Classics

New Releases / Page 7

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Awards

 

Category

Delete Classics

 

In category

Modern (<1799) (92)

Ancient History (4)

XXth century (<1945) (3)

XIXth century (3)

Middle Age (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (3990)

French (2041)

German (303)

Spanish (1069)

Italian (1781)

 

Protection

All (3990)

DRM Free (243)

DRM (3736)

More options

My Mother's House

by Lily Tobias & Jasmine Donahaye

The first novel from the acclaimed author of EUNICE FLEET – a poignant story of belonging, nationhood and identity set in Wales, England and Palestine. Simon is a troubled young man…born in Wales, of Jewish...


Zeno's Conscience

by Italo Svevo, William Weaver & Elizabeth Hardwick

Long hailed as a seminal work of modernism in the tradition of Joyce and Kafka, and now available in a supple new English translation, Italo Svevo’s charming and splendidly idiosyncratic novel conducts readers...


Greenmantle

by John Buchan

The intrepid hero of The Thirty-Nine Steps returns in this gripping tale of WWI espionage. The action unfolds across enemy lines, climaxing in Constantinople, where German agents attempt to launch a jihad....


Victorian Fairy Tales

by Michael Newton

The Victorian fascination with fairyland is reflected in the literature of the period, which includes some of the most imaginative fairy tales ever written. They offer the shortest path to the age's dreams,...


The Hireling

by L. P. Hartley

Overcome with grief at her husband's death, Lady Franklin, an eligible young widow, unburdens herself to Leadbitter - a gallant, hard-bitten ex-soldier who has invested his savings in the car he drives for hire...


Saint Christopher: A Novella

by José Maria de Eça de Queirós, Gregory Rabassa & Earl E. Fitz

A powerful story by Portugal’s greatest nineteenth-century writer expressing a deeply felt passion for social justice and human solidarity


Four Plays: (Lysistrata, The Frogs, A Parliament of Women, Plutus (Wealth)

by Aristophanes & Paul Roche

Whether his target is the war between the sexes or his fellow playwright Euripides, Aristophanes is the most important Greek comic dramatist—and one of the greatest comic playwrights of all time. His writing—at...


The Way of a Man with a Maid

by Anonymous

The Way of a Man with a Maid is an anonymously-written, erotic novel in which the narrator, Jack, recounts his sexual exploits in “The Snuggery,” his sadomasochistic chamber. In a style familiar to erotic...


The Portrait of a Lady

by Henry James

After the death of her father, Isabel Archer, a young American woman, travels to England to stay with her aunt, where she finds herself an object of affection for several men. When she is left a large legacy...


Walden

by Henry David Thoreau

On July 4, 1845, Henry David Thoreau began a two-year experiment living in a solitary, self-built hut on the edge of Walden Pond outside of Concord, Massachusetts. In Walden, Thoreau wrote, “I went to the...


The Call of the Wild

by Jack London

Buck is a domesticated dog living with his loving family on a ranch in California when he is stolen away and sold off into the brutish life of an Alaskan sled dog. In order to survive, Buck must withstand cruel...


Of Human Bondage

by W. Somerset Maugham

Generally considered to be W. Somerset Maugham’s masterpiece, Of Human Bondage follows Philip Carey, an orphan since age nine, as he grows up in a small town under the care of his aunt and uncle—a vicar who...


North and South

by Elizabeth Gaskell

Upon their arrival in the fictional town of Milton from their comfortable life in the rural South, Margaret Hale and her parents are struck by the harsh reality of the industrial revolution. When Margaret becomes...


A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court

by Mark Twain

When Hank Morgan awakens after a knockout blow to the head, he is shocked to find himself transported from his native Connecticut into the medieval world of King Arthur’s Court. What follows is a comedic adventure...


Treasure Island

by Robert Louis Stevenson

Inspired by the tall tales left behind by a weathered, old seaman upon his death, young Jim Hawkins sets sail on a swashbuckling adventure of a lifetime to find the treasure—marked with an “X”—on an old...


The Age of Innocence

by Edith Wharton

The Age of Innocence is the haunting story of the struggle between love and duty in Gilded Age New York told through the eyes of Newland Archer and his betrothed, May Welland. A young lawyer on the rise, Newland...


The Jungle

by Upton Sinclair, Alicia Mischa Renfroe & Barry Sears

“Practically alone among the American writers of his generation,” wrote Edmund Wilson, “[Sinclair] put to the American public the fundamental questions raised by capitalism in such a way that they could...


Six Little Ducklings

by Katharine Pyle

Old mother duck and her six little ducklings lived in a hollow tree down by the river, and here they were all as happy as the day was long. They had the whole of the broad bright river to swim about on, and...


A Haunted House

by Virginia Woolf

Acclaimed on its first publication, rich in fictional delights, this complete collection of Virginia Woolf's shorter fiction ranges from 1906 until the month before she died in 1941. The volume offers us an...


In Search of Mademoiselle

by George Gibbs

There were no more vivid episodes in the colonization of the New World than those resulting from the attempts of the French people to gain a permanent foothold on our shores. This fact has long been recognized...