greenmantle

by John Buchan

The intrepid hero of The Thirty-Nine Steps returns in this gripping tale of WWI espionage. The action unfolds across enemy lines, climaxing in Constantinople, where German agents attempt to launch a jihad....


The Hireling

by L. P. Hartley

Overcome with grief at her husband's death, Lady Franklin, an eligible young widow, unburdens herself to Leadbitter - a gallant, hard-bitten ex-soldier who has invested his savings in the car he drives for hire...


Saint Christopher: A Novella

by José Maria de Eça de Queirós, Gregory Rabassa & Earl E. Fitz

A powerful story by Portugal’s greatest nineteenth-century writer expressing a deeply felt passion for social justice and human solidarity


Four Plays: (Lysistrata, The Frogs, A Parliament of Women, Plutus (Wealth)

by Aristophanes & Paul Roche

Whether his target is the war between the sexes or his fellow playwright Euripides, Aristophanes is the most important Greek comic dramatist—and one of the greatest comic playwrights of all time. His writing—at...


The Way of a Man with a Maid

by Anonymous

The Way of a Man with a Maid is an anonymously-written, erotic novel in which the narrator, Jack, recounts his sexual exploits in “The Snuggery,” his sadomasochistic chamber. In a style familiar to erotic...


The Portrait of a Lady

by Henry James

After the death of her father, Isabel Archer, a young American woman, travels to England to stay with her aunt, where she finds herself an object of affection for several men. When she is left a large legacy...


Walden

by Henry David Thoreau

On July 4, 1845, Henry David Thoreau began a two-year experiment living in a solitary, self-built hut on the edge of Walden Pond outside of Concord, Massachusetts. In Walden, Thoreau wrote, “I went to the...


The Call of the Wild

by Jack London

Buck is a domesticated dog living with his loving family on a ranch in California when he is stolen away and sold off into the brutish life of an Alaskan sled dog. In order to survive, Buck must withstand cruel...