Historical

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

In category

XIXth century (245)

Modern (<1799) (226)

Middle Age (155)

XXth century (<1945) (138)

1939-1945 (79)

Ancient History (66)

1914-1918 (30)

Prehistory (6)

 

Language

English (7327)

French (673)

German (980)

Spanish (1237)

Italian (1292)

 

Protection

All (7327)

DRM Free (327)

DRM (6993)

More options

The Dollhouse: A Novel

by Fiona Davis

"The Dollhouse. . . . That's what we boys like to call it. . . . The Barbizon Hotel for Women, packed to the rafters with pretty little dolls. Just like you."

 

Fiona Davis's stunning debut novel pulls readers...


Telepathy of Hearts

by Eve Irving

        Serendipity has a unique way of making lovers of strangers, and enemies of friends. The King has decreed that his niece, Eleanor, should marry his favorite knight, Matheus, to unite the houses of...


The Powder of Death

by Julian Stockwin

An envoy to China meets an English scholar in Oxford in the mid-thirteenth century to share a deadly secret. They vow that the knowledge of gunpowder must die with them as the consequences otherwise are too...


The Gentleman: A Novel

by Forrest Leo

A funny, fantastically entertaining debut novel, in the spirit of Wodehouse and Monty Python, about a famous poet who inadvertently sells his wife to the devil--then recruits a band of adventurers to rescue...


The Last Days of Night: A Novel

by Graham Moore

A thrilling novel based on actual events, about the nature of genius, the cost of ambition, and the battle to electrify America—from the Oscar-winning screenwriter of The Imitation Game and New York Times...


Picture Bride: A Novel

by Mike Malaghan

Picture Bride: A Novel In the grand tradition of Herman Wouk’s Winds of War and War and Remembrance . . . Picture Bride introduces you to the major historical Hawaiian characters struggling to leading America...


Looking for Home

by Jane Corbett

1990. Eli, a young art journalist with an interest in the painter Balthus, flies to Berlin to find out more about the mysterious artist whose refusal to divulge any biographical details sparks her interest....


The Battle of Chibi (Red Cliffs): Selected and Translated from The Romance of the Three Kingdoms

by Hock G. Tjoa

Long ago, along a stretch of a river deep and wide but far away from the consciousness or imagination of anyone outside All under Heaven, a battle was fought that determined the fate of its people for the next...


Wanderings in Spain

by Theophile Gautier

A few weeks ago (April, 1840), I happened, in an off-hand manner, to give utterance to the following phrase:—"I should like to go to Spain." Five or six days afterwards, my friends had suppressed the prudent...


Moby Dick

by Herman Melville & GP Editors

Moby-Dick is an 1851 novel by Herman Melville. The story tells the adventures of the wandering sailor Ishmael and his voyage on the whaling ship Pequod, commanded by Captain Ahab. Ishmael soon learns that Ahab...


Cooking for Picasso: A Novel

by Camille Aubray

For readers of Paula McLain, Nancy Horan, and Melanie Benjamin, this captivating novel is inspired by a little-known interlude in the artist’s life.

The French Riviera, spring 1936: It’s off-season in the...


A Week in Paris

by Rachel Hore

The City of Light hides a dark past...

When talented young violinist Fay Knox arrives in Paris from England, the city feels familiar to her. But not because Fay has visited Paris before. Back home, she finds...


The Cauliflower

by Nicola Barker

“Maddening, funny, playful and beautiful…Barker has once again invigorated an old form -- the historical biographical novel -- through electric wit and sheer bedazzlement.”

--The Washington Post

To the world,...


A Journal of the Plague Year: Being Observations or Memorials of the Most Remarkable Occurrences, as well Public as Private, which happened in London

by Daniel Defoe

This novel is a fictionalized account of one man's experiences of the year 1665, in which the Great Plague struck the city of London. Although it purports to have been written only a few years after the event,...


Blackbeard: Or, The Pirate of Roanoke

by B. Barker

Blackbeard was one of the most feared and notorious of the historical pirates. His legend still resonates some three hundred years after his bloody and courageous end. Here is his fantastic story of piracy,...


The Death of Robin Hood

by Angus Donald

'I charge you, Sir Alan Dale, with administering my death. At the end of the game, I would rather die by your hand than any other'

England rebels

War rages across the land. In the wake of Magna Carta, King...


The Burning Fire Within

by Dee Elle

A young girl blessed with healing powers is forced into a terrible marriage by life circumstances, out of which was born a son, Peter. She was denounced as a witch and burned at the stake, which the boy witnessed...


War and Turpentine: A novel

by Stefan Hertmans & David McKay

An international best seller: a vivid, masterly novel about a Flemish man who reconstructs his grandfather's story—his hopes, loves, and art, all disrupted by the First World War—from the unflinching notebooks...


The French War Bride

by Robin Wells

World War II Paris serves as the backdrop of a story of compassion, betrayal, and forgiveness from the national bestselling author of The Wedding Tree . . .

 

“I never knew what he saw in you.”

 

At her...


Moonstone

by Sjon & Victoria Cribb

The mind-bending miniature historical epic is Sjón's specialty, and Moonstone: The Boy Who Never Was is no exception. But it is also Sjón's most realistic, accessible, and heartfelt work yet. It is the story...